2018 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Long time reader, first time poster.

I think with efforts like Saturday we can safely say we won’t be getting Lukosius (as much as I and many others want him) and Walsh seems a safeish pick and fills a need.

With that in mind we should be definitely throwing coin at Tom McDonald. Would instantly improve our side (signifantly imo) and would come “relatively” cheap.

G'day n welcome Boourns1. Dunno about Tom coming cheap tho. Will be the second most sought after, to Lynch.

Long time reader, first time poster.

I think with efforts like Saturday we can safely say we won’t be getting Lukosius (as much as I and many others want him) and Walsh seems a safeish pick and fills a need.

With that in mind we should be definitely throwing coin at Tom McDonald. Would instantly improve our side (signifantly imo) and would come “relatively” cheap.
G'day n welcome Boourns1. Dunno about Tom coming cheap tho. Will be the second most sought after, to Lynch.
Yep I will agree, but I suppose I mean in comparison to lynch. He probably would be gettable for a long term deal around the $800 mark (maybe a tad more because we’re Brisbane) and I’m all for that.

I'm excited to follow the quartet of mids at the U18 champs this year, Walsh, Bailey, Rozee and Hately. To see who pushes their claim as top mid, and see if others push up to challenge them in the top mid stakes.

I'd love to see Rankine play more midfield minutes, but I'm not sure if that will happen at this stage of his career/physical development. Playing SANFL is a little different than playing TAC cup, where the teams in the SANFL are playing in a serious competition, and individuals are playing a team game, with set roles, where as at TAC level, recruiters often ask for kids to be played in certain positions or roles to gage their potential.
Rankine appears to have dropped off the radar a little, however, he could very easily jump back into unanimous top 2 contention with a big U18 carnival. May not project as the safest/"sure thing" type pick like Walsh/Bailey, however, definitely has superstar/game breaking potential. Adding Rankine to Rayner/McCluggage would be very exciting as all three are absolutely elite talents. He has grown to 180cm as well so no longer all that small.

Just throwing this out there, on todays Road to the Draft, Twomey said that Calder Cannons mid, Curtis Taylor is Cam Rayners best mate. Now, by my count Rayner is up to three best mate, Dan Venables from West Coast, former team mate Lachie Fogarty, and now Taylor.

Is he any good, I'll have to go and do some research, if we rate him at a pick we have on draft night why not.

Could be there a bouts with our second pick.

TAC Cup round 7.
Calder Cannons v. Northern Knights

By: Michael Alvaro

Calder Cannons:

#5 Curtis Taylor

Taylor was undoubtedly the Cannons’ best throughout the day, spending most of his minutes in the midfield despite starting forward. He almost dragged his side back to level pegging with a sensational second half, and his second goal which came from a sharp shark at an inside-50 stoppage had the Cannons up and about. That goal, and much of his good work in congestion came about on account of his vice-like grip and lightning hands, which he used to full effect. Taylor pin-balled around the stoppages all day and ran hard through the ball, showing a good work rate to follow up his clearances by moving forward with them. With his constant threat and influence in key areas, it was a really good showing from the Cannons’ number five.

#8 Lachlan Sholl

While he was subdued well in the first half by Northern’s Braedyn Gillard, Sholl forced his way into the game late when it was in the balance. Assuming his usual position at half-back, he continued to use the ball well by foot when given time in a hotly contested match. With the ball lodged in the Cannons’ attacking half for long periods of time during the second and third quarters, Sholl did not have many opportunities to show off his trademark dash and damaging kick, but found a bit of the ball higher up the ground late on and had an impact.

TAC Cup round 6.
Calder Cannons vs. Western Jets

Calder:

#5 Curtis Taylor

Did not hit the scoreboard, but still won plenty of the ball. He took a number of marks across the ground spreading and was able to direct the ball forward and keep it moving in transition. He had a number of inside 50s on the night and his kick-to-handball ratio stands true in wet weather football.

#8 Lachlan Sholl

Like many players in the first half plagued by poor conditions, started slowly before really turning it on in the second half. He was crucial out of defence, rebounding from thr back half on a number of occasions and having the ball on a string in the second half. He used it well, spreading from half-back to the midfield and was constantly used in transition.

