Training 2024 training updates.

• Thread starter Thread starter Jen2310

In a strange turn of events. None of the SSP’s are here at all.

They make a decision early and letting them know who gets the nod?

The only reason you wouldn't turn up is if you've been told not to, surely?
Interesting to see what comes of this...

Can't remember how early it was last year, but Oleg was off to try out at the Blues last year when we made the call, so we can't have left the decision until the end. Could happen soon.

Unless they are just doing something together away from the club this morning, letting them know now gives those who didn't get the nod an opportunity to be picked up by another club before the Feb 19 deadline...?

Is that feasible or am I assuming we are too kind & thoughtful, lol?

Can't remember how early it was last year, but Oleg was off to try out at the Blues last year when we made the call, so we can't have left the decision until the end. Could happen soon.
Didn't the club sign Steene up early because Saints had made him an offer ..

You could be right, but if a decision is made early it's fairer on the players - eg. markov was going to get another chance somewhere else. TBH, unless you are really struggling to split them, I'm not sure why you'd leave these decisions until the end.

Yeah that's what I thought too about letting them know a bit early, so they still have time to get an opportunity elsewhere.

And also good in terms of preparation for the bloke's who they select. Training must be pretty stressful with the stakes so high for all of them.

Would not surprise me if Carlton come for Eyre.... after losing Silvagni for the season. Would force our hand too.

Different area of the ground. Wouldn’t they go after teakle instead?

Maybe but I see Silvagni as a bit of a utility rather than key position/ruck. Plus by all reports Eyre has clearly been the pick of the triallists for us.

I see it a bit differently to most I agree but I think stats back my thoughts in this area pretty well. I did say interchange players to suit your own views but the real message is we don't need a lot playing a few games, we need a lot playing a few

With Allen I don't buy the raw idea much. I would be disappointed if he didnt get to 12 games and 20 would be fantastic. When you say he is probably too raw I look at players like Bianco who played 12 2nd season, Call Brown 8, Fas 24, Beau 22, Elliott 20, Phillips 18 , Blair 12 Dale Thomas 25, Sidey 25etc etc etc I don't think you have to be that good or that developed to play 12 games season 2. If you are going to be a very good player or better its very likely you will be playing a lot of footy season 2. Allens got great physical traits and a pretty mature body. I cant see why we wouldn't be hoping he plays a good bit of AFL in 24

Of course same applies to Reef and Finn. I have more hope for Reef but the figures say if you aint playing regular senior footy in your 4th season when you only have 11 or 12 games to your name your prospects are bleak. Nobody who is not best 22 after 3 complete seasons can't be light years ahead types like Harry D or Ryan. They are potentially 1 bad practice match away from being behind them. As tough as it is I think shining in preseason counts for very little for Reef or Finn. They have to perform in real matches this season. If they don't their preseason doesnt help.

Consider this senario Harry and Finn both get a spot in the 26 for the Richmond community games by dint of their pre season. Finn starts but has a quiet 1st half, 5 HBs and a kick and looks a bit off pace, Harry comes on, lays a big tackle gets int a few chains where his speed and disposal look great and he even snags a goal. Finn after 1/2 a practice game is definitely not light years ahead.

Alternate senario Finn get 12 possies in 1st half, great contested work and looks to have taken major steps, he stays on , finished with 22 possies and locks up a spot in the 1st game. Harry gets his 2nd half but struggles and looks like will need a good VFL stint at a minimum before he may get some AFL time later in the season. Now Finn is well ahead, at least for a while.

Thing is Harry has some time on his side as long as he shows a bit. Finn has to be playing soon. No one outside the 22 is miles ahead. IMHO
Each to their own, but much like with Josh Daicos, I’m going to trust my gut on this one and say Reef and Fin have the tools, they just needed the extra time due to circumstances beyond their control.
I’m fully expecting Reef to line up in the 22 in round 1 and I’m 80% sure Fin will be too.

That wouldn't be great for mine. A whole range of 1-4 year players getting a game but none establishing a place. My hope would be

Allen 12-20 games
Reef 10-15 games
Harry 7-10 games
Ryan 5- 10 games
Dean 4-8 games
HH 1- 5 games
Finn 1-5
Carmy 0 games
Richards 0 games
Begg 0 games
Jaith 2 games

End of season
Reef and Allen set in best 22
Harry D looking like a very good player
Ryan and Dean and Tew showing enough hope
HH hangs on as he has another year on contract
Finn, Carmy, Begg, and Richards all delist

Change the names around as you wish, I have put who I think most likely. We need some to kick on more than your numbers suggest and some will fall by the wayside
Are these full games or sub games included? If full games I dont see this as being realistic at all unless we cop a lot of injuries or there is a major break out player to play 12-20 games

Would not surprise me if Carlton come for Eyre.... after losing Silvagni for the season. Would force our hand too.
Would be weird of them to recruit a key defender to replace a 3rd tall forward.

I feel for Hustwaite.
Such loyal servant and leader at our club. Just can’t see him getting a call up.
It’ll be pretty hard for him to go back to our VFL squad.

I feel for Hustwaite.
Such loyal servant and leader at our club. Just can’t see him getting a call up.
It’ll be pretty hard for him to go back to our VFL squad.

Not so sure about that. If he doesn't get the nod at least he knows he was given every chance. I expect he will be professional about it and serve his team well. I can't imagine it being any worse for him than for Benny Crocker...
Nah.
I reckon he’ll opt for a change of scenery
Time will tell.

No matter who was watching training from above. They all could have been up there for all I know, but the fact that none were training would have to mean something.
For players trying to prove themselves you wouldn’t miss a session

No matter who was watching training from above. They all could have been up there for all I know, but the fact that none were training would have to mean something.
For players trying to prove themselves you wouldn’t miss a session

I think they must be close to making a decision regarding our SSP selections.

By having all stop training, it would suggest they want to let them all know at the same time, ensure no injuries to anyone before we make our decisions and allow those not selected sufficient time to explore other options.

Another example of a club leading from the front and caring for all SSP candidates.

No training at all today? Any chance they hit the track in the afternoon?

There was training. They went for over 2 hrs
We were just discussing the SSP’s didn’t train