List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

“He pretty much needs 24/7 babysitting”. Yes, youre right, thats not a flip! Its just trash.

Of course you saw Lloyd talking to him for 5 mins in 2017 so that means he knows what happened since at GC.

You seem to have better insights than me so you would know Dew had his first one on one with Scrim round 19 and during exit interview he was told he just needs to get his body right and play more consistantly.

Hardly great communication or good reason not to play him when the entire team was inconsistent and certainly not what is expected from a senior coach given the task to develop talent.

But as Ive said before, I appreciate he had a lot on his plate and Im sure he will learn from it.

Never at any time has any of his coaches told him he is lazy or any issue with his work rate but you believe what makes you feel good mate! We will let next season figure it out but Im pretty sure Clarkson and Wright have a little more cred than you and me and you would also know they have watched almost every game hes played in the last year.

Ill take their opinion, you take yours is fine by me!
Sorry but I was told his work rate and willingness to do the team 1% percenters was not even close to satisfactory.
In 28 games of NEAFL he averages 1 tackle per game. Mmmmm

Sorry but I was told his work rate and willingness to do the team 1% percenters was not even close to satisfactory.
Seems to be a common thread that players with poor defensive skills (KK, Hall, Scrim) are being shown the door.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Probably very close just not sure about your left field. Latest Carlton are interested in Newman - after being delisted. You forgot 1 more preselection - it must be selected also this Wed - Pickett?
Do we have to take a 3rd? With Carlton already choosing their 2 what could the hold up be with us having the pick of the field?
Would we on trade?

Do we have to take a 3rd? With Carlton already choosing their 2 what could the hold up be with us having the pick of the field?
Would we on trade?
My guess player position ? Get defender if some backline players gone , get midfield player if GC star backline player stay.

Would we on trade?
Cameron said we are close to choose but not in a rush now when Carlton used both their selection. Waiting how trades work out. It will happen on Wed I guess. If May goes maybe Collins?

“He pretty much needs 24/7 babysitting”. Yes, youre right, thats not a flip! Its just trash.

Of course you saw Lloyd talking to him for 5 mins in 2017 so that means he knows what happened since at GC.

You seem to have better insights than me so you would know Dew had his first one on one with Scrim round 19 and during exit interview he was told he just needs to get his body right and play more consistantly.

Hardly great communication or good reason not to play him when the entire team was inconsistent and certainly not what is expected from a senior coach given the task to develop talent.

But as Ive said before, I appreciate he had a lot on his plate and Im sure he will learn from it.

Never at any time has any of his coaches told him he is lazy or any issue with his work rate but you believe what makes you feel good mate! We will let next season figure it out but Im pretty sure Clarkson and Wright have a little more cred than you and me and you would also know they have watched almost every game hes played in the last year.

Ill take their opinion, you take yours is fine by me!

If I’m scrimshaw I’m looking for a new manager.. if he feels like he can’t approach dew and ask why he’s not being picked or needs to work on then he should be sitting down with his manager and the club! It’s not like dew is locked away in a separate room with the top picked 25 players and can’t be approached maybe that’s part your responsibility too being his parent

• Out-of-contract Geelong defender Jackson Thurlow, 2012's No.16 draft pick, remains in limbo. However, Gold Coast is monitoring his situation and could look to bring him to Metricon Stadium if he is still available in the rookie draft.
  • Other trades expected to be completed before Wednesday's deadline include Suns defender Jack Scrimshaw's move to Hawthorn, Gold Coast midfielder Aaron Hall's move to North Melbourne, and Cat George Horlin-Smith's move to Gold Coast.

Would we on trade?

Waiting on May..
If he goes..
prob bring in Collins..
If he stays.. maybe pickett or Gibbons etc

You only know what is told to you by Jack and you clearly have a strong emotional invested interest which is fair enough.
I’ll back in our Club, our Coach, our environment and our management’s judgement.
He can either grit his teeth, honour his commitments and stick it out or take the easy option.
I appreciate your love and respect for the club and also admire it but to overcome tough situations you have to own your mistakes.

The Suns have committed to a heavy investment in player welfare, critical to keeping young talent at the club. That in itself is an admission it was not done well in the past. Jack loves his footy, works hard to acheive his goals but Im not sure if any of us can understand that thing that sticks in your guts we call home sickness.

Hes has some temporary difficult setbacks on top of a churning home sickness. We are very proud of how he overcame those issues but we think rather than attempting to understand his setbacks he was written off as going home.

All they had to do was communicate with him and let him know they had his back. Instead they shut down, wrote him off as going home, said nothing and played others ahead of him when he was racking up possessions in the 2s and the 1s were being smashed.

BTW Jack was the only listed available player who didnt get picked all year. That was the worst and most unprofessional way to manage a player.

Please dont take that the wrong way. It gets back to the club owning how they managed a situation and nobody could say they did this well.

No communication and support yet interesting you mention “honoring” a contract! We hardly expected that kind of “honour” going back the other way.

Again, Im sure the Suns will get it right in future and pleased to see you backing the club. The Suns need that kind of loyalty to achieve their plans and Id love to see that happen.
You always seem to have a lot of excuses ready to back Scrim up and that's ok that's what family should do.

You say scrim had his first one on one meeting with Dew at round 19 I call b******* on that.
I'd say scrim probably sleep through the other meetings that's why Dew hasn't given him the time of day because that's all we have been hearing in the media is how he's the only one of the 4 top 10 picks In the same draft that has struggled with the demands of being a professiona athlete.

