2019 Training Reports

• Thread starter Thread starter 88mph

Anyone know what’s the go with Carters thumb/wrist. It was in a cast at the start of the year, and still wrapped up like a mummy!
It was another frustrating period on the injury front this year, with an elbow hyper-extension in the opening round of the WAFL colts season causing Carter plenty of grief.

He progressed through Claremont’s under-age development squads and played two colts matches last year around school footy commitments before a complicated grade-two tear behind his knee ended his season.
It was another frustrating period on the injury front this year, with an elbow hyper-extension in the opening round of the WAFL colts season causing Carter plenty of grief.
It happened again in WA’s first game at the national under-18 championships, tearing his elbow ligaments three-quarters off the bone.

With the help of an elbow brace, Carter bounced back to finish the season strongly and says he’s 100 per cent injury-free heading into the draft.

He progressed through Claremont’s under-age development squads and played two colts matches last year around school footy commitments before a complicated grade-two tear behind his knee ended his season.
It happened again in WA’s first game at the national under-18 championships, tearing his elbow ligaments three-quarters off the bone.

With the help of an elbow brace, Carter bounced back to finish the season strongly and says he’s 100 per cent injury-free heading into the draft.

That seems to cover his knee and the Elbow, but not the wrist/thumb injury that seems more longer lasting than his elbow ligament issues.

Ok now I'm in front of a computer, I'll try put it all together from what I remember.

It was a really nice day to be out there, sun out and not too hot with a breeze building over the morning.

The guys came out and did their own drills for about 10mins or so. Some did kick to kick, some teamed up with that spring board thing and did handling drills, Sandi pretended to slap Ballas. Mood around the place is good and team all very vocal with each other both in support and ridicule if a mistake is made.

Rehab group took off to the far side to do their thing, new blokes off in a group to do their thing and the rest did a 3 man weave drill back and forward handballing to each other. Skills looked good hear. Blakely, Logue, Ryan, Bennell all looked particularly sharp and ready to let rip. The fitness staff had to pull the gorup up a few times and tell them to pace themselves and build slowly into it rather than come out of the blocks too early which I found interesting.

They then did a drill where a player handballed a high ball across to the next line, the player tapped the ball down to be roved front and centre and repeat. After a few run throughs they changed from handballs to kicks. Skills generally looked sharp here. Very little missed targets or fumbles. Team looked switched on.

Players then broke into their back/mid/forward groups and did a bunch of skill drills. Hamling, Tabs, Blakely, Bennell, Dixon, Ryan, Wilson pick of the bunch here for me. Looked really good.

Some goal kicking practice which looked alright. Usual hit and miss with a fair few hitting the post. McCarthy & Lobb where slotting some great shots from the pocket and boys were cheering them on.

Ross then gave them a talking to and they went into full ground match sims. Ballas looked completely out of his depth. Kicking and decision making was complete trash. I like the guy but he is done and we should of traded him to WCE when we had the chance. Switta etc needs to play ahead of him I cannot stress enough how poor he was out there it stood out like a sore thumb. Usual crowd went well. Ross stopped play a few times to give the boys a bake about decision making and call the play back. Bennell was good in the drills but at one stage kicked the ball out on the full, was called back by Lyon to reset and did the exact same thing again. Ross wasn't happy and let him know in no uncertain terms. It was the only misses I saw him make all morning. Tabs dominated up forward. He's bigger, seems to be positioning better and is running really well. Think hes set for a big year. Hamling was practically unbeatable down back. Read the drop of the ball better, positioned better, worked harder just generally looked a level above. Best defender out there. A.Pearce looked good. Brayshaw built into it after what I thought was a slow start. Ryan could well be the best kick in our side and Wilson had a couple of dashes out of defense that looked really good. Only sims but skills in general looked better than last year to me.

Building nicely IMO.

Ok now I'm in front of a computer, I'll try put it all together from what I remember.

It was a really nice day to be out there, sun out and not too hot with a breeze building over the morning.

