List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part II

he's a GOP who is injury prone. I hope we don't chase him. I'd rather chase Tarrant for a year or two and look for a kid or hope that Clav comes on.
Wilkie is a better version of Corr and doesn't miss games. Need a taller defender i.e. a genuine centre half back to take Carlisle's spot as with all his injuries I can't imagine he's going to be a guy who plays much beyond 30.

No, 15 is slated for other trades. The scenario is that Adelaide would have been told that 15 is not on if they match. If they go ahead, Saints do their other trades and then go back to Adelaide with anything we have left.

That is the risk Adelaide will be taking if they want to play hardball. take the compo and feel a bit ripped off, or maybe settle for scraps after the Saints do their other trades, or end up keeping Crouch for 650k x 5 years.

Worst case screnario we offer 15 but can't see it happening.
I don’t know how we can be so certain of that. I’d prefer we didn’t give up pick 15, but I don’t think we know what will happen. We’re offering a five year deal on good coin.

I reckon we'll trade it away so that Adelaide don't even have the option of it. Their best hope is that they promise to take on a couple of our fringe guys on big money and absorb their contracts so that we offer up more money and push them towards band one. It sounds like the AFL might not want to give them more regardless.

No, 15 is slated for other trades. The scenario is that Adelaide would have been told that 15 is not on if they match. If they go ahead, Saints do their other trades and then go back to Adelaide with anything we have left.

That is the risk Adelaide will be taking if they want to play hardball. take the compo and feel a bit ripped off, or maybe settle for scraps after the Saints do their other trades, or end up keeping Crouch for 650k x 5 years.

Worst case screnario we offer 15 but can't see it happening.
I just don't see Adelaide risking nothing in return for a 5 pick upgrade. Its utter madness.

I reckon that Narkle would cost a 3rd rounder. He's a fringe player who was a late pick and has only played around 5 games a year on average. If Jones was worth pick 36 with a swap of third and fourth round picks, he's worth a pick in the 50s at best on that comparison. Bruce was an established KPF got us 32 and 51. I'd give up a future third for Lipinski but they rate him. I see him as a player around the level of Sinclair. Rated highly internally but never going to be a star. There is some hope that in a lesser midfield he might do what Greenwood has done at GC though. We tend to overrate the value of players at other clubs IMO.
Sinclair is a strange one, he has great endurance, pace, clean hands, good footsills both sides and runs hard.

What he doesn’t do is take responsibility and hunt the ball, demand it when he’s in space. He’s also become almost paranoid about taking a shot on goal his first though is to give it off. Now most of his selfless team first stuff would be great if it was balanced with a consistent 20 possessions and a couple of scoring shots but it’s not. The way he’s turned it on late in games in the back half of the season shows how good he could be, we need that for 4 quarters every week.

The other thing about him is he’s like bloody lonie, overhead he has no game at all but again it appears it’s not that he can’t more that he’s been told to stay down so stay down he does. If rats and the coaching staff sit him down and tell him look you have the game step up and lead as a senior player and we want you to work on this etc then maybe he’ll be a big improver but if he keeps doing what he’s doing then sandy beckons.

He‘s not on his own we have a few who may find it harder to get a regular spot when the music stops after the trade period.

NB. I could have a rant about most of our team but sinclair is strange because it seems to be all mindset and sometimes positioning.

I reckon we'll trade it away so that Adelaide don't even have the option of it. Their best hope is that they promise to take on a couple of our fringe guys on big money and absorb their contracts so that we offer up more money and push them towards band one. It sounds like the AFL might not want to give them more regardless.
The AFL aren’t giving them pick 2 that’s just a drug induced dream on their part.

Yeah that wouldn’t surprise me if we did do that. All I’m saying is we can’t completely rule it out.

Sinclair is a strange one, he has great endurance, pace, clean hands, good footsills both sides and runs hard.

What he doesn’t do is take responsibility and hunt the ball, demand it when he’s in space. He’s also become almost paranoid about taking a shot on goal his first though is to give it off. Now most of his selfless team first stuff would be great if it was balanced with a consistent 20 possessions and a couple of scoring shots but it’s not. The way he’s turned it on late in games in the back half of the season shows how good he could be, we need that for 4 quarters every week.

