2019 Trade thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

[
Just to respond to this while I'm here.

There's a good article I saw from SEN this morning with Dodoro explaining our stance. We wanted a player but Sydney weren't interested in including a player, which is fair. But from our perspective, draft picks are not going to replace our only good tall forward and are unlikely to really impact the midfield for a few seasons (particularly in what has been widely considered a pretty shallow draft).

So I think the club decided it would rather try and retain Joe and get him back to fitness in the hopes he might sign a new contract next year. Risky of course but the two draft picks just didn't line up with where our list is at.

Yep, up to your medical team to get him right and prove the doubters wrong...(i.e Doc Larkins radio comments on the mesh procedure...and the talk of hereditary groin problems caused the early retirements of other Danihers...).

Boy this might not be the greatest time to jump in and ask this but anyway...

Just wondering on Cutler whether you guys think he could be used as an inside mid? Someone with his size is something we are really lacking at stoppages. I can't say I know too much about him.

I agree with everyone else. Just not an inside player.

But he has his fans on this forum, including me. He can have a big impact coming from behind the play. For the first few years it looked like the challenge was going to be getting him to play his best footy consistently enough. But at this point we just don't really have a spot for his type, no matter what he does.

I think there's a chance a change of club will get the best out of him.

Cutler is a player who by his physique, mobility and long kicking promised a lot but never really delivered. Interesting to see if the Essendon coaching staff can get more out of him. Good luck to him and them if they can.

If he was hypothetically to put $2mil over 2 years on his head, and then extends once getting where he wants to go for $400k over 2 years, I think the $2mil over 2 years can only be shuffled around between those 2 years from a TPP point of view. I think you can pay him $600k/year over 4 years, but from a TPP point of view he costs them $2mil over those first two years regardless.

Correct.

Quite possibly.. wonder if gc have that room

I think GC would pass if it was too ridiculous, given their documented salary cap mess. Let someone else have a mess for a change.

Boy this might not be the greatest time to jump in and ask this but anyway...

Just wondering on Cutler whether you guys think he could be used as an inside mid? Someone with his size is something we are really lacking at stoppages. I can't say I know too much about him.

The only time he's going to be inside is if someone's shut Marvel's roof.

I'm hoping there's no more questions about Cutler being an inside mid because I'm running out of these. :(

And Dodongo points out that is why people here shouldn't be writing off McStay yet
McStay & Schache are in very different stages of their careers and also have very different footy profiles. Next year is a very important year for Dan. He needs to step up as a 25 year old AFL player who will be in his 7th year. In my mind there is no doubt he has the all the tools to be a success.

Now back to the Lions, after all it's why we are here. With Jenkins going to the Cats then what now for Wylie Buzza. Supposedly out of contract and talk about as a possible delisting I'd like to see him come home and be given a chance of the Rookie list. Although a few in line before him I think we could experiment with him in other positions and see how he goes for a year or 2. It's just that Queensland kids always seem to take that extra couple of years to develop and he might be worth keeping if we got him for nothing.
Yes let’s get back to the Lions. I agree worth considering but only on the basis that we believe he has undeveloped potential. not on the basis that he is from Queensland.

From what I've seen the players were supporting keeping him and trying to convince him to stay beyond 2020.

People always complain about Dodoro hardballing but more often than not he gets what he wants.

Yes, he gets what he wants. Not the players or other clubs he deals with. In many ways it is a positive, but i wonder if it does any damage. Expecting such a high price for a player is unrealistic in a trade, what damage does that do to player relations. Yeah it is great they back themselves in to turn him around and get him to stay, but is it really worth it.

Yep, apparently had two nicknames amongst other recruiters...last day Dodoro and difficult Dodoro. Says enough really. With that reputation and the cheats having had an ordinary period for the best part of 18 years he’ll be out of a job soon enough and finding it difficult to land another one.

Yes let’s get back to the Lions. I agree worth considering but only on the basis that we believe he has undeveloped potential. not on the basis that he is from Queensland.
Wylie Buzza had a pretty good year in the Geelong VFL.
- Played 17 games
- Kicked 32 goals (most 5 times)
- In the Geelongs best 10 times

Can you elaborate why our tall fwd stocks will need an overhaul at the end of next year?
Sorry for late reply, just out of hospital today. Mate, i just think we have shored up our midfield this and last year with neale, lyons and cey and matho, c lyons and others for depth. We have added a bit more depth in defense with birch and ah chee adding the pace we need. Walker, payne add depth. So i think we are pretty good in both those areas going fwd.

So with martin only signing a 1yr extension and the jury still out on archie with another year to prove himself. We are certainly going to have to review our ruck needs to compliment the big O. That maybe a fwd/ruck or whatever.

