2019 AFL Crowds & Ratings Thread

GA apparently sold out for Q clash. No doubt the seats you see on tv - the $50+ ones - will be empty. This is where the AFL could help more by underwriting the cost of seats to allow for more GA sections at Metricon.

You are right!
Lucky to be half full.I think its stupid to flag a "sellout" as it puts people of coming thinking they cant get in!

GA apparently sold out for Q clash. No doubt the seats you see on tv - the $50+ ones - will be empty. This is where the AFL could help more by underwriting the cost of seats to allow for more GA sections at Metricon.

Bit of a fan of Tony Cochrane (Coch0) from his success with growing the V8 circus, but crowd numbers arent his strong suit, aka dont believe the crowd claims, up or down ....
Do a deal to get Brisbane members to the ground, hey the AFL pay the bills either way.

Bit of a fan of Tony Cochrane (Coch0) from his success with growing the V8 circus, but crowd numbers arent his strong suit, aka dont believe the crowd claims, up or down ....
Do a deal to get Brisbane members to the ground, hey the AFL pay the bills either way.
Brisbane membership did have access to game as part of their membership. Just like we do for gabba clash in 3 months time

Coch0s 'go to' in his V8 days was a post race concert, could that drag a crowd to Carrara (no, he didnt grab Meat Loaf, that was Andy D} ??

Agree it’s a disappointing crowd but I reckon they put people off by saying GA sold out. People don’t want to pay $45 to go to the footy.

Plus sat arvo is a poor time slot up here in particular competing against heaps of junior and senior local sport. My local club has Over 500 players juniors, seniors and women’s and a large chunk playing today. Plenty would have attended qclash with a later start time.

Nice beach day up here too

Agree it’s a disappointing crowd but I reckon they put people off by saying GA sold out. People don’t want to pay $45 to go to the footy.

Plus sat arvo is a poor time slot up here in particular competing against heaps of junior and senior local sport. My local club has Over 500 players juniors, seniors and women’s and a large chunk playing today. Plenty would have attended qclash with a later start time.

Yep sunday 145/210 or sat twilight is best slot

Heard on ABC radio just before the game that because of the limited parking available, Brisbane fans won't drive the one hour or so down the highway to see the game.
Yeh. And its the same the other way heading up to gabba from down here. I go and take my kids unless its a night game as getting back at midnight with kids is too late. But for day and twilight games i head up. But many dont.

If true, that GA 'sold out' is a major stuffup by Gold Coast; one of the best chances for a big home crowd in years and they've blown it. Cochrane gets all the kudos for his fiesty persona in media interviews but it all counts for nought if they stuff up like this.

Don't really buy the other timeslot/last week results excuses. I'm pretty sure this is the first time ever GC/Bris have met when they both have a positive win/loss record (and in perfect conditions as well).

In a year of largely excellent crowds so far, that was the first really disappointing one.

You do realise local sports are played on a Saturday afternoon all throughout Australia? Sorry but don't buy this as an excuse.

Correct but on the goldy there is a limited number of footy followers so it really does matter. I personally know of a couple of dozen that wanted to go but had sport commitments so couldn’t.

The market isn’t big enough to get things wrong