Keep our draft picks and get these 2 guys Coffield and Higgins

Name: Jack Higgins
Position: Midfield/small forward
Club: Oakleigh Charges/Vic Metro
DOB: 19-03-1999
Height: 178cm
Weight: 76kg
Draft range: 5-15

Summary: Consistent, ready made player who can win his own footy in midfield and can move forward and be equally dangerous around goal.

Strengths:

• Consistency
  • Goal sense
  • Smarts in the contest
  • Endurance
Weaknesses:

• Size
Overall:

Higgins is a supremely talented player who has been able to work his way into the midfield and show his skill on ball after starting the season as a small forward.

He can find plenty of the footy, averaging 25 disposals in the TAC Cup this season, while he kicked seven goals against the Bendigo Pioneers last month showing his prowess inside 50.

He has good touch inside the contest and is a smart player and should be ready to step straight into a senior AFL side next season.

He was recently awarded the Morrish Medal for the best player in the 2017 TAC Cup season.

Name:
Nicholas Coffield
Position: Midfield/Defence
Club: Northern Knights/Vic Metro
DOB: 23/10/1999
Height: 190cm
Weight: 83kg
Draft range: First round

Summary: An elite user with ball in hand and isn’t afraid to take on opponents.

Strengths:

• Evasiveness
  • Classy ball user
  • Intercept marking
  • Reads the play well
  • Agility

Obviously it's hard to tell with one highlight package but f**k Coffield moves like Lenny...

but Gaff is at his celing right now .. his output is already starting to decline.. Martin still has yet to hit his full potential and he is only marginly behind Gaff as it is right now ... its like getting $50 now and then getting $30 every week for 5 weeks or getting $30 now and $50 every week for 7 weeks
Gaff is only 25 and certainly hasn't started to decline yet. And you cant compare the output of Gaff to the output of Martin... it's like knowing you're going to get given $50 each week as opposed to getting $50 one week but the next week only getting $2

Lenny Hayes
Kreuzer
Oliver
Heppell
McClugagge

Champion Data has compared the probable top-10 draft pick to Brisbane midfielder Dayne Zorko — but when it comes to Higgins’ numbers, they’re simply incomparable.

very good chance he may be good
That is four players taken over a 20 year period, 5 including Luggage. So a 25% chance they'll end up a good player.

I wouldn't worry too much about the medal.

Keep hearing Lynch's name come up. Is it all fanciful or is there something to it?

I think every team in the AFL is into him, apart from Daniher and possibly Ben Brown he's the best young KPF in the comp. The AFL have said that his wage at GC can be exempt from the cap as a marketing allowance so his pay packet will be absolutely huge. I reckon he could be $1.8 million PA or something obscene to get him out of there. It's a pipe dream.

That is four players taken over a 20 year period, 5 including Luggage. So a 25% chance they'll end up a good player.

I wouldn't worry too much about the medal.

A lot of them ended up excellent VFL players, it was often the little guys winning it and they didn't get a chance Cavara, Caruso, Chivari etc all very good players but didn't grow tall enough. Little campaigners like Jarrod Blair and Roden often won it and they wouldn't hit their heads walking under a coffee table.

Soooo much water to go under the bridge, given that everything could change once Gold Coast have made their coaching appointment, but my dream type outcome out of a deal involving 7, 8, maybe Armo and any other picks would be to walk away with pick 2, Hall or Martin (him being much less likely of the two) and one of their 2nd rounders (preferably in the 20's).

Walk away with one of Rayner/Dow/LDU, one of Hall or Martin and one of the many tall defensive options from this draft and I'm one happy camper.

Does NOK have to be upgraded?
Unless they've changed it I think all Rookies can be retained as long as they agree.
Example: StKilda can offer him another year as a Rookie, he can take it if he wants or otherwise become essentially a free agent.
If StKilda elevate him, he he's essentially under contract as a new draftee.
So if anyone else offer him a Senior list spot , he'd probably say to the club, "elevate me or lose me".

I imagine Holmes staying or not depends on whether Hickey is traded or not.

If Hickey goes, Holmes prolly stays as back-up to Billy.

If Hickey stays, Holmes almost certainly goes, or else Pierce.

Man, what a stuff-up it was giving Pierce that deal!

Is anyone at all OOC on the senior list apart from Holmes?

Seems Cerra could be a slider...

Two of Cerra, Stephenson, Coffield and Higgins would be super.

I'm officially torn between trading them and going to the draft, part of me feels trading them would be a little desperate and shortsighted... our 2013 crop (first of the rebuild imo) are only 22. So say in 4 years they'll be entering their peak and this years crop will be 22/23. That sounds like our best opportunity for sustained success to me!

what is with the current obsession with getting gold coast players?

Just a synergy between where they're at and where we're at.

GCS' initial list build has been a total failure and there are obviously culture issues hallmarked by the sacking of their coach and sulk / departure combo of their marquee player. They're doing a complete list re-build and took four (yes, four!) top ten picks to the draft in 2016.

I am sure they would be very interested in trying to trade into our picks 7 & 8 to give them 2 - 3 top ten picks in this year's draft whereas we'd be happy I think with a fairly well developed player who fits our age profile (~22 - 26).

On the player side, take someone like Jack Martin. GCS are basically asking him to go through another full build, they will be down the mid - bottom of the comp for at least 3 - 4 more years I would say. I think there's a sense that we can definitely prise away some of their better young players for that reason (contracted or not).

anyone got the number of free senior lists spots we currently have and the number of out of contract players
Just posted it mate. 3 free spots and 2 OOC