2017 Trade and FA thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

This is just silly, he's improved immensely as a defender this season. I thought playing him there was a terrible idea prior to this year, but he's proven me wrong.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_rankings?year=2017&rt=LT&st=R5
Not in bad company here though.
Yeah it reads well but doesn't paint the whole picture. We leak inside 50s and we definitely try to utilise Rich on the rebound. Not saying he's a spud but he just has to offer more for the wage he is on. His previous few seasons were poor so this season probably looks good in comparison but still a long way to go. As this is a trade thread I personally can't see anyone willing to take on his remaining contract, but if someone did I wouldn't be disappointed if he left. It won't happen though.

Tonight's game was another reminder that we desperately need some more pace in our side. A player who can give us a bit of a spark offensively and apply constant defensive pressure when the ball is in our forward half. Charlie Cameron really would be the perfect fit.

I guess, but you brought up his limitations i just agreed. I didn't mean to offend, i just have a different opinion to you. No need to get your back up.
Think you are confusing me for some one else. I said he was limited in the role he is being asked to do, I didn't list his limitations like others have. I also agreed that it would be good to replace and/or move Rich, but pointed out both are not possible. Haven't offended me, just think people need to step back and look at the big picture and understand where the club is at, what is possible and what is not, and most of all, have some patience.

It's ok the vent and get frustrated, but temper this with the current reality and where the club looks to be heading.

In regards to the footywire link, check marks stat cause you will see Docherty and yoe and hurley but no rich so one stat doesn't make a defender
I checked clangers and Rich is the number 1 ranked back flanker...

Think you are confusing me for some one else. I said he was limited in the role he is being asked to do, I didn't list his limitations like others have. I also agreed that it would be good to replace and/or move Rich, but pointed out both are not possible. Haven't offended me, just think people need to step back and look at the big picture and understand where the club is at, what is possible and what is not, and most of all, have some patience.

It's ok the vent and get frustrated, but temper this with the current reality and where the club looks to be heading.
Didn't say you listed limitations but you did say he had " limitations ". 8 years. Thats a lot of patience

Kind of interesting that Darcy Parish is yet to re-sign. If he was on our list speculation would be running rampant in the media. Bombers fans were saying a deal is done and the only hold up was the new CBA. That has been finalised for over a month now hasn't it? I suspect he'll re-sign with the Bombers, probably sooner rather than later but I'd love for him to join his best mate Matho at the Lions.

He re-signed last week

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-05-11/i-obviously-have-no-intentions-of-leaving-parish

'I obviously have no intentions of leaving'

DARCY Parish is keen to stay at Essendon, but won't be worried if his contract talks continue to drag out as he remains unsigned beyond this season.

The emerging Bomber's initial two-year deal with the club expires at the end of this year and, alongside key forward Joe Daniher, Parish is among Essendon's most important re-signings.

The club moved to extend his deal last season but was unable to come to an agreement, with protracted discussions continuing.

As the season edges closer to the halfway point, some rivals are surprised the Dons haven't yet been able to lock away Parish, who has played 27 of a possible 29 games since landing at Essendon as its prized No.5 pick at the 2015 NAB AFL Draft.

But the 19-year-old said he sees himself staying in the red and black.

"Obviously there's a bit of contract talk going around, but it's not something I'm really focused on. I'm just focused on playing good footy and enjoying my time here at Essendon," Parish told AFL.com.au.

"My managers are going through that with the club at the moment, so hopefully we get it done pretty soon because I obviously have no intentions of leaving the club, because it's been great so far and I'm loving every minute of it. Hopefully we get it done soon."

Parish has taken no time to establish himself as a key part of Essendon's future, after averaging 20.7 disposals in his debut season and finishing fourth overall in the NAB AFL Rising Star award.

Bush boy Darcy Parish is looking forward to the Country Festival game. Picture: AFL Photos
parish620.jpg

He understands the longer he stays out of contract for next year the more speculation about his future will arise, but the Geelong Falcons product is confident an extension will get sorted.

"I'm one of those blokes who doesn't get too fazed by too many things. I think it will all take care of itself in the end and I'm really looking forward to hopefully getting a deal done and locking it away," he said.

Parish has had a consistent start to this season, with standout performances coming in the Bombers' wins over Hawthorn (in round one) and Collingwood (round five) when he gathered 25 disposals in both outings.

On Saturday night he will face Geelong in the Powercor Country Festival game. Parish grew up on a farm in Wensleydale in Victoria – his father Glen is a shearer – and said the contest will mean plenty to country communities.

"It's great to be recognising the country and all of the farmers who work so hard pretty much all their lives out there," he said.

"It's great to have this game for them. Coming from the country myself, I've been there and watched dad do all the hard work, and been out there myself helping him out. It's great and dad will probably be there enjoying the atmosphere as well."

Gday Lions....time to bite the bullet and lock in the number 1 draft pick...... not that it is any danger after yesterday!

b: Robinson Andrews Skinner
hb;Witherden McStay Mayes
C: Allison Beams Cutler
hf: Taylor Schache Berry
f:Keays Hipwood McCluggage
r:Archie Rocky Zorks
i.c Oscar, Cox, Close, Beast
emg:Dawson Jansen Barret CLayton.

Keep Gardiner, basti,robbo,walker (for depth) christiansen,barret, hinge, hanley and williams and trade Martin, Paps (sorry paps), Rich, and Freeman. Delist all others uncontracted......unfortunately I don't think anyone would want the remaining contracted players. Not sure what to do about Hammelman?

I honestly don't get why people care how much players earn given we're not even able to pay 95% cap most years. It is seriously one of the dumbest things to care about.
Not really. Actually I feel it is one of the more important things. Instils a sense of entitlement if we are overpaying average players just because we have to. Why work harder than others when you can earn a truck load of cash? Team mates see this and it creates a divide among the playing group and not to mention other players will start putting their hands out for more and more cash (see Green , Rocky and Taylor for example). We have to provide incentives to get these players to improve... I know it's hard thing to motivate blokes in a shit team to look to the future with hard work behind them but giving them an extra 200-300k a year more than what they are worth isn't the answer.