List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft

Hello People, just signed up today. have trawled this forum for years but thought I better get on board. Die hard West Coast since they started.
Would like to wight into this debate.... I think either SPP or Taranto with our first pick without a doubt. SPP first. Powerful dont argue mids win the big games and carry the teams on their back..look at the bont, Fyfe, Martin and now Cripps. I think this is what we are lacking although will take a couple of years before he is at that level and I am unsure of his running capacity. The case can be made for Taranto also, I have seen a couple of his games and is all polish and has a great left foot which adds another dimension in the midfield but am unsure if he will still be around. The plus with him as well is his elite running. Either one I think we should be targetting as a priority. Thoughts?

SPP > Taranto IMO.

While Taranto probably holds the upper hand in terms of kicking, SPP has the best goal accuracy of this draft and better clean hands that would suit our midfield better.

Welcome to BF btw.

SPP > Taranto IMO.

While Taranto probably holds the upper hand in terms of kicking, SPP has the best goal accuracy of this draft and better clean hands that would suit our midfield better.

Welcome to BF btw.
Couldn't disagree more... I would not be putting so much faith in draft camp test results either.
I'd much rather a proven big game player.

Couldn't disagree more... I would not be putting so much faith in draft camp test results either.
I'd much rather a proven big game player.

http://www.eastperthfc.com.au/news/11477/rising-royal-sam-powell-pepper

"In the WAFL Colts Grand Final against Claremont, he almost inspired the Royals to a famous victory with 22 possessions, seven tackles and four goals."

I'm pretty sure he can perform on the big stage if this is anything to go by. While Taranto is an excellent talent with great upside, I just feel, in terms of our needs as a midfield, he is exactly the type of player we are lacking.

http://www.eastperthfc.com.au/news/11477/rising-royal-sam-powell-pepper

"In the WAFL Colts Grand Final against Claremont, he almost inspired the Royals to a famous victory with 22 possessions, seven tackles and four goals."

I'm pretty sure he can perform on the big stage if this is anything to go by. While Taranto is an excellent talent with great upside, I just feel, in terms of our needs as a midfield, he is exactly the type of player we are lacking.

Fair enough, I'd still have Taranto ahead of him though.
I'm not sold on him developing enough to have the same impact at the next level...I suppose we won't know until we look back in 4-5 years time.

Taranto for me by quite some margin over SPP.

Having said the if we took The Shaker at 12 I could live with it but I think its a bit of a reach.

I don't think Taranto will be available at 12 but I would be pissed if we passed him over as the kid is all class and poise. Inside / outside goal scoring mids are just so valuable and so rare, that you just cant afford to pass them over when they become available. Myles Poholke is a cheaper version of Taranto and I reckon he will still be there for our second round pick.

The thing about picks in the 10 - 12 ish range that make them so valuable, is that they place teams in a position to get themselves a slider is they fall.
It doesn't happen every year but at least every second year a kid slides out of the touted top 10.

Lets hope that it happens this year and hope that :
1) Its Taranto.
2) We pull the trigger if that occurs.

Hello People, just signed up today. have trawled this forum for years but thought I better get on board. Die hard West Coast since they started.
Would like to wight into this debate.... I think either SPP or Taranto with our first pick without a doubt. SPP first. Powerful dont argue mids win the big games and carry the teams on their back..look at the bont, Fyfe, Martin and now Cripps. I think this is what we are lacking although will take a couple of years before he is at that level and I am unsure of his running capacity. The case can be made for Taranto also, I have seen a couple of his games and is all polish and has a great left foot which adds another dimension in the midfield but am unsure if he will still be around. The plus with him as well is his elite running. Either one I think we should be targetting as a priority. Thoughts?
Great first post mate, spot on for mine

I would also want us to look at Berry. For me - he is the ideal pick for us at 12. He is a genuine inside mid, good skills, excellent leadership (captain of Vic Country) and already has great endurance. He ticks every box.

