No Oppo Supporters 2022 General AFL Discussion

I reckon Richmond are already being overrated. They were overrated all year as genuine flag contenders and it comes down to their defence again. As a team and as a defensive unit. I don't see that changing over the course of this offseason.

M other contention is that they'd be better off moving Cotchin out of the side because their midfield is gonna be slow enough. Riewoldt holds a more valuable spot in the side because they're light for KPF's but I'd be angling to find his replacement quick smart too.
Any forwards out of contract at the Gold Coast they might want?

I reckon Richmond are already being overrated. They were overrated all year as genuine flag contenders and it comes down to their defence again. As a team and as a defensive unit. I don't see that changing over the course of this offseason.

M other contention is that they'd be better off moving Cotchin out of the side because their midfield is gonna be slow enough. Riewoldt holds a more valuable spot in the side because they're light for KPF's but I'd be angling to find his replacement quick smart too.
I tend to agree. Neither Richmond supporters or the media seem to fully grasp that the ride is over (at least for a little while).

We've seen it with every team that's won multiple flags in quick succession where people seem to think plugging a few holes in the list will see them contending again.

At least they've traded in players who'll still be in their prime after a couple of years down the ladder if that's what happens. With their list profile there's no reason why they can't be contending again in a few years if they play things well.

Tigers top 6 for me

Port to jump back into the 8

Adams amd Mitchell will add to the mid group of the pies along with the daicos movement.
Mcstay is average af though and Sidebottom is finished.

Dunkley to lions is huge imo and taking pressure of Neale, obviously Ashcroft will be a player but to young for expectations.
Also think Gunston will straighten them up and be there best forward even at his age.

Grundy is huge if fit for Melbourne and I reckon hunter might surprise a few of the wing

Geelong for back to back

Tigers certainly in contention for top 6, agreed. Port I reckon are about the same, maybe a touch higher and could go top 4 but they still rely way too much on Dixon imo. Plus their backline is still too small, Aliir is their best one on one tall and he's better off as a CHB/interceptor so I'm questioning there. If they'd gotten Ratugolea to play FB, I'd be liking their chances more tbh.

No way Collingwood are as good next year as they were this year - too many victories by small margins which historically is an anomaly. They'll take a step back next year with more teams working out how best to tackle them.

Brisbane's additions were great, they should be absolutely gunning to go one better next year if they stay fit.

I don't think Grundy fixes what Melbourne need to fix; their forward line was nowhere near good enough and neither Gawn or Grundy are proper forwards. McDonald back will help. Definitely flag contenders.

Geelong looking good again but I do think Selwood still meant a lot to that side. Henry and Bruhn it wouldn't surprise me if they struggle to stay in the side given how old and experienced the players around them are. I doubt they'll go back to back.

I tend to agree. Neither Richmond supporters or the media seem to fully grasp that the ride is over (at least for a little while).

We've seen it with every team that's won multiple flags in quick succession where people seem to think plugging a few holes in the list will see them contending again.

At least they've traded in players who'll still be in their prime after a couple of years down the ladder if that's what happens. With their list profile there's no reason why they can't be contending again in a few years if they play things well.

Agreed - you can't turn back time and regain the aura/momentum around that 2017-2020 version of Richmond. Not happening imo.

To be frank, I think both Hopper and Taranto are being overrated too. They're both certainly good players and Taranto I think you could happily say is a really good player but neither have ever been forced to defend and be accountable at the Giants and I doubt it's about to start at the Tigers when all the eyes are gonna be on them to take this side back to flag contention.

Would post this on the main board but it's not my content so I don't want to claim it but this is a spreadsheet on home ground crowds as a percentage of the capacity of the venue:

LWYUeMW.png

Yes this does account for home games at different stadiums. No surprise Geelong are at the top. We are 5th averaging 61% of home ground capacity which is pretty sweet if you ask me

Interesting Melbourne and Richmond so low

Would post this on the main board but it's not my content so I don't want to claim it but this is a spreadsheet on home ground crowds as a percentage of the capacity of the venue:

LWYUeMW.png

Yes this does account for home games at different stadiums. No surprise Geelong are at the top. We are 5th averaging 61% of home ground capacity which is pretty sweet if you ask me

Interesting Melbourne and Richmond so low
FFS can the AFL please just get rid of North and GWS already

They can become the Great Northern Westerners and play out of New Zealand

I say go hard or go home. There's a Collingwood and a Richmond on the South Island, just relocate one of them. Imagine the Hardwick press conferences, given the CBD was too far to traverse for many fans, see how they go with the Tasman.

Of course, passport requirements might dim the membership base.

In all seriousness - Suns to Darwin, North to Tassie, GWS about 100km east.

I say go hard or go home. There's a Collingwood and a Richmond on the South Island, just relocate one of them. Imagine the Hardwick press conferences, given the CBD was too far to traverse for many fans, see how they go with the Tasman.

Of course, passport requirements might dim the membership base.

In all seriousness - Suns to Darwin, North to Tassie, GWS about 1000km east.
I like that idea Bloods86. AFL expansion. Bring in a combined Pacific AFL team.

Tigers top 6 for me

Port to jump back into the 8

Adams amd Mitchell will add to the mid group of the pies along with the daicos movement.
Mcstay is average af though and Sidebottom is finished.

Dunkley to lions is huge imo and taking pressure of Neale, obviously Ashcroft will be a player but to young for expectations.
Also think Gunston will straighten them up and be there best forward even at his age.

Grundy is huge if fit for Melbourne and I reckon hunter might surprise a few of the wing

Geelong for back to back
Tigers just remind me of what Hawthorn when going after Mitchell and O'meara.

