2017 trade/draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mattyc75

Talk about punching above his weight.
When I viewed this picture you could have knocked me over with a feather.

View attachment 424287

Sorry a little rewrite required you could have knocked Oliver over with a feather.

View attachment 424289

Yamumluvsbigcox............. you sure its his girlfriend ?

Could possibly be a restricted free agent.

No surprises here. The ladies love a man that will go down.

Just for the record, i think Aussie girls are cuter than Canadians. Vancouver had okay birds but when it's cold all the time who the **** knows? In Perth its all there to see :).

No surprises here. The ladies love a man that will go down.

Yeah but he got up way to quickly and didn't stay down long enough for most girls liking..... I had to be careful how I spelt that.

www.hpnfooty.com has launched and they value Brendon Ah Chee as a fifth round pick. Gaff is valued around pick 15.

This valuation is done based on their interpretation of a players value in game. I haven't looked greatly into it to see if it takes into account whether a player is contracted.

It has obvious flaws. Kennedy is worth about pick 50.

Agree but the question was more around whether it's likely the club will consider him worth a second rounder, or whether they'll try and wait to use their third.

Has anyone other than this board actually got any idea of his likely 'value' in the draft?

I'd hope that the club goes to the draft with a ranking of players as they fit our needs. If someone higher up the list than Tim Kelly is still on the board at 30, that's who we pick, regardless of whether Kelly is objectively good value at the pick. I'm sure that's what we did with Venables last year.

If our needs are "best available midfielder", Kelly is certainly a chance. But I've seen some mock drafts with very tempting names close to pick 30.

Just for the record, i think Aussie girls are cuter than Canadians. Vancouver had okay birds but when it's cold all the time who the **** knows? In Perth its all there to see :).
Mate you remind me of that meme where the bloke is holding his missus hand while sussing out another bird ahaha.

www.hpnfooty.com has launched and they value Brendon Ah Chee as a fifth round pick. Gaff is valued around pick 15.

This valuation is done based on their interpretation of a players value in game. I haven't looked greatly into it to see if it takes into account whether a player is contracted.

Haha that thing is terrible for West Coast players (haven't looked at other clubs). It has Duggan as our second most valuable player in a trade.

I just don’t like the idea of gambling on trading a valuable player for an unknown future pick.

Yep but that’s not exciting. And we want to get excited.

If not traded, criticise club for not making the right decision.

if that future pick doesn’t work out, criticise the club for not making the right decision.

If that future pick does work out, criticise the club for not making even more trades. Or criticise the player for not being A+ grade.

But trading is damn exciting, like gambling. And nothing is more exciting than going all in and risking it all. Building something does not compute.

Wow - you really have a great amount of shit on your spleen. Hope you can relax a little now that you have vented.

I just wanted to check that you got the gist of the posts by BOND 007 and Monocle - Geelong, West Coast, Sydney (and I would add Hawthorn) all have a reputation for getting the deal done. We are talking about people not property and hence being known as the bad arse deal maker is not really a prize many clubs would want. You may not like the trades, but we seem to have got in Yeo, Jetta, Wellingham, Redden, Mitchell, Vardy and Giles pretty damn smoothly. Have we paid overs? We traded in to address areas of need. Have they all worked out? No. But we had a target, engaged and came away with the goods. Do not let the below expectation performance of Wellingham in 2014, 2015 and 2017 get in the way of being a trade we deemed right. A heavily compromised draft in 2013. Club desperately needing midfield speed and line breaking capability and a starting 22 at a premiership club. Don't look back in hindsight and say we got screwed. There were a load of happy posters when we got him.

I think I remember a recent quote on the clubs trading - "If you had a hot date with Miranda Kerr lined up, there are enough on this board who would complain that she was wearing the wrong coloured lipstick".

Please.

You are a sycophant. You like to play the player and not the ball with insults, i've noticed you seem to do it every now and then, i hope you get something out of it, because i find it amusing as hell.

I understand the argument they make, i offer a counter perspective. Are we so precious around here that constructive criticism can not be tolerated? If that's the case for you then do this board and the both of us a favour and block me, then you can go back to living in your bubble.

Oh and most people agreed at the time, including the experts by the way that we paid overs for Wellingham when the deal was done. You talk about not using retorspect to gauge how Wellingham turned out and yet you use it to describe the draft in which we gave up our pick. Can't have it both ways mate.

I'm talking purely about the deals when they are done, not years down the track. My previous before last would validate that.

Here's a thought, why don't you counter argue the points i made in my last message that offended you so much about how Port seem to always get their deal done without offending the player they are recruiting or the club they're dealing with. For years now. They seem to identify a target and get the deal done without paying overs but your argument to that is what exactly? That we identify a need and get a deal done? :drunk::drunk::drunk::drunk::drunk::drunk:

All i did was provide a different point a view, you're the one who had a meltdown because it was too challenging.

Frankly i don't know what the hell you're on about but good for you for giving it a go. I'm sure Bond and Monocle appreciate you defending their honour.

No player is worth pick #1 apparently, let alone multiple first rounders. I think there's big flaws in over-rating value of picks vs established players.

I just don’t like the idea of gambling on trading a valuable player for an unknown future pick.
Hence the idea of players like Acres coming the other way for Gaff. The other benefit is actually dropping down the ladder a bit; trading Gaff might also net us better draft picks in subsequent years thus giving greater chances at rebuilding.

Maybe u should put your hand up for Vozzos job

I merely commented on your statement I didn't celebrate his so called mediocrity as you stated, we can only comment on who have played for us what Iam saying is that I would have given him a game before some of the pea hearts that have graced our jumper

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

to someone who cant kick, to someone who was played ahead of guys like koby stevens who has become a somewhat more successful player than mc****ennuggets.

players should be given games for two things skill and effort. not cos they have a bit of heart but cant kick to save their life

and if i had the right qualifications to do his job i reckon id do a better job . for starters with the drafting and also with the moving away of priddis from the midfield back in 15 not try to coerce him into 2018 for shits and giggles

Richmond got to third by ;in their own words;developing a brand of footy that would stand up to finals pressure.
FTFY. Being gifted 2 home games didn't hurt either. They were involved in a lot of games that ran very close, if a few didn't go their way they'd have missed finals again this season, similar to a certain 2016 premier club.

No player is worth pick #1 apparently, let alone multiple first rounders. I think there's big flaws in over-rating value of picks vs established players.

There is at least two players worth pick one in their system SPP and SPS funnily enough are both worth more than pick one. I agree that there are a number of flaws within the system, and they seem to heavily weight towards potential as opposed to actual output. Also age seems to be a heavy factor. The best one is that Dusty is not the highest ranked Richmond player with Roli being ranked above him.

Oh wow. I just measured it against Martin, Dangerfield, Sloane, who I figure would be worth a high first and a bit.

The calculator values Yeo and our 4th rounder more than Dusty. Get it done.

Check out @HurlingPeople’s Tweet:
It drops the value of players quite significantly as they get older. Yeo 24 v Martin 26 is the main reason for this. Hence why Duggan is so highly rated.