The guys came out and did their own drills for about 10mins or so. Some did kick to kick, some teamed up with that spring board thing and did handling drills, Sandi pretended to slap Ballas. Mood around the place is good and team all very vocal with each other both in support and ridicule if a mistake is made.

Rehab group took off to the far side to do their thing, new blokes off in a group to do their thing and the rest did a 3 man weave drill back and forward handballing to each other. Skills looked good hear. Blakely, Logue, Ryan, Bennell all looked particularly sharp and ready to let rip. The fitness staff had to pull the gorup up a few times and tell them to pace themselves and build slowly into it rather than come out of the blocks too early which I found interesting.

They then did a drill where a player handballed a high ball across to the next line, the player tapped the ball down to be roved front and centre and repeat. After a few run throughs they changed from handballs to kicks. Skills generally looked sharp here. Very little missed targets or fumbles. Team looked switched on.

Players then broke into their back/mid/forward groups and did a bunch of skill drills. Hamling, Tabs, Blakely, Bennell, Dixon, Ryan, Wilson pick of the bunch here for me. Looked really good.

Some goal kicking practice which looked alright. Usual hit and miss with a fair few hitting the post. McCarthy & Lobb where slotting some great shots from the pocket and boys were cheering them on.

Ross then gave them a talking to and they went into full ground match sims. Ballas looked completely out of his depth. Kicking and decision making was complete trash. I like the guy but he is done and we should of traded him to WCE when we had the chance. Switta etc needs to play ahead of him I cannot stress enough how poor he was out there it stood out like a sore thumb. Usual crowd went well. Ross stopped play a few times to give the boys a bake about decision making and call the play back. Bennell was good in the drills but at one stage kicked the ball out on the full, was called back by Lyon to reset and did the exact same thing again. Ross wasn't happy and let him know in no uncertain terms. It was the only misses I saw him make all morning. Tabs dominated up forward. He's bigger, seems to be positioning better and is running really well. Think hes set for a big year. Hamling was practically unbeatable down back. Read the drop of the ball better, positioned better, worked harder just generally looked a level above. Best defender out there. A.Pearce looked good. Brayshaw built into it after what I thought was a slow start. Ryan could well be the best kick in our side and Wilson had a couple of dashes out of defense that looked really good. Only sims but skills in general looked better than last year to me.

Building nicely IMO.
I love you. Awesome work

I have some insight re injury management across a number of AFL clubs and professional sports. My comment re the training block prior to Christmas came off the back of discussions with the people within sports science working in the AFL.

It is hard to compare but from the outside judging our management stratagies around certain players has been perplexing.

Anyway those of you whom are interested in research re training load, this guy is probably the most recognised atm.

https://gabbettperformance.com.au/

That seems to cover his knee and the Elbow, but not the wrist/thumb injury that seems more longer lasting than his elbow ligament issues.
Oh yeah, I looked back on the Wed photo, it is bandaged. Hadn't notice before. Sorry don't know anything about that. Hopefully, his elbow has healed, it certainly seemed to restrict him during the championships by the looks. (just as well for us really)

Decided to check out training for the first time this pre-season. Wasn't expecting to see any great 'signs' for our next season but found it to be a pretty good session to attend. Lots of people watching and a really nice day for it.

Somewhat good news is we only appear to have a handful in rehab and none of them look as serious as we've had in past pre-seasons. Think Hogan was the only one I didn't spot - he may have made an appearance, I just didn't see him. If Bell hadn't spoken about Hilly I would've assumed he was just on a modified program to build up from - clearly something they need to fix but he was smashing out the laps. Mundy and Walters also on modified programs but I didn't see anything that caused major alarm bells - Walters had a fair bit of strapping but was moving fine. Darcy, Meek, Tucker and someone I didn't recognise under their hat (wasn't Shultz like I first thought - fairly certain it was Colyer now) also just doing running. BHill, Cerra and Conca also did some extra running during the match sims.

