🧿 🇬🇷 "Goddess" 🇬🇷 🧿
The 2016 fixture is due to be released on Thursday with Round 1 already released.

We can keep all fixture discussion in this thread an the OP will be updated once the full fixture is released.

Round 1

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-10-24/round-one-fixture-tigers-and-blues-kick-off-2016-season

Thursday March 24TH
Richmond v Carlton, MCG

Saturday March 26TH
Melbourne v Greater Western Sydney, MCG
Gold Coast v Essendon, Metricon Stadium
Sydney Swans v Collingwood, ANZ Stadium
North Melbourne v Adelaide, Etihad Stadium

Sunday March 27TH
Western Bulldogs v Fremantle, Etihad Stadium
Port Adelaide v St Kilda, Adelaide Oval
West Coast v Brisbane Lions, Domain Stadium

Monday March 28TH
Geelong v Hawthorn, MCG

If we ever needed a wake-up call that Carlton is no longer a big four club, losing all our Friday fixtures is it.

We only previously kept the Fridays because we're the bad guys in the footy version of cops and robbers, the team everyone else likes to see lose. And I was cool with that, it's fun to be the villain. But last year, the only villainous thing we were doing was stinking up people's Friday nights on the couch.

Crossing my fingers that this 'line in the sand' stuff we've seen this off-season is the real deal. The AFL needs a strong bad guy, Collingwood have been boring since Nuffan took over and Essendon are in even worse shape than us.

I'd like to play Brisbane, Collingwood, *, Melbourne and Gold Coast twice.
Sydney, Fremantle and West Coast in Melbourne
Adelaide and Port Adelaide in Adelaide
Hawthorn in last home and away game of 2016.
After Richmond, * at MCG, Collingwood at MCG, Gold Coast at Metricon, Brisbane at Docklands and Melbourne at Docklands.
As for the rest?
Maybe Adelaide before the bye and Port Adelaide after the bye.

I'm actually pleased we dont have any friday night games next year and apparently a majority of them are afternoons. I have two young girls (both members of course) which means they will be able to watch them and we can make a few more trips over to melbourne next year. However, the AFL have set a standard now and if you dont perform them you dont play prime time, i hope this goes for all teams, i just cant see it happening.

I am glad we have lost our friday night games.

It would ruin my weekend when we got pumped on a friday night. At least if we are getting belted on sunday afternoon I can at least enjoy my friday nights and saturdays.

I'd like to play Brisbane, Collingwood, *, Melbourne and Gold Coast twice.
Sydney, Fremantle and West Coast in Melbourne
Adelaide and Port Adelaide in Adelaide
Hawthorn in last home and away game of 2016.
After Richmond, * at MCG, Collingwood at MCG, Gold Coast at Metricon, Brisbane at Docklands and Melbourne at Docklands.
As for the rest?
Maybe Adelaide before the bye and Port Adelaide after the bye.
I dont think we can play Brisbane, Essendon, Melbourne and Gold Coast twice. The formula states bottom 6 teams can play each other 2/3 times twice and those 4 teams mentioned finished bottom 6 with us. I think we will play Essendon, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Collingwood and Richmond twice.

If we ever needed a wake-up call that Carlton is no longer a big four club, losing all our Friday fixtures is it.

We only previously kept the Fridays because we're the bad guys in the footy version of cops and robbers, the team everyone else likes to see lose. And I was cool with that, it's fun to be the villain. But last year, the only villainous thing we were doing was stinking up people's Friday nights on the couch.

Crossing my fingers that this 'line in the sand' stuff we've seen this off-season is the real deal. The AFL needs a strong bad guy, Collingwood have been boring since Nuffan took over and Essendon are in even worse shape than us.
Yeah it's official. The AFL couldn't care less if Carlton were even shown on TV at any time, because apparently we don't make them richer for being in the competition at all.

They're probably hoping for another season like this year and they will be pushing the club to merge with Melbourne or to relocate to Tassie.

Well the AFL can GAGF!!

The AFL love us :cool:, in all fairness we had too many Friday night games (not our fault) and we failed to deliver crowds, cash and entertainment and probably TV ratings. I wouldn't expect many prime time games but would think we'd be good for one or two Friday night games. Maybe get a few Thursday night games instead.

Monday nights in Alice Springs are probably the go.

Schedule on a day when no one can go anyway because it's a school night and in front of a small capacity live audience screened to millions cos people are fed up with Q&A, The Block and Masterchef!

Gee they are harsh on the main board. The rubbish they are heaping on us is unbelievable.
I cant wait until we are a good side again and the tables are turned on a few other teams and supporters.
There are apparently 5-6 other teams that do not get any Friday nights but it is hang it on Carlton at the moment, same thing on radio.

I'm not sure Guatemala has a venue suitable - it might cost a fair bit to reconfigure a baseball or soccer stadium.

One of the nearby islands in the Caribbean might proffer a cricket ground, however.

Gee they are harsh on the main board. The rubbish they are heaping on us is unbelievable.
I cant wait until we are a good side again and the tables are turned on a few other teams and supporters.
There are apparently 5-6 other teams that do not get any Friday nights but it is hang it on Carlton at the moment, same thing on radio.
The stupid thing about that is, why do they even care?

I know I don't care what they think or say.
I honestly don't get why they are so friggin preoccupied with what's happening at Carlton.

They seem jealous of us even when we're on the bottom. Especially those Richmond flogs.

I dont think we can play Brisbane, Essendon, Melbourne and Gold Coast twice. The formula states bottom 6 teams can play each other 2/3 times twice and those 4 teams mentioned finished bottom 6 with us. I think we will play Essendon, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Collingwood and Richmond twice.
You will be right. This was more of a wish list. I'm happy with substituting Richmond for Brisbane.