I also think we will need a tall fwd kicking 50+ goals a year to win a flag. Mcstay may stand up, ballenden, wooller and fullarton may develop and grow into bodies that can handle the push n shove in the fwd 50 and be what we need. I hope they do. But if we have another year of missed goals from our talls its only right they are reviewed. I also think we will be working more on how our fwds function this year. We pretty much just bombed it into the fwd pocket and hoped for the crumb. We have to be more creative with our fwd entries and game plan, and we may need a different type of tall to what we have to do this. Maybe have a crack at darcy fogarty or aaron naughton, who knows.

Thats just my thoughts. We have developed and strengthened our backs amd midfield into flag winning units, not saying they dont have areas to work on, but tall fwd and ruck is the final piece of the puzzle for the future.

I reckon if Sydney had offered 5 and 9, Daniher would be in Sydney. I reckon that’s exactly what Essendon was angling for.

If their top offer was 9 + 2020 first, for only Daniher, I still think that’s a seriously decent offer

Both potential trades would have very different narratives for Sydney.
Pick 5 and Papley (Pick 9) is a hard sell to members, pick 5 is a serious premium on top of Papley.

Their offer of Papley and a future first is an easy sell to members. Upgrade Papley to a Key Postion player, sell hope off improvement, no doubt they’d have an academy prospect next year, they could still get value out of too.
Yeah I totally agree with you on his value and what was fair but my posts were related to whether they offered pick 5 or not..... My latter comments were more around the commitment they made to Joe and their inability to get the deal done... 5 and 9 in my opinion is overs for a guy who can't consistently get on the park but if you make a public commitment to a contracted player, then they should have gotten it done

Yep, apparently had two nicknames amongst other recruiters...last day Dodoro and difficult Dodoro. Says enough really. With that reputation and the cheats having had an ordinary period for the best part of 18 years he’ll be out of a job soon enough and finding it difficult to land another one.

Probably have to change it to Don't Dodoro now.

And Leigh Mathews saying that Brennan was the best young player ability wise he'd ever seen before he played that famous first game.

The unknown always gets overrated in football and in life and the sure and steady undervalued
Orh mate i really liked watching brennan play. Could do anything, good and bad. I think we used him badly, moving him all over the park. If brownie had bitten the bullet and moved to full fwd i think brennan would have made a terrific chf.

Really interesting to see how different people rated each team's trade period.
The one that was laughable was Mark Robinson giving Essendon 1 vote (Gave 3 to Saints, 2 to Dogs and 1 each to Cats & Bombers).
Out of all the clubs, he thought the Bombers were the equal 3rd best team in the trade period - and par with the Cats, who got a lot for an OOC star.

Really interesting to see how different people rated each team's trade period.
The one that was laughable was Mark Robinson giving Essendon 1 vote (Gave 3 to Saints, 2 to Dogs and 1 each to Cats & Bombers).
Out of all the clubs, he thought the Bombers were the equal 3rd best team in the trade period - and par with the Cats, who got a lot for an OOC star.
When it comes to the Bombers, Robinson and Ralph can't hide their bias.

I reckon the targeting of Ah Chee could prove to be a master stroke. He has the potential to be a match winner for us and the luxury is that he can play forward, wing, back and I supect would be given time on the ball as well. Skill and pace are two things you can't have too much of.

100% . You can always do with M/F depth and better players there but next year is the year that tells whether the Hipwood/McStay combo with maybe improvement from the NEAFL combo you mentioned is going to get us where we want to go.

I thought that's what I said.

But you seem to love disagreeing with me

I was expanding on your point. I mentioned a 'recent notion' that is developing around anything outside of the top 5 being is a total gamble. It did in part agree with and disagree with your point.

I do agree that you and I often don't see eye to eye on some fundamental points related to footy and our Club. However, I think you are a great contributor to the board and think we maintain a good dialog without making it personal, that's what forums are all about.

Orh mate i really liked watching brennan play. Could do anything, good and bad. I think we used him badly, moving him all over the park. If brownie had bitten the bullet and moved to full fwd i think brennan would have made a terrific chf.
Can you see your point. I remember the night Lethal threw him into the ruck to try and toughen him up and he got totally poleaxed.

We had a culture where our champion players and the coaching group believed you had to be super tough and give no quarter otherwise you just weren't part of the team. They overrated the intimidation aspect as the reason for their success and underestimated just how good they actually were . So in hindsight Brennan coming in at the end of an era copped a raw deal and he would be treated so much differently these days.

Once again in hindsight we got a bit full of ourselves and it likely cost us a generation of decent players

I was expanding on your point. I mentioned a 'recent notion' that is developing around anything outside of the top 5 being is a total gamble. It did in part agree with and disagree with your point.

I do agree that you and I often don't see eye to eye on some fundamental points related to footy and our Club. However, I think you are a great contributor to the board and think we maintain a good dialog without making it personal, that's what forums are all about.
Sure. Thanks.