Bennell training with the main group, looking unhindered and right in amongst it in match sims is probably the most exciting thing today. He really is a wildcard for us if he can stay on the park. Crossing fingers we can see a transformed forward line with him, Hogan and Lobb all lining up together sometime early in the coming season. That is three pretty massive potential inclusions - particularly Lobb who is simply massive. Didn't notice Rory a lot today but he moves well for a big guy. Tabs looked beast like today and was just a dominant presence in the match sims. Still stuffs around too much with ball in hand down field (seems to always turn toward the boundary line, turning his back on the field) but the good money is still on him being in the team in Round 1. I'm a big fan of Switkowski and he's looking far more comfortable in the team now. Plays intuitively and has some serious wheels when he needs. Ballas on the other hand was woeful. I reckon you could have asked him to hit a barn 25m out today and he would have found a way to miss it. As others have said before Matera looks fitter this pre-season. And anyone thinking McCarthy hasn't trimmed down obviously hasn't seen him in the flesh. He's a long way from Michelangelo's David but heaps better than where he was.

It's probably the first time I have watched match sims at Cockburn where I haven't noticed Fyfe - mainly because he normally just goes into beast mode and you can't take your eyes off him. I think that's a good thing because I get the feeling he is building more slowly this pre-season and this allows others to step up whilst he does. If today was anything to go by I think we'll still see plenty of Sandi next season. Clunked a couple of nice ones inside 50 during match sims.

It was good to see all of our defenders looking fit and ready to go. There was a few body work drills involving Hamling v Duman, Pearce v Logue, Kersten v Ryan, Logue v Nyhuis, Wilson v Carter. So only Watson not involved as he was doing fitness work with Sturt and Valente instead. Ross was watching on and was pretty vocal/critical about them doing the drills as close to what it'd be like in game as possible. As others have said in recent weeks, Ross seems to be more involved at training than he was last pre-season. He has also certainly lost weight but think a picture posted by their media team a few weeks back was a bit misleading :)

Bewley has clearly walked right into the main group as if this isn't his first pre-season. Pretty safe bet he'll be well in the mix for Round 1. Schultz similarly doing a fair bit more with the main group than our 18yo draftees, although he did join them for fitness work later in the session, as did Carter. I didn't see enough of Blakely, Langdon, Cox, Dixon, Banfield, Brayshaw, Crowden, North, Giro and Jones to say anything substantial about any of them. As I said earlier though, they all look like they've done the right thing over the off-season. Brayshaw now has an inside mid body so can't wait to see how much that changes things for him.

As I mentioned a few weeks back we've got a new Senior Strength & Conditioning Coach as of last month. He's the guy directly under Jason Weber and the person directly responsible for injury prevention etc. He's got a PhD in the area of skill acquisition and development (for soccer) but for his honours he looked at the relationship between training load and injuries (for beach volleyball) - and that's where he's done most of his work at West Coast Fever, Perth Glory, Peel and Glenelg before coming to us. Following training the past few weeks (as well as having a look live today) I've definitely noticed a greater emphasis on managing load so I'm hoping this guy is bringing the necessary expertise so we can prepare well for round 1 but without our players all breaking down mid way through the season. Lack of availability has really killed us the past few seasons - I think turning that around could have even more impact than anything else we are currently doing at training.

tl;dr - if you don't want to read my long diatribe then get to training yourself and give us your own better training report :)

Decided to check out training for the first time this pre-season. Wasn't expecting to see any great 'signs' for our next season but found it to be a pretty good session to attend. Lots of people watching and a really nice day for it.

Somewhat good news is we only appear to have a handful in rehab and none of them look as serious as we've had in past pre-seasons. Think Hogan was the only one I didn't spot - he may have made an appearance, I just didn't see him. If Bell hadn't spoken about Hilly I would've assumed he was just on a modified program to build up from - clearly something they need to fix but he was smashing out the laps. Mundy and Walters also on modified programs but I didn't see anything that caused major alarm bells - Walters had a fair bit of strapping but was moving fine. Darcy, Meek, Tucker and someone I didn't recognise under their hat (wasn't Shultz like I first thought - fairly certain it was Colyer now) also just doing running. BHill, Cerra and Conca also did some extra running during the match sims.

