News 2023 Injuries, Suspensions, and Concussion Protocols

Crazy thing is, Marlion Pickett goes ahead and gets done for assault and robbery and cops bail and will be back before Sicily. Hahahhahahahahah game is cooked.

This game is absolutely ****ed. Great job Gil and friends

Hawks 100% should appeal this. Blues should offer Crippa’s lawyer, these things are the only contests we’re good at winning

3 weeks for that tackle is ridiculous, the same as De Goey's suspension and a week more than Pickett's for head high bumps, I hope the Hawks appeal.

If they don't appeal or the appeal isn't successful that will be another trade down the drain, I can't afford to hold Sicily for 3 games plus a bye as well.

Even if they appeal I can’t see 3 weeks getting wiped off. Likely still get 1 week.

Yeah the Hawks might get it down to 2 weeks or even 1 week on appeal but I can't see the tribunal wiping off the suspension completely.

Wow on the basis of Sicdog getting 3 weeks for that tackle and Mansell the same for a very good bump that was marginal as a free kick we have a very real issue that we have moved to a minimal/no contact of the head by all means policy.

Shift in focus to reduce AFL liability in future claims, you'd reckon.
'We implemented penalties to deter such incidents, issued guidance, ...'
Surely that's the angle.
Got **** all to do with gauging intent anymore
Don't like it, but it is what it is, I guess.

I don’t watch a great deal of footy but I swear to god I’ve seen quite a few players shirk the contest or take short steps.
I doubt they’re afraid of the contact but they are afraid of the tribunal. This is what the AFL wants…it’s a different game.

Tribunal's reasons for decision:

Sicily clung on and rotated McCluggage across his body. Tyler Brockman leapt across the back of the rotating McCluggage and made contact with him.
Sicily kept clinging onto McCluggage and kept rotating him. We do not accept Brockman’s involvement caused an otherwise safe tackle to be dangerous.
Sicily continuing to rotate McCluggage, pulling him down on his left arm and pinning his left arm caused this tackle to be dangerous.

He could’ve released the left arm. Had he done so, McCluggage would not have been rotated across his body into the ground with such force.
As to the first, it may be that Brockman’s involvement changed the force of the impact, but we can't be sufficiently satisfied as to the extent.

So let me get this straight .. Sicily has less than 1.05 seconds to release the arm after being shoved into a diving tackle to help safely get Clugga down, how is that possible?

Secondly, that statement of not being ‘sufficiently satisfied’ is the biggest pre determined croc of BS I have ever heard. The biomechanist also stated that it was completely true that it impacted the entire tackle, yet they throw it out because why??????

**** the AFL seriously.

Shift in focus to reduce AFL liability in future claims, you'd reckon.
'We implemented penalties to deter such incidents, issued guidance, ...'
Surely that's the angle.
Got * all to do with gauging intent anymore
Don't like it, but it is what it is, I guess.

I wonder what the AFL are going to do when a player who doesn't protect themselves gets seriously injured (as could easily have happened to Mansell), then sues claiming that not only the rules of the game don't allow them to protect themselves from harm, but also that there is precedence that under the rules of the game, protecting yourself from harm risks both income and opportunities?

It's a double edged sword and they better be very careful about what precedents they set.

I wonder what the AFL are going to do when a player who doesn't protect themselves gets seriously injured (as could easily have happened to Mansell), then sues claiming that not only the rules of the game not allow them to protect themselves from harm, but also that there is precedence that under the rules of the game, protecting yourself from harm risks both income and opportunities?

It's a double edged sword and they better be very careful about what precedents they set.
They've opened up Pandora's floodgate of worms, they always lay the tracks down while the train is already heading along the line.
And wonder every time how on earth they ended up in this dilly of a pickle 🌈

Here for the Sicily melts as a non-owner...

Girl Smile GIF

no

if you remember correctly , he was some noo noo backstop that just scragged players rather than a see ball get ball kinda guy
I distinctly remember Michael Christian, mate, I was just being a knob.

Apologies.

Speaking of Christian, he will have to sleep with the lights on after that reprehensible decision to rule Sic-Dawg out for THREE ****IN WEEKS!

The BF SC fam will most certainly be hunting him down as we speak, torch and pitchfork aplenty.

JPgtNFQO.gif

Absolute ****ing joke… tearing at the fabric of the game with these decisions.

Don’t these idiots know how hard it is not only to be a Blues supporter, but a reputable and highly-credentialed SuperCoach as well?!

This season can well and truly get in the dumpster.

Here for the Sicily melts as a non-owner...

Girl Smile GIF
Mate I am a non-owner as well, but this particular decision is Bollox

Complete and utter Bollox

Speaking of, haven’t seen Bollox around for a while, hope they are ok.

Mate I am a non-owner as well, but this particular decision is Bollox

Complete and utter Bollox

Speaking of, haven’t seen Bollox around for a while, hope they are ok.
You'll need to repost this in Japanese for Bollox .....talk about trying to get as far away from SC ....some will go to any lengths