Prediction 2023 Ladder Prediction Thread

They had all seven of those guys when they finished 9th. You need plenty more than a good top few

Weitering had a serious shoulder injury and played injured back half of the season

Walsh had syndesmosis early in the season..will be much better next season

Curnow played his first full season in over 4 years..he will be even better next season

Doherty came back from cancer..will be even better next season

Whilst their elite players played most of the season, they had a lot of the very good players miss a lot of footy..guys like hewett, Kennedy, Cerra, Williams all missed chunks. That group compliment the elite guys perfectly.

Weitering had a serious shoulder injury and played injured back half of the season

Walsh had syndesmosis early in the season..will be much better next season

Curnow played his first full season in over 4 years..he will be even better next season

Doherty came back from cancer..will be even better next season

Whilst their elite players played most of the season, they had a lot of the very good players miss a lot of footy..guys like hewett, Kennedy, Cerra, Williams all missed chunks. That group compliment the elite guys perfectly.
Crazy Vossy is their coach so I reckon they'll miss finals again. Worst coach in the AFL by plenty and he'll waste all this Carlton talent.

1. Brisbane
2. Melbourne
3. Carlton
4. Sydney
5. Geelong
6. Richmond
7. Fremantle
8. Port Adelaide

9. Collingwood
10. Gold Coast
11. Western Bulldogs
12. Adelaide
13. West Coast
14. North Melbourne
15. Essendon
16. GWS
17. St.Kilda
18. Hawthorn

Very confident on that being the top 6, with a fight for places between 7-11 for the remaining two spots.

Hawthorn will finish last in my opinion. Collingwood come back to the pack, Carlton rise and GC right in the mix for finals are my main talking points here.
Second last? Really? Wow.

Brisbane 19-4
Geelong 18-5
Carlton 17-6
Richmond 16-7
Melbourne 15-8
Sydney 14-9
Western bulldogs 14-9
Fremantle 13-10

Port Adelaide 12-11
Collingwood 12-11
Gold Coast 11-12
Essendon 11-12
St kilda 9-14
Adelaide 8-15
West coast 8-15
Gws 7-16
Hawthorn 6-17
North Melbourne 5-18

Your dreaming if you think the spoon winner gets to 5 wins this season with Harley Reid on the board next year.

It will be a race to the bottom for a few clubs after Round 6-7.

18th and 17th likely to get 2/3 wins imo.

That's what I am thinking too. The worst part of the rebuild was done when the crows finished bottom in 2020.

I won't be surprised if crows get 10 or 11 wins.

Hell of they get 12 wins and 9th or 10th.

Then in 2024 they get finals. Crazy to think crows have spent 5 years in a row of no finals.

Very likely we do. We seem like we're heading for a couple of years of no-mans-land finishes that Fremantle endured before bouncing.

There has been some news in the last couple of days which you may have heard....
Yep made a few vids on it - one specifically about the fact we have cover in the tall man department. He's extremely valuable, but he's only likely to miss the first 4-6 weeks. It's not the whole season like everyone is making it out to be.

We are incredibly Max-centric in large portions of most games when other blokes are free and leading, so if anything this allows us to hopefully lower our eyes and identify the best option, not just the tallest. Ross also has essentially the ENTIRE pre-season to work out the best structure and players to cover the loss of Max.

But fair opinion nonetheless.

Yep made a few vids on it - one specifically about the fact we have cover in the tall man department. He's extremely valuable, but he's only likely to miss the first 4-6 weeks. It's not the whole season like everyone is making it out to be.

We are incredibly Max-centric in large portions of most games when other blokes are free and leading, so if anything this allows us to hopefully lower our eyes and identify the best option, not just the tallest. Ross also has essentially the ENTIRE pre-season to work out the best structure and players to cover the loss of Max.

But fair opinion nonetheless.

Who covers him in your opinion? Hayes coming back from a knee reconstruction doesnt help either.

I think he will miss the first 8 to 10 games.

Also, i had St.kilda bottom 4 prior to the injury to King, so it has only reshuffled the positions at the bottom of the ladder.

Not sold on saints for 2023 but will have a better 2024 got Lyon there helps.

Not much will change in 2023 TBH.

Apart from Blues making it so 1 comes out i feel its Freo or Dogs.

The rest is the same just the order thats all.

Your dreaming if you think the spoon winner gets to 5 wins this season with Harley Reid on the board next year.

It will be a race to the bottom for a few clubs after Round 6-7.

18th and 17th likely to get 2/3 wins imo.
Is Harley Reid the next edition of the generational draftee that seems to come around every two years?

Nobody will tank for one player no matter how good he is

As a 17 year old, Reid is well ahead of what Rowell or O'Meara were doing

Not really.

O'Meara was taken in the mini draft at 17 and was an underage All-Australian.

He'd won a local football Senior Grand Final BOG medal at 16.

Daniel Wells was second in the Sandover at Reid's age.

It's not unprecedented. I think his total game and physical attributes are what appeal more than how good he is at 17.

Not really.

O'Meara was taken in the mini draft at 17 and was an underage All-Australian.

He'd won a local football Senior Grand Final BOG medal at 16.

Daniel Wells was second in the Sandover at Reid's age.

It's not unprecedented. I think his total game and physical attributes are what appeal more than how good he is at 17.

I don't read too much into awards and while Reid may not be a generational player, I'm picking him to be way more influential than both Rowell (never rated him top 6 in his draft year) or O'Meara

My honest view on Carlton - i still think the Blues need a breakout win - a crushing big win against a genuine top 4 team - then i will be convinced - and im not talking about Round i upsets where anything can happen

So say 2/3rds through the year they play ( and say assuming Rich/Geel/Coll/Melb are near the top of the ladder ) Carlton beat/flog/annihilate one of those sides at the MCG by 10-12 goals - then im convinced - alah - you cant play that well and not be a big chance for the flag

And when Carlton were winning all those premierships in earlier decades - they use to put in those type of performances regularly in the home and away season
Carlton are zero chance for a flag next year. They need to make finals first, then win a final. After that, they can start hoping they can go all the way the next year as hardened finals teams will eat them alive.

I had St kilda 11th on last years ladder prediction and St kilda fans abused me over it for months. Come round 5 I got about 20 tags saying that they were going to win the premiership and that I was "Re****ed" my only response was "It's a long season" and they ended up finishing 10th xD

I didn't see what all the hype was about back then and I see it even less here now. 🤷‍♂️

Very likely we do. We seem like we're heading for a couple of years of no-mans-land finishes that Fremantle endured before bouncing.
I dislike the term no man's land. Worst thing you can do is finish 9th or 10th or 11th unless you have a young squad or an experienced squad that will have upside to improve quickly.

No shame for the crows finishing 9th or 10th or 11th in 2023, then make finals with a 7th placed finish in 2024, then an injury riddled 10th placed spot in 2025 then finals in 2026-29.

It's always tight those 7th-12th place spots.

Teams like Essendon, saints and dogs and GWS in recent years make finals one year and miss out the next

I don't read too much into awards and while Reid may not be a generational player, I'm picking him to be way more influential than both Rowell (never rated him top 6 in his draft year) or O'Meara
Funny how Jaeger O Meara is on a Freo list now.

Another guy that was apparently a gun player at 17 years old and currently on freos list is James Aish.

Aish at 17 played in a SANFL premiership with Norwood in 2012.

Goes to Brisbane for 2-3 years. Spends a few years at Collingwood and is been on freos list for at least 2 years

Prediction 2023 Ladder Prediction Thread