Bennell training with the main group, looking unhindered and right in amongst it in match sims is probably the most exciting thing today. He really is a wildcard for us if he can stay on the park. Crossing fingers we can see a transformed forward line with him, Hogan and Lobb all lining up together sometime early in the coming season. That is three pretty massive potential inclusions - particularly Lobb who is simply massive. Didn't notice Rory a lot today but he moves well for a big guy. Tabs looked beast like today and was just a dominant presence in the match sims. Still stuffs around too much with ball in hand down field (seems to always turn toward the boundary line, turning his back on the field) but the good money is still on him being in the team in Round 1. I'm a big fan of Switkowski and he's looking far more comfortable in the team now. Plays intuitively and has some serious wheels when he needs. Ballas on the other hand was woeful. I reckon you could have asked him to hit a barn 25m out today and he would have found a way to miss it. As others have said before Matera looks fitter this pre-season. And anyone thinking McCarthy hasn't trimmed down obviously hasn't seen him in the flesh. He's a long way from Michelangelo's David but heaps better than where he was.

It's probably the first time I have watched match sims at Cockburn where I haven't noticed Fyfe - mainly because he normally just goes into beast mode and you can't take your eyes off him. I think that's a good thing because I get the feeling he is building more slowly this pre-season and this allows others to step up whilst he does. If today was anything to go by I think we'll still see plenty of Sandi next season. Clunked a couple of nice ones inside 50 during match sims.

It was good to see all of our defenders looking fit and ready to go. There was a few body work drills involving Hamling v Duman, Pearce v Logue, Kersten v Ryan, Logue v Nyhuis, Wilson v Carter. So only Watson not involved as he was doing fitness work with Sturt and Valente instead. Ross was watching on and was pretty vocal/critical about them doing the drills as close to what it'd be like in game as possible. As others have said in recent weeks, Ross seems to be more involved at training than he was last pre-season. He has also certainly lost weight but think a picture posted by their media team a few weeks back was a bit misleading :)

Bewley has clearly walked right into the main group as if this isn't his first pre-season. Pretty safe bet he'll be well in the mix for Round 1. Schultz similarly doing a fair bit more with the main group than our 18yo draftees, although he did join them for fitness work later in the session, as did Carter. I didn't see enough of Blakely, Langdon, Cox, Dixon, Banfield, Brayshaw, Crowden, North, Giro and Jones to say anything substantial about any of them. As I said earlier though, they all look like they've done the right thing over the off-season. Brayshaw now has an inside mid body so can't wait to see how much that changes things for him.

As I mentioned a few weeks back we've got a new Senior Strength & Conditioning Coach as of last month. He's the guy directly under Jason Weber and the person directly responsible for injury prevention etc. He's got a PhD in the area of skill acquisition and development (for soccer) but for his honours he looked at the relationship between training load and injuries (for beach volleyball) - and that's where he's done most of his work at West Coast Fever, Perth Glory, Peel and Glenelg before coming to us. Following training the past few weeks (as well as having a look live today) I've definitely noticed a greater emphasis on managing load so I'm hoping this guy is bringing the necessary expertise so we can prepare well for round 1 but without our players all breaking down mid way through the season. Lack of availability has really killed us the past few seasons - I think turning that around could have even more impact than anything else we are currently doing at training.

tl;dr - if you don't want to read my long diatribe then get to training yourself and give us your own better training report :)

Very happy to read the last paragraph in particular.

Carter vs Wilson is interesting. How did Carter go?

Re Bennell, Monday he was bouncing the ball sideways ie the way the umps bounce the ball , something I dont think I,ve ever seen a player do. His skill level is unbelievable.
bouncing as in - ran 15m and had a bounce or like dribbling a basketball. Either way seems incredible really...