- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
- Other Teams
- Sth Freo
Erasmus is gonna be a beast
Yeah..those attacking handballs out to a player while he is being tackled to the ground is very Fyfe like.

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 13
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Erasmus is gonna be a beast
I'm pretty sure I read an article on the club website last week that mentioned Worner coming over and completing our list. Not sure if referring to the fact he's the last current squad member to link up with the squad or that we are done.Never was
We haven't had any actual train ons competing for list spots yet, just Peel players who were thanked by the club in a post on Insta the other day
We are cutting it close to getting a train on tbh, season is a month away
Henry looked super quick there
Every Hawks supporter that I bumped into the night after the 2013 GF was super polite and empathetic. Probably helped that they had lost the GF the previous year.I was once in Melbourne with a group of mates getting ready to barrack for Freo vs the Hawks. We were 0 wins - 16 losses going into that match and the taxi driver warned us against upsetting the locals. I thought FFS....anyway after the win, I must say supporters were generally good to us and we even had a bloke whose team was Carlton buy us a beer! Pav kicked 4 and JLo 5 that day.
Put it this way - being objective - if we had to lose one of the four Victorian lads who were going to be our engine room how would you order your level of anger/upset if they left. For me it's:In regards to Cerra, I think he is a work in progress. He will become a much better than average player.
Sadly he wanted, needed to go home. I fully understand his position.
But, I believe that we have the players in our squad that will make his departure a non event.
We have recruited well and we can cover his loss.
Am I disappointed the he left, yes I am . But can't help bad luck.
we have his leaving covered in more ways than one.
I reckon its more that we'd come to terms with him problem leaving a long time ago (some on draft night). The other three seem to bleed purple so it would be tear your heart out stuff if they leftPut it this way - being objective - if we had to lose one of the four Victorian lads who were going to be our engine room how would you order your level of anger/upset if they left. For me it's:
1: Darcy - tear up my membership levels of disgust
2: Serong - instantly despise whatever team he joins on a par with the Eagles
3: Brayshaw - shout, scream, cry and be very pi$$ed off
4: Cerra - troll Blues fans on BigFooty
He's a loss without doubt - but not compared to the other three.
Agreed - but it helps that the other three are already performing slightly higher than he was.I reckon its more that we'd come to terms with him problem leaving a long time ago (some on draft night). The other three seem to bleed purple so it would be tear your heart out stuff if they left
I think he spoke about it publicly a while back. Said it would be a part of history for those involved.But the locker thing could very well be correct.Agreed - but it helps that the other three are already performing slightly higher than he was.
On a related matter - maybe my mind is playing tricks with me, but wasn't there are photo of a note on the inside of Serong's locker a few months ago about him being driven to lift Freo's first ever flag.
I am sure that is what he was referring to, but also , I think that the club are just happy to have him get to WA as they ,in my opinion, believe he could be a player that will be able to play a number of roles and have an big impact.I'm pretty sure I read an article on the club website last week that mentioned Worner coming over and completing our list. Not sure if referring to the fact he's the last current squad member to link up with the squad or that we are done.
So the team is training at optus closed training all week this week. Relying on the media team for some training report sustainance.... Feelsbadman.
In accord with much of your post, E Shed, except for Cerra being hard at the contest. My take was that he tended to hover just outside the contest.Just in Cerra, I was a big fan which would come as no surprise to anyone familiar with my posting over the years.
Unlike Mr Lyon I do tend to be seduced by talent & the smooth movers catch my eye. I get the most pleasure watching graceful athletes hence my favorite ever player being S Hill. I can watch his match sealing goal against Geelong over & over. That running style & the almost casual finish. But I digress.
What impressed me most with Cerra beyond the footy IQ, decision making & exquisite kicking was hard he is. Never shirks a contest. Not stupid brave but always goes when it’s his ball & takes the hit when necessary. Smart tough.
The one thing he’s yet to do is rack up numbers. If he gets to consistent 30’s he’s going to be a weapon. If not he’ll still be very good but not elite.
Wish he’d stayed but Erasmus looks even better at this point of things.
3rd qtr? You’re not trying hard enough. If you haven’t lost your voice by half time you need to put in more effort!I remember a few times, first finals win v Melbourne in 2003 and the prelim v Sydney in 2013 where I lost my voice completely by 3qtr time. No ragrats.

I think the hovering around contest is why he's not racking up numbers but its not because he's soft. My point is he's not afraid of contact and doesn't shirk it but he's not necessarily got the eye of the tiger like Andy or Serong who always want to go in and win it. Erasmus seems to have this too.In accord with much of your post, E Shed, except for Cerra being hard at the contest. My take was that he tended to hover just outside the contest.
When we knew he was leaving I watched his game for this with bitter vigilance and told myself (and others too, I regret to say) that for all his skill I wouldn't miss that part of it....
It's all about that staying power mate.3rd qtr? You’re not trying hard enough. If you haven’t lost your voice by half time you need to put in more effort!![]()
In what ways do you see Erasmus surpassing Cez? I haven't been paying much attention to him.Just in Cerra, I was a big fan which would come as no surprise to anyone familiar with my posting over the years.
Unlike Mr Lyon I do tend to be seduced by talent & the smooth movers catch my eye. I get the most pleasure watching graceful athletes hence my favorite ever player being S Hill. I can watch his match sealing goal against Geelong over & over. That running style & the almost casual finish. But I digress.
What impressed me most with Cerra beyond the footy IQ, decision making & exquisite kicking was hard he is. Never shirks a contest. Not stupid brave but always goes when it’s his ball & takes the hit when necessary. Smart tough.
The one thing he’s yet to do is rack up numbers. If he gets to consistent 30’s he’s going to be a weapon. If not he’ll still be very good but not elite.
Wish he’d stayed but Erasmus looks even better at this point of things.
In what ways do you see Erasmus surpassing Cez? I haven't been paying much attention to him.
What type of player could he be compared to?See my post above. Eye of the tiger, wants to be in everything & wants to take responsibility.
Not going to be as good a kick but few are but does everything to a good level. With Brayshaw & Serong that’s a tough, skillful inside starting 3 who won’t take a backward step.