Training 2022 Training Reports

The biggest issue I see for all our young guys and injured players who haven’t got a spot in the preseason games is they have no where to play to press their case for a game. The VFL starts one week after the AFL and the SANFL starts two weeks after, but the WAFL doesn’t start until 4 weeks after the AFL. WTF? What do all our guys who are likely to miss round one like Amiss, Eramus, Walker, Hamling, Sturt, Blakely, Hughes, Aish, Tucker,Meek, O’Driscoll, Worner do???…..just sit around getting no match fitness and no chance to show there wares!! Even the ammo’s start two weeks before the WAFL maybe we enter a team in G grade

That's interesting, I live interstate and wasn't aware the WAFL had such a late start, just assumed it kicked off the same time.

The biggest issue I see for all our young guys and injured players who haven’t got a spot in the preseason games is they have no where to play to press their case for a game. The VFL starts one week after the AFL and the SANFL starts two weeks after, but the WAFL doesn’t start until 4 weeks after the AFL. WTF? What do all our guys who are likely to miss round one like Amiss, Eramus, Walker, Hamling, Sturt, Blakely, Hughes, Aish, Tucker,Meek, O’Driscoll, Worner do???…..just sit around getting no match fitness and no chance to show there wares!! Even the ammo’s start two weeks before the WAFL maybe we enter a team in G grade

The wafl has three weeks of pre season games so the boys who miss out on selection will be able to get match fit playing those games, just like what the afl is doing now.

There is a bit of a logjam of sides who could push into the 8, and the likes of Carlton, Hawthorn and Essendon would be the headlines.

Slipping under the radar is also the better option for now.
Hawks are no chance, bottom two awaits them.

This is a great argument for some form of AFL development league where the AFL would sync its fixture to suit the AFL season, and not the needs of the state league clubs

I've only watched highlight vids of games back than. What's wrong with Des?
Des Headland had a lot of talent. And the 10mins of highlights were great. But the other 90 minutes of the game, Des could go missing.

In his defence, however, he did suffer some chronic leg injuries which restricted his output in the second part of his career. It seemed as if he he could never really get going in his later years.

He played his best footy at Brisbane where their engine room could get him the ball on the outside and he could use some great skills to link between midfield and forwards.

If we can get that kind of play out of someone, then that would be great! We have the engine room to create the supply.

This is a great argument for some form of AFL development league where the AFL would sync its fixture to suit the AFL season, and not the needs of the state league clubs
I prefer we support the wafl and try to make that competition better. Hasn’t helped the Eagles with their own club.
The wafl standard is pretty good and if your good enough you get to play against
Men.
Besides the players get to play scratchies for Freo or Peel.
It’s a long season,and it’s why JLo doesn’t usually debut kids in the first round.

Isn’t the WAFL season aligned so it doesn’t finish too early?
So there’s still a second division running around finals for players to press their case late in the season?

Des Headland had a lot of talent. And the 10mins of highlights were great. But the other 90 minutes of the game, Des could go missing.

In his defence, however, he did suffer some chronic leg injuries which restricted his output in the second part of his career. It seemed as if he he could never really get going in his later years.

He played his best footy at Brisbane where their engine room could get him the ball on the outside and he could use some great skills to link between midfield and forwards.

If we can get that kind of play out of someone, then that would be great! We have the engine room to create the supply.
Thank you for explaining!

I've only watched highlight vids of games back than. What's wrong with Des?

Massive front runner. Looked better than he was at Brisbane since they were ridiculously stacked in midfield and he got no attention. As such, he was quite underwhelming when he was here.

Like most Freo acquisitions, adding the cream before the foundation is set.
Club finally did a rebuild properly, without being seduced by outside talent.

There is a bit of a logjam of sides who could push into the 8, and the likes of Carlton, Hawthorn and Essendon would be the headlines.

Slipping under the radar is also the better option for now.
Hawthorn will be lucky not to be bottom four this season.

That engine room was Voss, Black. Hart, Lappin, Akermanis and Power.
Joel Corey wore the brunt of Voss once and it destroyed his shoulder.
Arguably the greatest midfield ever seen in AFL.

That engine room was Voss, Black. Hart, Lappin, Akermanis and Power.
Joel Corey wore the brunt of Voss once and it destroyed his shoulder.
Arguably the greatest midfield ever seen in AFL.

There is no arguably about it. That Brisbane midfield is the best midfield the league has seen and that entire side is the best there has been (at least in the AFL era). People will make the case for Geelong under Bomber but that Brisbane side would flog that Geelong side.

I’m putting my head out there with this but midfields include a ruckman and I reckon the Eagles mid 2000’s side could have a say in this argument. Lining them up head to head below;

Voss vs Cousins - [emoji662]️
Black vs Kerr - [emoji662]️
Lappin vs Judd - Judd[emoji736]
Power vs Fletcher - Power[emoji819]️
Clark Keating vs Cox = Cox[emoji736]
Ackermanis vs Embley [emoji662]️
Hart vs Chick/Braun = Hart[emoji819]️

I reckon head to head it could be a dead heat. I know Kerr vs Black is controversial but Kerr was runner-up in Brownlow twice.

I expect a lot of missiles coming my way especially as we are supposed to hate Eagles

I’m putting my head out there with this but midfields include a ruckman and I reckon the Eagles mid 2000’s side could have a say in this argument. Lining them up head to head below;

I reckon head to head it could be a dead heat. I know Kerr vs Black is controversial but Kerr was runner-up in Brownlow twice.

I expect a lot of missiles coming my way especially as we are supposed to hate Eagles

2003 GF side had Caracella, Ashcroft on the interchange bench😜

Totally agree on Judd over lappin and if you wanted to argue that eagles Judd was the best player out of the group and a better player than 01-03 Voss I could hear an argument (though because of my personal bias, I'd take Voss due to leadership).

I can't agree with Black v Kerr - Black won a brownlow and was runner up twice, played 300 plus games, won a norm smith. Acker is a billion times better player than Embley and that is easily your worst comparison. Embley was a good winger, did quite a lot of nice stuff, whereas Acker could blow a game open in 5 minutes. He's a knob but was one of the most gifted players of the last 20 years.

Where the eagles have the edge is in the ruck and in their midfield depth, as they probably batted quite a few deeper. The backline and forward lines are a no contest though.

Voss, Black, and Aker are all better than the Eagles players you have them up against. Judd and Cox are the only 2 that are better.

People forget how good Voss was, especially Voss pre his broken leg in 98. He wasn't quite the freak explosive athlete that say Judd was but he was pretty absurd and then reinvented his game once he lost that explosiveness from 99 onwards.