You can continue to bring up all these excuses you want but at the end of the day that will not help him in anyway.

I can assure you it is not BS and and its very easy to call it an excuse rather than do the tough analysis of what the root cause of a problem is and work out an intelligent plan of how to overcome the issue.

Take a look at what has happened. Are you saying Lynch, May, the two Captains and several others are making excuses as well and theres no problem?

I think the club is owning what the problems have been and Id suggest you take on that approach as well and that is likely a better way of achieving the culture we all want the Suns to develop.

A bit hard to tackle when you keep winning the footy!

A player who fumbles lays more tackles than one who doesnt!

Tackles are one element and ACCURATE possessions are another. Are you saying youd rather he does 1% well and not 99? Id suggest you look at disposal efficiency because a tackle might force a turnover but if you then get the ball and immediately give it back thats no way to win matches.

Are you saying the club was critical of him for that? If so, nobody mentioned that to him! That was NOT brought up in his exit interview!

Good footy teams are built using player strengths in the right plan. When player feels valued for what he can do, vs what he cant, that is the way you improve a skilled players pressure, through positive reinforcement.

The type of skills the club needs to win flags are leaving. Make your list of the most skilled players at the club, then compare it to the list of those who have or who want to leave.

What Im saying is the very reason Collingwood and Buckly turned it around and why Clarkson is interested in bringing skilled players to Hawthorn.

Im not saying pressure isnt important, it is but there is no more pressure on the opposition than when they are chasing you!

It looks more and more likely that Beams ends up in Collingwood. Some serious disappointment on Lions thread. 5 + 18 (from Beams trade) probably going to Freo for Neale.

I appreciate your love and respect for the club and also admire it but to overcome tough situations you have to own your mistakes.

The Suns have committed to a heavy investment in player welfare, critical to keeping young talent at the club. That in itself is an admission it was not done well in the past. Jack loves his footy, works hard to acheive his goals but Im not sure if any of us can understand that thing that sticks in your guts we call home sickness.

Hes has some temporary difficult setbacks on top of a churning home sickness. We are very proud of how he overcame those issues but we think rather than attempting to understand his setbacks he was written off as going home.

All they had to do was communicate with him and let him know they had his back. Instead they shut down, wrote him off as going home, said nothing and played others ahead of him when he was racking up possessions in the 2s and the 1s were being smashed.

BTW Jack was the only listed available player who didnt get picked all year. That was the worst and most unprofessional way to manage a player.

Please dont take that the wrong way. It gets back to the club owning how they managed a situation and nobody could say they did this well.

No communication and support yet interesting you mention “honoring” a contract! We hardly expected that kind of “honour” going back the other way.

Again, Im sure the Suns will get it right in future and pleased to see you backing the club. The Suns need that kind of loyalty to achieve their plans and Id love to see that happen.

I can assure you it is not BS and and its very easy to call it an excuse rather than do the tough analysis of what the root cause of a problem is and work out an intelligent plan of how to overcome the issue.

Take a look at what has happened. Are you saying Lynch, May, the two Captains and several others are making excuses as well and theres no problem?

I think the club is owning what the problems have been and Id suggest you take on that approach as well and that is likely a better way of achieving the culture we all want the Suns to develop.
What a load of BS.
I hope we hold him to his contract and make him work for his spot in our team.
Sounds like he's never worked a day in his life and has been handed everything on a silver platter just like his footy scholarship mummy high or whatever Bods called it the other day

It looks more and more likely that Beams ends up in Collingwood. Some serious disappointment on Lions thread. 5 + 18 (from Beams trade) probably going to Freo for Neale.
If it’s as heavily front ended as reported then I’d hold him to the contract. It’s a joke what’s happening the last 2 years.

BTW, easy to say someone doesnt do this or that, this is a full game edit, mistakes included...Can you tell me where hes not doing the 1%ers? This type of player gets watched by opposition who pounce when the club doesn't play them. If you can honestly tell me the Suns didnt need this last year in the ones, we can call it quits and forget it, depart as friends!

Tackles aren’t really a focus kpi for tall hbfers.

A random selection of players in similar positions Shepherd, mills, burton, roberton, Jake kolo all averaging less than 1.5 - 2.8!the past few years

Whether this just highlights a broader issue.. sounds like it does in this instance.

No doubt scrimshaw has skills but has to be accepted that there are deficiencies in his game.. otherwise he would have played.

In saying that it is all about communication.

Other players seem to indicate good communication lines with coaching staff but if one player feels like it wasn’t up to scratch I would want us to be sure there aren’t others still st the club in the same situation.

What a load of BS.
I hope we hold him to his contract and make him work for his spot in our team.
Sounds like he's never worked a day in his life and has been handed everything on a silver platter just like his footy scholarship mummy high or whatever Bods called it the other day
Haha OK mate thanks for your consideration. Cheers

BTW, easy to say someone doesnt do this or that, this is a full game edit, mistakes included...Can you tell me where hes not doing the 1%ers? This type of player gets watched by opposition who pounce when the club doesn't play them. If you can honestly tell me the Suns didnt need this last year in the ones, we can call it quits and forget it, depart as friends!

I reckon this is the 120th time you have posted this video all over bigfooty haha