Draft Central Power Rankings: May 2018
May 7, 2018 by Matt Balmer

IN one of the most recognisable draft crops in some time, the 2018 AFL National Draft is heating up to be one of the most talked about in the lead-up with so many tall and small prospects who are already looking like genuine AFL stars. As with last year, on the first Monday of the month, we take a look at the top 20 prospects and where we see them throughout the season. Some will rise and drop depending on performances, while others will remain steady throughout. Keep in mind that the Power Rankings are an opinion-based ranking system, without taking into account AFL club finishing positions or needs – ie. not a Phantom Draft. It is purely measuring players on our opinion of their ability. Without further ado, here are our current top 20:

#13 Curtis Taylor
Medium Forward/Inside Midfielder (Calder Cannons/Vic Metro)
06/04/2000 | 186cm | 79kg

While at #13, Taylor might be earlier than many others have him – it is based on the potential that the Calder Cannons product has. Taylor has plenty of X-Factor, which he showed in past years at school football for PEGS, playing alongside top draftees Cameron Rayner and Daniel Venables. Taylor at this stage is far more comfortable across half forward than as an inside midfielder, but has plenty of opportunities across the year to improve his midfield calibre. He has a good skill set and can mark well overhead. So far this season, Taylor is averaging just under 20 disposals at about a 50 per cent contested possession rate, having kicked nine goals in four outings.

I really do think that there is going to be some good players around our second pick. The National champs start in a week and a half and there is already a good crop of names/players and to add there are always some who come from nowhere who add to this crop. Just need to add another 2/3 really good players to our list and I reckon we will be moving up the ladder pretty quickly in 2/3 yrs time. https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/best-22-2021.1189537/

Any chance if we have pick 4 or 5 one of the King boys comes into calculations(as in,too good to pass up) ?
You'd think not given our greater need for mids, reasonable depth at key positions, and a couple of potential academy keys in next years draft. Having said that, the draft should always be about taking the best available player and you fill needs through trade/FA. So it would be interesting what philosophy they go with.

Any chance if we have pick 4 or 5 one of the King boys comes into calculations(as in,too good to pass up) ?

Not sure who comes into calculations at that slot. But every chance we end up with pick three or four. Outside chance of pick five i’d say. Any thoughts of trading down from a high pick to two top ten picks pretty much gone I’d say.

Not much on offer if we want to trade our top 1-4 pick for a couple of other picks ah la our Giants trade unless it's a multi club deal.

This is where everyone stood as at the end of round 8-

496678_459d5000fa3cbb83fc6e1ba5a02a7043.png

Not much on offer if we want to trade our top 1-4 pick for a couple of other picks ah la our Giants trade unless it's a multi club deal.

This is where everyone stood as at the end of round 8-

496678_459d5000fa3cbb83fc6e1ba5a02a7043.png
Not sure if he'd be keen for a move home with his misses being a QLD'er, but I wonder if Sam Mayes and our second would get us Adelaide's first pick.

MMM, would be definitely worth the query especially if Sam doesn't grab a regular spot by the end of the year, although if he's a NEAFL player his value would drop substantially.

What about Port? Sam and pick 19 for their pick 11 (as of round 8).

We should absolutely not trade Sam Mayes, especially for a draft pick of all things. The bloke was in our top 10 last year and while he had a patch of bad form to start 2018, he will earn his spot back and keep it. Would much rather a confident Sam Mayes in the team than someone like Taylor, and that is not meant in offense to squizzy. Simply put, Mayes can play forward, wing and back and at his best would be very good in our team.

Fullerton is listed as 200cm and played small forward in basketball. He will be signed as a cat B rookie as early as this week and can then play NEAFL as soon as the club deems him to be ready.

Fullerton is from the same junior club on the Sunshine Coast (Caloundra) as Eric Hipwood and, as previously mentioned, was part of the Lions Academy.

Fullerton is listed as 200cm and played small forward in basketball. He will be signed as a cat B rookie as early as this week and can then play NEAFL as soon as the club deems him to be ready.

Fullerton is from the same junior club on the Sunshine Coast (Caloundra) as Eric Hipwood and, as previously mentioned, was part of the Lions Academy.
He won't be allowed to play senior's this season though is that correct? Not that he probably would anyway.

No, he can't officially be on the list until this year's rookie draft.