List Mgmt. 2021 List Management

Carlton did it with Martin

I have no idea why it's not used more

Of course a club would utilise it to mitigate excessive trade demands, but ultimately the departing player facilitates this. They have to be adamant that they are leaving.

I've heard this years top end of the draft is flush with talented mids. Surely we try and bring in 2-3 top 30 mids?

I really hope we give up on paying top dollar for players from other clubs.

Yup especially in the top 7 or 8 there’s several high quality goal kicking midfielders, Jason Horne 1st pick will be a great midfielder, Roberts , Johnson, Rachele, Daicos, Sonie, Sinn, list goes on , plenty of classy, midfielder potential. The only upside to our misery is, we should be able to snare a future gun.

Yup especially in the top 7 or 8 there several high quality goal kicking midfielders, Jason Horne 1st pick will be a great midfielder, Roberts , Johnson, Rachele, Daicos, Sonie, Sinn, list goes on , plenty of classy, midfielder potential. The only upside to our misery is, we should be able to snare a future gun.

The whole Cripps & McKay thing could end up being "a blessing in disguise".

I am of the view that Carlton went too early pulling the trigger on their initial rebuild before topping up. Sure there's been some bad luck, such as McGovern not delivering, but Martin was still somewhat speculative, as was Williams as a midfielder. Saad has been a good trade because the blues have played him to his strengths.

Please don't get emotional about this folks as it's just mental gymnastics and I am not trying to "sell" a proposition to anyone, but consider the following, if you are also of the opinion that the rebuild has been temporarily derailed:

Lets say Cripps leaves for a band 1 pick and McKay gets traded to North for 2021 2nd round pick & 2022 1st round pick.

- Carlton get band 1 for Cripps, then based upon current rankings they would have picks 6 & 7 (plus 25) in the draft.

- Carlton trade McKay to North for pick 20 (2021) and say pick 4-6 in 2022, then that gives them 6, 7, 20, 25 this year, and their own 1st round pick 2022 (4-8?) plus North's 1st round pick (4-6?).

2021: 6, 7, 20, 25. On current rankings this lands them Roberts, Gibcus, Razzo and another good kid.
2022: 4-6, 4-8, ~23-25. At least another 2 prime quality kids.

Carlton can well & truly correct the ship with this hand, PLUS they have significant coin to attract good players to replace Cripps & McKay. Now they have the powerful base in place to launch raids for players. I actually think Carlton would come out of this stronger than they are now if both players stay.

Again, just gymnastics folks. No incitement intended whatsoever.

The whole Cripps & McKay thing could end up being "a blessing in disguise".

I am of the view that Carlton went too early pulling the trigger on their initial rebuild before topping up. Sure there's been some bad luck, such as McGovern not delivering, but Martin was still somewhat speculative, as was Williams as a midfielder. Saad has been a good trade because the blues have played him to his strengths.

Please don't get emotional about this folks as it's just mental gymnastics and I am not trying to "sell" a proposition to anyone, but consider the following, if you are also of the opinion that the rebuild has been temporarily derailed:

Lets say Cripps leaves for a band 1 pick and McKay gets traded to North for 2021 2nd round pick & 2022 1st round pick.

- Carlton get band 1 for Cripps, then based upon current rankings they would have picks 6 & 7 (plus 25) in the draft.

- Carlton trade McKay to North for pick 20 (2021) and say pick 6-8 2022, then that gives them 6, 7, 20, 25 this year, and their own 1st round pick 2022 (4-8?) plus North's 1st round pick (4-6?).

2021: 6, 7, 20, 25. On current rankings this lands them Roberts, Gibcus, Razzo and another good kid.
2022: 4-6, 4-8, ~23-25. At least another 2 prime quality kids.

Carlton can well & truly correct the ship with this hand, PLUS they have significant coin to attract good players to replace Cripps & McKay. Now they have the powerful base in place to launch raids for players. I actually think Carlton would come out of this stronger than they are now if both players stay.

Again, just gymnastics folks. No incitement intended whatsoever.
You think McGovern is our major piece of bad luck?

A fit Charlie curnow changes the whole story.

You think McGovern is our major piece of bad luck?

A fit Charlie curnow changes the whole story.

Well yeah, that's another thing again.

It also strengthens the view that a mini rebuild period right now might be the better choice for the Blues.

Yeah giving up one of the top 2-3 key forwards in the comp who will be around for another 10 years is trading away your future not rebuilding.

Cripps you could sell me on, we need more speed in the middle and he doesn't help that, Mckay? Nope. He and Curnow together could form an unstoppable duo that could lead us to finals alone, pay him what he wants to keep him around

Curnow C , Mc Gov and Marchbank too would make a significant difference to our current fate, actually OMac too would help plenty .
Keep our fingers crossed, after the bye we can get some critical players on the park.
However I think we’d progress much quicker with new coach, one that’s hard edged, with higher footy lQ. At the end of it all , a fish starts to smell from the head.