The other thing about him is he’s like bloody lonie, overhead he has no game at all but again it appears it’s not that he can’t more that he’s been told to stay down so stay down he does. If rats and the coaching staff sit him down and tell him look you have the game step up and lead as a senior player and we want you to work on this etc then maybe he’ll be a big improver but if he keeps doing what he’s doing then sandy beckons.

He‘s not on his own we have a few who may find it harder to get a regular spot when the music stops after the trade period.

NB. I could have a rant about most of our team but sinclair is strange because it seems to be all mindset and sometimes positioning.

He's got the skill set to be a star but is hovering around the fringe of best 22. His ability to pick up a ground ball at top speed, his work in traffic and neat skills make him really valuable but it would be good if he could get the possession count up. I think the not taking shots is about instruction. He seems like a good soldier who does what he's told rather than a creator.

Agree, he's got lots of skill and isn't lazy so it's a little bit of a mystery why he can't take his game up a notch. Maybe it's that elusive 'footy IQ', but given his talents and endurance he could be a real weapon (not dissimilar to Caleb Daniel), but there's something missing obviously.

He's got the skill set to be a star but is hovering around the fringe of best 22. His ability to pick up a ground ball at top speed, his work in traffic and neat skills make him really valuable but it would be good if he could get the possession count up. I think the not taking shots is about instruction. He seems like a good soldier who does what he's told rather than a creator.
You can take the team soldier role too far and it doesn’t sit well with a very talented player.

He needs to back himself in not hand the ball off so geary, Ross, Jones etc can butcher the kick. Good teams make sure they have a plan to get it into the hands of blokes who can use it. Look let’s be honest hill couldn’t find the ball in several games because like Sinclair when he made space we still kicked it to Ross or a contest down the line. Even rats had to mention that we weren’t using him properly.

Early on Sinclair was a creator and impressed some of the ex players doing commentary so much that they were going full bruce about him. I blame cho he sucked the life out of half our team with his mate just chase and lay tackles rubbish.

I think he's potentially much better than a fringe player. It is really a surprise that he has only played 19 games. But he is still only 22 and the games he has played, his stats are pretty good. Be very happy to get him cheap.
Narkle would be a very good pick up.

He'd be on low wage, would cost little and has a high ceiling.

In the scenario that we do match, do you see St.Kilda walking away from the trade table completely then?

I still personally believe the offer will be enough to net us band one compo as it means you're not having to give up any assets and we wouldn't think about matching.

Still prefer we keep him if it's not a top 10 pick (given it will move down a handful of selections with academy/fs picks) as he's still one of our best players and it doesn't make much sense to give him away for a pick 20 odd in my opinion. Sticky point for us would likely be 4 v 5 years, you could hit that sweet spot where it lands us end of first round where we don't match.

Time will tell, we matched with Danger and did pretty poorly out of that trade so maybe I'll just end up as a disgruntled Crows supporter again.

For the poster who said there would be no guarantees of us taking a couple of the guys you might want to move to free up salary space, there is a 2 day overlap from the end of free agency and the start of the trade week so that scenario is possible regardless of how likely/unlikely we believe it to be.

Anyways, hope he plays some good footy for the Saints in the coming years.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

No player has ever had their contract matched. Not one. Yes there have been threats and Geelong ended up trading for Danger, but the fact is, it has never been done. I mean really, what organisation in the world is going to sign up someone to a high paying 5 year contract when they so publicly state that they don’t want to be there? Just not gonna happen. Would destroy the culture of the place even more.

Is there an overlapping window that would allow this? I can’t remember if FA ends before trading starts... so we wouldn’t be able to move 15 before Adel officially declares that they’ll match or not.

Its a moot point IMO as they’ll make some noise & then meekly accept the compo pick they get given.

Anyone else get that feeling that Gags, Satan and Gubby are upto something big?
This and also Collingwood are up to something, not sure both de Goey and Treloar are going to be their next season.