- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Western Bulldogs
Never in doubt, first picked when he was available as a forward.Very hard to leave Whitfield out based on tonight's effort.

Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 12
SuperCoach Rd 12 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC - 2026 Fight MND Comp ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 12 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
Never in doubt, first picked when he was available as a forward.Very hard to leave Whitfield out based on tonight's effort.
Big yes. Been watching him closely for years. Will explode this year in a settled position.Sexy Acres anyone?
Hasn't left my sideSexy Acres anyone?
Played well but 16 disposals, 1 contested @ 80% TOG for 58 SC not quite enough.Hard to say at this stage, but if he plays both Marsh games scores well and is named round 1 then he'll be selected by a few teams I reckon.
Watchlist for now.
Don't think Budarick plays round 1.A. Bonar, S. Hill, M. Bergman (if fit), J. Brander, M. Georgiades, M. King, I. Rankine, S. Sturt and C. Budarick are all looking likely to play round 1 at this stage. Not amazing but I wouldn't call them putrid, especially when compared to the DEF rookies on offer at this stage.
Whitfield scored a 101 and a 170 in his two games after coming back from being hurt last season, and thats without 6 months to get right.
If he's playing, his fitness/ankle isn't a factor for me. Price the only concern, as I suspect he will be at 100% by round 1.
Petracca on the other hand....not sure I'd be comfortable starting him even if he averages 200 all preseason. Dude has burnt me two years running, including the 2018 run where he missed 2/3 games (one of which because of a "dog bite"), only to return for back to back 40's. Nope.
Gresh_Magic Acres or Gresham?Sexy Acres anyone?
Respect your opinion as a GC watcher but imo from watching that game last week he has it. Time, space and good decision making is what I saw. His first two possessions I was like 'noooiiiiiceeeeeeee' . he's in for me and if dough boy doesn't see it too I'd be shocked. Shocked I tell ya!!!Don't think Budarick plays round 1.
Defense more than likely to be
Harbrow Graham Lukosius
Hanley Collins Bowes
With Ballard, Thompson +- Hombsch to come into the team. when recovered from injury.
Budarick and Joyce the two playing to make it in but certainly not 'likely' at this stage.

Oh mate, I completely agree with you. Can tell he'll be a 10 year player. I love it that he's a true Gold Coaster that came through our academy like his brother before him.Respect your opinion as a GC watcher but imo from watching that game last week he has it. Time, space and good decision making is what I saw. His first two possessions I was like 'noooiiiiiceeeeeeee' . he's in for me and if dough boy doesn't see it too I'd be shocked. Shocked I tell ya!!!![]()
Intriguing, has me very interestedSexy Acres anyone?
Toby Greene anyone?
Nice post but why stop at KEY forwards.Just going to throw this out there - I think the no key forwards rule in Supercoach is rubbish
If you rank the current listed forwards by total points, 3 out of the top 10 are key forwards (Cameron, Hawkins and Darling). Only Cameron averaged over 90 but due to the top key forwards being durable they end up being great over a full season.
To further make the case i've listed averages for the last 5 seasons below of notable key forwards in each season (numbers in brackets = games missed that season)
2019: Hawkins 86(0), Darling 85(0), Cameron 93(0)
2018: Riewoldt 93(0) and Hawkins 102(1), Franklin 100(4), Darling 87(0), McDonald 98(4)
2017: Daniher 86(0), Kennedy 94(6), Hawkins 86(4), Lynch 85(4), Franklin 98(0), Cameron 89(3), McDonald 85
2016: Kennedy 98(0), Riewoldt 86(0), Lynch 93(0), Franklin 94(0)
2015: Lynch 89(2), Riewoldt 91(0), Kennedy 94(0)
You'll notice it's actually quite easy to pick good scoring key forwards in Supercoach if you look at the list above. Look for the following:
1. Plays for a top 8 side
2. Aged between 22-30yo
3. Good chance to win the Coleman
4. This is a bonus one to consider - Well priced (particularly relevant to Lynch and McDonald this season)
This means that good key forward options this season would be limited to basically these guys -> Hawkins, Lynch, Darling, Cameron and McDonald
Take a look at the top 20 forwards by average this season - missed games everywhere.
Whitfield missed 6
Toby Greene missed 6
Lambert missed 4
Degoey missed 6
Greenwood missed 8
Gresham missed 3
Wallis missed 12
Gray missed 3
Ryder missed 5
There are several others that missed exactly 2 but I didn't include them. It's a miracle Gary Ablett played 21 and it seems he'll definitely be missing closer to ~4 games this season.
Particularly in a season where so many teams are taking risks on injury-prone players or players coming back from big injuries (Hill, Docherty, Roberton, Smith, Steven, Mitchell, Kelly, Naitanui, Jacobs, Whitfield, King, Cockatoo all popular selections), having a highly rated key forward who'll likely play 20+ games with the potential of going 90+ over the season might not be the worst idea.
Also, the rookies we have this season specifically in the forward line seem to have a low ceiling or shaky job security. Hosie, Rankine, King, McAdam, Cameron, Budarick, Cockatoo, Georgiades, Weightman, Mahony just to name some of the more popular ones. If one of your premiums misses 3 games, you'd hate to have to field McAdam or King and see them deliver 40s over those 3 weeks, or even worse, cop donuts because your rookies have been dropped or trade away your premium because you can't afford to cop the 0's.
Anyway, all that to say I think the whole 'don't pick key forwards' line isn't great advice. If you pick the right key forward at the right price, I think they can be excellent full-season selections.
Hard to see Lynch being under priced.
Played every HA game last year and is priced at his 72 ave.
Nice post but why stop at KEY forwards.
Why cant we just not pick forwards at all...
BTW Im liking Lynch due to price and not leaving the MCG until 2039 but other than that not interested. JJK would be next in line, again because of price. If he could kick a few bags in a row his price would jump 100k then youd sell him off at the byes.
Fair point re injury.Had no preseason after having knee surgery in the off season leading up to 2019. He was touch and go for Round 1 and didn't really have a good fitness base. Once he built up his fitness levels he went crazy in the second half of the season and averaged 97 off the top of my head.
Fair point re injury.
2nd half ave 82.5.
Nice post but why stop at KEY forwards.
Why cant we just not pick forwards at all...
BTW Im liking Lynch due to price and not leaving the MCG until 2039 but other than that not interested. JJK would be next in line, again because of price. If he could kick a few bags in a row his price would jump 100k then youd sell him off at the byes.