Carlton did it with Martin

I have no idea why it's not used more
I don't entirely agree that Carlton did it with Martin. We put in an offer, and so did Gold Coast. Their proposal was deemed too high, so he decided to move into the PSD. I'd say that history would show that our offer to Gold Coast was more than reasonable given what he is showing he is capable of.

So if they decided they wanted to play together and Harry talked Ben to our way instead would you take our first for 2022?

There's the not so small issue of Carlton not having PSD 1, and the political situation at North is not as volatile as it currently is at Carlton.

Would I be happy with that? I think it's slightly unders, because it's unknown, but if the bloke was adamant about leaving you take what you can get. I suspect North would do that before they "walked" him to the PSD or ND. Life would go on.

If it was pick 6 this year then it would be a pretty fair trade. What's more is I think Carlton would have done it.

Trading McKay is a no brainer for me.

We should then use that pick to draft a tall forward and hope he develops into one of the best young forwards in the comp.

There's the not so small issue of Carlton not having PSD 1, and the political situation at North is not as volatile as it currently is at Carlton.

Would I be happy with that? I think it's slightly unders, because it's unknown, but if the bloke was adamant about leaving you take what you can get. I suspect North would do that before they "walked" him to the PSD or ND. Life would go on.

If it was pick 6 this year then it would be a pretty fair trade. What's more is I think Carlton would have done it.

I wasn’t trying to pick a fight, more interested in what you thought his value is

No worries mate.

For a rebuilding side to have a 10 year KPD lynchpin already locked in place, is a very significant factor for a root & branch rebuild. It's reasonable to debate whether Weitering or B-Mac are just as important, or even more important than a KPF when it comes to the platform of a rebuild. ALL I can state is that Ben's value to North is "high".

Carlton's youth is very good, and it hasn't contributed to the current scenario. IMO, it's about whether enough was invested in this aspect. Of course, they never all fire as expected, but the overall outcome certainly hasn't failed. I think the problem for most blues fans who think they should be contending right now, is the time it took to get it done, considering a lot of spec picks taken under Silvagni. It can give an impression that a draft rebuild has dragged out longer than it really did.

They’re twins. They finish each other’s sentences. They have a divine bond that goes beyond any earthly understanding.
Of course they’ll want to play together. And I expect Norf is a more enjoyable workplace right now that Princes Park. And I reckon there is a debate about who would achieve success first…it is not a fact that Carlton represents a better place to be
No they don’t. Forget about Harry and you imagine you are his brother. You are quietly working away, trying to be the best defender you can be. Your brother, your twin brother, who was taken as an earlier pick in the draft, who has become a household name as a forward and a potential star of the competition, now chooses to come to your club, be the big name recruit. You go from ‘having your thing’ and him ‘having his thing’ to being the ‘not as good brother’

they Asked to be drafted to different clubs for a reason.

No they don’t. Forget about Harry and you imagine you are his brother. You are quietly working away, trying to be the best defender you can be. Your brother, your twin brother, who was taken as an earlier pick in the draft, who has become a household name as a forward and a potential star of the competition, now chooses to come to your club, be the big name recruit. You go from ‘having your thing’ and him ‘having his thing’ to being the ‘not as good brother’

they Asked to be drafted to different clubs for a reason.

They wanted different destinations originally because they had the issue of both being slotted for the same positions, and therefore competing with each other.

I can tell you that it's not that way now, at least from Ben's perspective. There's a lot of arguments against any trade occurring, but not playing with each other is no longer one of them.

Seriously, are you lost Snake_Baker ? Most of us don’t need other team ‘expert posters’ telling us what needs to be done, as we do a very good job ourselves. Please don’t take this the wrong way but thanks for your input and goodbye. Regards SB.

I only speak for myself mate, and it's only one very hypothetical opinion. If I got you offside, then it certainly wasn't my intention.

They wanted different destinations originally because they had the issue of both being slotted for the same positions, and therefore competing with each other.

I can tell you that it's not that way now, at least from Ben's perspective. There's a lot of arguments against any trade occurring, but not playing with each other is no longer one of them.
Maybe not to their managers but I would bet my left leg their parents do not want them on the same side.

I’m very worried by North. He has a completely unimpeded path to play with his twin brother. He is at the start of his career so can build with the young players they are drafting and be part of their next tilt.
If they offer him a tonne of money, I’d think it would be hard to stop him going

Won’t happen, if Harry leaves it would be mainly because he believes another side is better and closer to success than us, and maybe a bit more cash.

North are one of the few sides you can categorically say are in a worse position than we are.

Delusional Norf fans never change.

#lolNorf

Harry is defintley going to re-sign with us, I wouldn't listen to any so called posters from other clubs who claim they have sources, they are clearly trying to wind us all up

The classic "hope I am wrong" get out clause. Say whatever garbage you like but then add "hope I am wrong". If you hope you're wrong, why say anything? You have zero knowledge of Charlie, his complex injury or his chances of getting back to pre-injury levels.

Do you want “I hope I’m right just so I can tell everyone here for years to come” written instead?

Of course everyone wants Charlie to come back and dominate.

List Mgmt. 2021 List Management