2018 Club Financials

• Thread starter Thread starter KiwiTiger

Pretty close to the top I think, we have overtaken the hawks, its really only the pies and west coast.
Cheers mate wasn’t sure who else would know :thumbsu:

Have we got rid of the pokies yet?

No. But we are banking so much cash they’ve clearly got a play going on to not only get us out of pokies but also generate a profitable revenue stream ASAP from that investment

Not really, we were allocated a 20 year license that is resellable when we get rid of our pokies.
So we signed to extend by 20 years of course we have the option to sell at any time but haven’t. Not going to start the whole pokies shit fight because I’m in two minds about them myself

on the pokies, us selling them to someone else doesn't fix the pokie problem, it just moves profit to somebody else.
If we were serious we wold hold the licence yet make it extremely hard for the public to actually use them, but reality is people who want to use them will just move to a different venue. So whilst the problem won't go away, and someone will be making a profit from them, i'd rather that be us than someone else.

Then it becomes a moral question.

If the club is concerned by that moral dilemma, then have the pokies, but dedicate 100% of that profit to our community programs.

So we signed to extend by 20 years of course we have the option to sell at any time but haven’t. Not going to start the whole pokies shit fight because I’m in two minds about them myself
Yeah Im much the same, all I meant was that we are not locked into having pokies for 20 years by taking on the licenses.

on the pokies, us selling them to someone else doesn't fix the pokie problem, it just moves profit to somebody else.
If we were serious we wold hold the licence yet make it extremely hard for the public to actually use them, but reality is people who want to use them will just move to a different venue. So whilst the problem won't go away, and someone will be making a profit from them, i'd rather that be us than someone else.

Then it becomes a moral question.

If the club is concerned by that moral dilemma, then have the pokies, but dedicate 100% of that profit to our community programs.
We haveto remember that most people have a go on the pokies and still feed and cloth their kids, unfortunately some poor souls can't control there use.
Had a dispute with a couple of Eagles supporters that were getting all high and mighty, reminded them that their club is sponsored by crown and HJ's and the advertise crown at their nationally televised games, Crown Perth even has after game specials.
In a way they are doing more damage than our one venue that we dont advertise at our games.
Very tricky subject but Ill put my faith in the club to sort it out at some stage.

Yep. And if Collingwood fans want to blow their centrelink cash, it may as well fund my weekend enjoyment.

Pretty close to the top I think, we have overtaken the hawks, its really only the pies and west coast.

Pies profit was blown up by injury payments.

They had injuries. :'(

How lucky are we that we had a guy like Benny Gale play for our club and then go on to do what he has done.

Don’t get me wrong... I know their are so many people behind the scenes but this man is just the messiah for our club at the moment
My money is on BGale going to replace gil...

My biggest takeaways from the report:

1/ 31M in reserves after being -700k in 2005 is a tremendous achievement by all involved!

2/ Revenue from health and fitness (AL) grew from 8M to almost 14M, further justifying this as a great alternative revenue stream aligned with corporate values.

My biggest takeaways from the report:

1/ 31M in reserves after being -700k in 2005 is a tremendous achievement by all involved!

2/ Revenue from health and fitness (AL) grew from 8M to almost 14M, further justifying this as a great alternative revenue stream aligned with corporate values.

Just on two, revenue isn't what benefits the club, it's the profits from those activities.

Gaming for example is around $700k when to take out the expenses. This is the income stream the club needs to replace, not the $7m

Now the leisure line is getting us $14.1m, but we are spending $14.2m to earn it, so as of today, we still have a ways to go before it chops out gaming. Two things to note however:

1) only Casey has been up and running for the full year (I think). There are definite start up costs effecting Albury, Plenty, and I assume the Swinburne JV

2) it's called "health leisure and community groups" , and the reality is our community programs will not be revenue generators. As such, this would be weighing down the profitability to some degree. Issue is not sure which community programs this is specifically (not an accountant, but wouldn't kgi be separate?)

No. But we are banking so much cash they’ve clearly got a play going on to not only get us out of pokies but also generate a profitable revenue stream ASAP from that investment
Aligned leisure centres is creating a rev stream that should ultimately negate the need for pokies