Might bounce, but it'll be a dead cat bounce.

I'm not scared of Collingwood, but I do think Lions, Demons, and Cats will be dangerous next year.

I don't think Bulldogs or Collingwood make top 8 next year, and I think Tigers very possibly miss out as well. I like PA, Carlton. One of Geelong or Melbourne miss the top 4 imo.

Everyone predicts teams to go back to back, but it's more likely that another team wins than goes back to back.

Tigers just remind me of what Hawthorn when going after Mitchell and O'meara.

Might bounce, but it'll be a dead cat bounce.

I'm not scared of Collingwood, but I do think Lions, Demons, and Cats will be dangerous next year.
Lions, it will come down to whether they perform in big games consistently, not a given. They might beat us in H&A, but I'd be confident going up against them in finals.

Pies, I don't think would bridge the gap to us by adding Mitchell and taking midfield time away from someone else. Also will have a harder draw and teams will respect them more than a few did this year.

Dees, they'll be up there again, but I don't think their changes improve them necessarily. If they went from no ruck to Grundy, sure.

Cats, I don't think get improved as such, but Bowes, Bruhn and pick 7 will help them extend being competitive after 2023/24, when you'd imagine they face "a few" key retirements.

Edit: For us, as has been said, we have a bunch of internal improvement. The key will be getting Bud, Hickey (or Ladhams), and Rampe through a full, or almost full year. Or failing that, having Logan and an untried Gould or new Francis, stepping up big time.

I don't think Bulldogs or Collingwood make top 8 next year, and I think Tigers very possibly miss out as well. I like PA, Carlton. One of Geelong or Melbourne miss the top 4 imo.

Everyone predicts teams to go back to back, but it's more likely that another team wins than goes back to back.
I'm starting to think there's no particular method or approach that works to winning a flag. It's just sorta this unexplainable chemistry where the team clicks and there's no guarantee you'll find it again.

14 Richmond players played in a game where they lost by 113 points to secure their 13th place finish, 12 months before those same 14 Richmond players won premiership medals.

Melbourne had what I still think was the best premiership campaign of the last ten years in 2021. But 20 of those players from that team that eventually won their flag were out there in the semi-final when they were bundled out in straight sets.

Geelong got absolutely belted in the preliminary final in 2021, but 18 of those same players were in the same side that belted us in the grand final.

Hawthorn complete their three-peat in 2015, and a year later, 16 of those same players are part of a Hawthorn team that goes out in straight sets. Brisbane complete their three-peat in 2003, and a year later, 17 of those same players are part of a Brisbane team that gets beaten handily in a grand final. What's the reason behind two in a row being achievable, three in a row being manageable, but four in a row seemingly being a bridge too far?

Tipping a flag winner has become a nightmare, because logic suggests that when you find a winning formula, you should just be able to bottle it up and use it again the following year. And logic also suggests that if you're such a long way off winning a flag then it should take longer than one pre-season to remedy it.

And yet...

I'm starting to think there's no particular method or approach that works to winning a flag. It's just sorta this unexplainable chemistry where the team clicks and there's no guarantee you'll find it again.

14 Richmond players played in a game where they lost by 113 points to secure their 13th place finish, 12 months before those same 14 Richmond players won premiership medals.

Melbourne had what I still think was the best premiership campaign of the last ten years in 2021. But 20 of those players from that team that eventually won their flag were out there in the semi-final when they were bundled out in straight sets.

Geelong got absolutely belted in the preliminary final in 2021, but 18 of those same players were in the same side that belted us in the grand final.

Hawthorn complete their three-peat in 2015, and a year later, 16 of those same players are part of a Hawthorn team that goes out in straight sets. Brisbane complete their three-peat in 2003, and a year later, 17 of those same players are part of a Brisbane team that gets beaten handily in a grand final. What's the reason behind two in a row being achievable, three in a row being manageable, but four in a row seemingly being a bridge too far?

Tipping a flag winner has become a nightmare, because logic suggests that when you find a winning formula, you should just be able to bottle it up and use it again the following year. And logic also suggests that if you're such a long way off winning a flag then it should take longer than one pre-season to remedy it.

And yet...
There are so many variables involved that it's difficult to continue to get the recipe right continuously over a four-year period. Even for an individual player, how consistently can one person apply themselves to training, improving, eating well, balancing their personal lives etc. to get the best out of themselves over a 4 year period. Multiply that out to the x amount of players who move in and out of a team's best 22-26 players each year over the course of 4 years.

• Team wins, there's always potential that they'll lose hunger (i.e. Melbourne). I personally think Melbourne hit a hot streak towards the end of 2021 and rode that all the way to the finals, but lack of hunger, a few injuries & behavioural issues brought them back to the pack pretty quickly.
  • Richmond going from dunces to premiers is an interesting one, but perhaps based on players losing belief in 2016, but taking that incremental step and belief following on from there.
  • Hawthorn got the most out of their group, 3 straight is a huge achievement. Their bellies were full, age / injuries started getting to them. Had they beat us in 2012, 4-peat was definitely on the cards, however, we probably would have squared up in 2014.

BRETT Ratten is set to depart as St Kilda coach.

AFL.com.au
understands the Saints are set to part ways with Ratten, having gone through a recent review of the club's football operations.

It comes just months after he signed a two-year extension with the Saints in July through to the end of 2024.

Call me old fashioned but I prefer the way our club goes about it.

EDIT; Nathan Buckley, Geoff Walsh's old mate, in after an extensive process of course?