List Mgmt. 2019 Draft/Trade/FA Thread - Final Wrap

This is my worry about people on here getting excited about pp1 and pick 2 Anderson and Rowell.. no doubt in a few years it’ll just be them who leave chasing dollars or success

Need to probably start moving on the early picks for more mature players instead of bringing in kids and vfl rejects.. there was an interview with McKenna and he said in his last year at the club he and Clayton were at heads because he wanted to start to go for older players and Clayton wanted to go back to the draft
I’m far from feeling like we’re going to get the PP1 anyway. The sooking from other clubs and their fans is at alarming proportions already.
I’m not convinced a Darwin zone will benefit us much either.

Problem is when at the bottom no quality player will join us. We need to be able to double their salary offer but we don't get extra salary cap. Nice from Gillon. The only solution is to start winning on its own, show enough promise. It may happen with better injury run next year or maybe not and Lukosius/King, Fiorini,... leave too. Nice cycle.

I get what you mean but the club has also previously overpaid players like scrimshaw to try keep them then shovel him off for a happy meal.. I know different people back then but still similar cycle instead of trying to keep him by paying overs then at the end not worth much because he misses his dad tucking him in at night and pass him on to Clarko to babysit be bold and trade him out early for a more established player who will be paid similar anyway
Also need to get away from just recruiting players who are nice cleanskin kids imagine if Dustin Martin was coming through the club passes on him because of his family background

Just throwing up ideas trying to make conversation and not to be sounding negative btw

I’m far from feeling like we’re going to get the PP1 anyway. The sooking from other clubs and their fans is at alarming proportions already.
I’m not convinced a Darwin zone will benefit us much either.

I think the Darwin zone is more like to make the afl look like that they’re doing something for
A. Local Darwin area and B. With the suns
But imo won’t get much from it for 4 or 5 years as we are seeing with our current academy zones

I think the Darwin zone is more like to make the afl look like that they’re doing something for
A. Local Darwin area and B. With the suns
But imo won’t get much from it for 4 or 5 years as we are seeing with our current academy zones
Too much negativity robo, just take whatever given..

Probably right it's just i know we were trying to get Martin to Freo which would help with trading.

Once Blakely re-signed I don't think it matters now, unless Langdon wants to come here which would be left field given he has been linked to Victoria.

He's probably worth pick 15-25.

If Martin wants Blues then maybe an exchange of the Crows 1st for the Lions 1st as a pick upgrade.

If Bulldogs want Martin and they win a couple of finals then maybe their 1st.

Tipping AhChee was on good coin and maybe he was not happy with his offer this time round. Can't keep getting good money when you've never put it all together.

Best we can hope for is another teams fringe 22 player or late 2nd / 3rd Rd pick.

Ah Chee and Martin while talented and upside potential haven't given us much at all this year, whatever the situation is with Jack I feel guilty that we are holding him back for whatever reason, let him go, Cal has been very fragile for us I just don't see him as resilient enough for AFL in a losing side, if we lose those two its a lot less negative than the exodus last year

And Robinson didn't have nearly the same sort of impact in those years.
It's a bit of both. Robinson has been going well for us for several years, and he's also stepped it up another level this year with better players around him.

Ah Chee and Martin while talented and upside potential haven't given us much at all this year, whatever the situation is with Jack I feel guilty that we are holding him back for whatever reason, let him go, Cal has been very fragile for us I just don't see him as resilient enough for AFL in a losing side, if we lose those two its a lot less negative than the exodus last year

Agree.

For me the biggest loss about Ah Chee is his unfulfilled potential and still only 21. If our young talent evolves over the next 3-4yrs as expected, Cal too would be entering his prime with them. But as you say, he is fragile.
Maybe mid-late 2nd Rd depending on the buyer.

Martin needs a top 8 team. He has stuck with us for 7 years, we haven’t delivered and he has stagnated.
Play him forward in a strong team and I think he will blossom next season.
Still think we can get a mid-late 1st Rd or the equivalent for Jack.
Doggies his best option in my opinion, with their strong midfield.

Nicholls hasn’t played senior footy for 3 years.

These are the changes that I would make this year, have my red pen out ready to go.

(I think Ah Chee, Martin and Nicholls all leave as well so I will include them in this)

Outs:

Senior List:

Martin (Trade)
Ah Chee (Trade)
Ellis (Delist)
Nicholls (Delist)
Schoenfeld (Delist)
Nutting (Rookie)
Crossley (Delist/Rookie depending on his situation)

Rookie List:
Scheer (Delist)
Leslie (Delist)
Wigg (Delist)
Rischitelli (Retire)
Heron (Delist)

A lot of changes there. I don't reckon all these will happen but it is clear we still need to strongly turnover this list.

Nutting has shown he can kick goals in the NEAFL so I would be happy for him to find his way to the rookie list. I thought Dawson showed something at the end of the year so I would retain him on the rookie list.

Need some senior bodies to add into the mix as well.

EDIT: Removed Horlin Smith understanding his contract situation.

These are the changes that I would make this year, have my red pen out ready to go.

(I think Ah Chee, Martin and Nicholls all leave as well so I will include them in this)

Outs:

Senior List:

Martin (Trade)
Ah Chee (Trade)
Ellis (Delist)
Nicholls (Delist)
Horlin - Smith (Rookie)
Schoenfeld (Delist)
Nutting (Rookie)
Crossley (Delist/Rookie depending on his situation)

Rookie List:
Scheer (Delist)
Leslie (Delist)
Wigg (Delist)
Rischitelli (Retire)
Heron (Delist)

A lot of changes there. I don't reckon all these will happen but it is clear we still need to strongly turnover this list.

Nutting has shown he can kick goals in the NEAFL so I would be happy for him to find his way to the rookie list. I thought Dawson showed something at the end of the year so I would retain him on the rookie list. FWIW I think Horlin-Smith will stay on the senior list, but I would look to move him to the Rookie list if we can find someone to replace him.

Need some senior bodies to add into the mix as well.

GHS has a three year deal...

Interesting that Sam Murray is free to play in Round 1 2020. When did ASADA pick up Braydens white line traces?
18 months total ban, so one can assume we will have to wait the same time frame..

I am hoping Ellis doesn't also have a 1yr+ deal.

Ellis was on a 1 year deal.

We have to bare in mind though that he had an injury plagued year for the first half of this season and struggled to find his rhythm/form when called into the seniors. Averaged 18 disposals over his 4 games this year.

He went at Pick 12 in the 2014 national draft so the upside is definitely there plus he is only 22 years of age. I think he gets another chance and stays on for another year to prove himself.

Fair enough. Agree to disagree. :D
Afraid you won’t find any Lions supporters who agree with you. Shared B&F in his first year. Has been a heart and soul guy at the club.

Also played a significant role in getting Charlie Cameron up to the club.

List Mgmt. 2019 Draft/Trade/FA Thread - Final Wrap