Good call Asterix on that one. Berry is a very good footballer and at 12 thats just about where he fits on my white board.
As you mention he has leadership qualities and being a Vic Country kid there wont be the go home factor. By all accounts Berry is a seriously well grounded and dedicated kid. Micky Ablett is a huge wrap for him.

The thing with SPP that I like is the intimidation level he can bring once fully filled out as well. Not just physically but mentally. I watched that game between WC and Carlton this year where we just got over the line against an average team. Watching Cripps in beast mode molesting our mids in that game rang bells. We do not have that player. This is something SPP can add in spades. I was at the Colts GF and loved what I saw. A sign of things to come.

Taranto still has SPP covered on 'big game' milestones i think.

Judd vs O'laughlin all stars game, TAC cup final, etc etc.

I wouldn't be disappointed if he slid and we took him with our first over SPP.

Colts GF versus a one exhibition game....

I know which one is the bigger game.

Just got a feeling about SPP.

The thing with SPP that I like is the intimidation level he can bring once fully filled out as well. Not just physically but mentally. I watched that game between WC and Carlton this year where we just got over the line against an average team. Watching Cripps in beast mode molesting our mids in that game rang bells. We do not have that player. This is something SPP can add in spades. I was at the Colts GF and loved what I saw. A sign of things to come.
The question you have to ask yourself though, is he the next Jaxon Crabb?

Hibberd netted pick 29. Also hasn't played footy for a year and isn't a former B&F winner

Also hasn't had an ACL, and is 3 years younger. :rolleyes:

Either way, some were thinking EMac would get us high teens/low twenties which I think is unrealistic.

Colts GF versus a one exhibition game....

I know which one is the bigger game.

Just got a feeling about SPP.

Not exactly true.

From FootyProphet's draft profile:
After starting slowly in the Elimination Final against the Eastern Rangers, Taranto sprung to life with 17 second half possessions to finish the match with 27 disposals, eight clearances and a goal to be one of the best afield. He then backed that up with a dominant 28 disposal outing against Dandenong in the Semi Final to be the most influential player on the ground and, most importantly, be a four quarter contributor. Amazingly, he left his best to date for the Preliminary Final against a hapless Geelong Falcons, where he was near on impossible to stop at the stoppages or forward with four goals, 17 contested possessions, 23 disposals and five eye-catching contested marks. It is one of the most complete individual finals series I have seen in an elite underage competition and he still has a Grand Final to come.

Ended up having 31 touches, 11 tackles, 7 mark and 5 inside 50s in the TAC Cup Grand Final, so I think it's fair to say that he has serious big game credentials.

I like SPP because I think he'd be a point of difference to the rest of our midfield, while his combination of power and pace mean that he has a high ceiling. I think I'd rather Taranto, but I doubt that he'll be available.

Either way, some were thinking EMac would get us high teens/low twenties which I think is unrealistic.
B grade half back < A grade KPD

I agree that a pick in the high teens is unrealistic but if a team wanted him, like Melbourne obviously wanted Hibberd, then pick 29 is a reasonable comparison.

Who ever thought we'd get a pick in the teens? Anything 20-30 was reasonable compensation for him.

Can anyone who has seen much of Shai Bolton except for the one video online (vs Allies) confirm whether his kicking is always so 'slam-it-on-boot' ?

I can understand if he was trying to assert himself in that particular match, but that breakneck pace + the ball drop is pretty concerning.

Feel like he's watched lots of Peter Matera vids and thinks he's more poised than he actually is

Sam Powell-Pepper highlights video vs the Allies this year.

Watching it makes me want us to draft him even more, powerful, huge burst of speed, good evasive skills and has a sense for goal. If pick 12 is way too high for him, just a shame we don't have a pick on the 20's then, but I still think that someone could possibly take him in the late teens. Otherwise, hope that he can somehow slide to pick 34....

List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft