2018 Rookies

For those that have Tom Cole, I just saw on Twitter that his father passed away yesterday. Funeral on Friday. Assume that would make him an unlikely starter this weekend.

Hopefully he is still given the opportunity to play (if he wants to). I imagine he won't though. I guess that Schofield, Nelson or Watson replace him. Or that Duggan and Yeo spend more time in defence.

I was considering him as I think he is in our best team, but not anymore.

Hopefully he is still given the opportunity to play (if he wants to). I imagine he won't though. I guess that Schofield, Nelson or Watson replace him. Or that Duggan and Yeo spend more time in defence.

I was considering him as I think he is in our best team, but not anymore.
Is Venables likely to play round 1?

I think so.

I see these blokes as locked:

FB: Sheppard Barrass Hurn
HB: Jetta McGovern Duggan
C: Redden Sheed Gaff
HF: Cripps Waterman Hutchings
FF: Lycett Darling LeCras

R: Naitanui Yeo Shuey

I: Cole/other defender

This leaves 3 spots:

Ryan 95%
Venables 90%
Rioli 30% (due to injury)
Ainsworth 35%
Partington 25%
Masten 25%

I feel like a lot of these defensive rookies aren't going to get up for Rd 1 and it's all going to end in tears.

Nah, I was only a borderline senior player. Played mostly ressies. Just not my sort of coach, rated Andy Bennett far better personally.
Good Bloke :thumbsu:

I feel like a lot of these defensive rookies aren't going to get up for Rd 1 and it's all going to end in tears.
Someone's getting nervous ? :p

I'm surprised no one has Bonner from Port in their back line. Is he injured or unlikely to play? Any Port supporters out there that can help?

We have about 25 HBF's on our list.

in all seriousness, his price is too awkward for us to consider. He needs to average 85+ to make some worthwhile coin and to be worth the D4 spot from the start. A lot of us, including me, are picking Naughton/Coffield etc for 100k cheaper so that we can spend that money up forward where the rookies are inept

We have about 25 HBF's on our list.

in all seriousness, his price is too awkward for us to consider. He needs to average 85+ to make some worthwhile coin and to be worth the D4 spot from the start. A lot of us, including me, are picking Naughton/Coffield etc for 100k cheaper so that we can spend that money up forward where the rookies are inept

Great thanks mate :thumbsu: Not sure what I will do now.

Not sure where the no rookies up fwd comes from, no decent scoring ones maybe. I can name 6 fwd rookies who should play round 1:

Fritsch/Garlett/Venables/Ryan/
Langdon/Rioli

That whole lot will be lucky to scrape past 300pts combined!

Lol very true but everyone else will be in the same boat unless they go Fogarty/Rayner/Brown

Seems like CEllis will be playing round 1.
But Prestia will be back round 2.
Pass.

Not sure where the no rookies up fwd comes from, no decent scoring ones maybe. I can name 6 fwd rookies who should play round 1:

Fritsch/Garlett/Venables/Ryan/
Langdon/Rioli
They may very well play round 1, but it's whether or not they play rounds 2, 3 and 4 that is the big issue with picking them.

Reckon the WC boys will get a few games. Happy to roll with the four rookies up forward and look to swing Sicily to F5 early.
Anyone starting Fogarty? DPP is nice, but limited JS for a more expensive rookie?

Really?

Others talk like he is best 22? What are your thoughts on Cole HE?
I don't really rate him too much tbh. Doesn't get enough of the ball to be a rebounder, isn't strong enough to be a KPD
How I would set up the backline

B: Sheppard - Barrass - Schofield
HB: Hurn - McGovern - Jetta

Then you might have a spot on the bench for an extra defender. Cole, Nelson and Watson are probably the next likely in that position. Mackenzie also there abouts although he would be challenging Schofield

I use to love going early to Vic Park hill when the ressies were on.

Seeing legends like Fatui Ataata.

The cold pies, the punch ons (you don't wanna take on a feral Pie "female"), esky full of piss, the toilets behind the hill full of vomit & walking through an inch of urine.

Ahh I can smell it all right now, good times.:hearts::thumbsu:

Dear Lord this post brings back so many memories! Nice one OA.

Fatui Ataata! What a ressie legend. I miss Vic Park.