Training 2024 training updates.

• Thread starter Thread starter Jen2310

I dont want to be overly negative on this, but people will remember comments by the club in the past about tyler brown being the second coming of nat fyfe....while I've got no doubt that reef is improving, senior people wont hesitate to single-out players like reef who has been in and out of the team, if they think a little encouragement will help.....something similar to tyler....especially a kid who might be lacking in a little self confidence.
I stopped reading at “ but”.

Can we start the season already, I’m getting as excited as I was this time last year.

Bro, I was just about to post "Are we there yet", bring it on, we've got another flag to win

I dont want to be overly negative on this, but people will remember comments by the club in the past about tyler brown being the second coming of nat fyfe....while I've got no doubt that reef is improving, senior people wont hesitate to single-out players like reef who has been in and out of the team, if they think a little encouragement will help.....something similar to tyler....especially a kid who might be lacking in a little self confidence.
I don’t know. 3 or 4 years ago was a long time ago. The club has basically a new board, new coaching group, and I don’t think senior players are asked to pump up specific players. Sure, they may encourage them, however, I don’t think encouraging a player involves giving the media your opinion on who you think is looking strong, training better than ever, doing the extra work etc.

In terms of Brown and Buckley’s ‘Fyfe’ like comment. It may have been in relation to maybe physical similarities rather than him playing like him. How many times are draftees compared to champions like Pendlebury? If you’re a midfielder who isn’t quick, but relatively tall, looks like you have time with the ball, you’re compared to Pendles.

IMHO it would be good for our list development to see Mcrae, Reef, Allan in the round 1 team.
Johnson also
Noble, Lipinski and WHE exceptionally good trainers. I am expecting them to be there Round 0.

So yes, it will be very interesting. Augers well.
Inserting 3 players with just over 20 games between them would mean we probably had a good few injuries in the weeks leading up to the season. Remember Bucks 1st season where he did a wonderful coaching job. Lot of pre season injuries and our round 1 team had 3 debutants and 3 others who had less than 10 games added to the GF side.

It should take a bit to tip out the incumbents of the flag side for round 1. Especially with the limited practice games under the current arrangements. The youngsters will probably have to push up from the VFL team to grab a spot. Not sure Reef and Finn are next in line, no one is really at this point. I would love to see Harry D and Allen grab a chance in the AFL side and run with it. That would indicate they possibly have what it takes be be very good in the AFL.

Inserting 3 players with just over 20 games between them would mean we probably had a good few injuries in the weeks leading up to the season. Remember Bucks 1st season where he did a wonderful coaching job. Lot of pre season injuries and our round 1 team had 3 debutants and 3 others who had less than 10 games added to the GF side.

It should take a bit to tip out the incumbents of the flag side for round 1. Especially with the limited practice games under the current arrangements. The youngsters will probably have to push up from the VFL team to grab a spot. Not sure Reef and Finn are next in line, no one is really at this point. I would love to see Harry D and Allen grab a chance in the AFL side and run with it. That would indicate they possibly have what it takes be be very good in the AFL.
I wonder if the younger kids who commenced pre-season earlier would be worth playing early over the older guys who would have had an even greater extended break and maybe not as fit? A balance could make sense.

4c3e05a9f45e428c5a2e1a3a30da96f2.jpg

Who plays R1? Biggest selection headaches at every club https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...s/news-story/9cd71c8afdc0b4339e40c92b9f0203db

Very rarely if not never, do premieship teams line up exactly the same in Round 1 the following year.
Could be injuries, drop of form, or they have been overtaken by others . Or even the coach has changed the game plan which required a few changes in the team.
IMHO I think Mcrae will change the structure and game plan, premieship teams that go back to back need to evolve that is what history shows.
I don't see it as dramatic or concerning, if anything I think it would be a good thing to have say Johnson, Reef, Mcrae Shultz in a round 1 side next year even without injuries
The 4 ins that I used are just an example , it could be Krueger Ryan Allan comming in!
We have enough experience to ad a few kids in if form warrants there selection

I don’t know. 3 or 4 years ago was a long time ago. The club has basically a new board, new coaching group, and I don’t think senior players are asked to pump up specific players. Sure, they may encourage them, however, I don’t think encouraging a player involves giving the media your opinion on who you think is looking strong, training better than ever, doing the extra work etc.

In terms of Brown and Buckley’s ‘Fyfe’ like comment. It may have been in relation to maybe physical similarities rather than him playing like him. How many times are draftees compared to champions like Pendlebury? If you’re a midfielder who isn’t quick, but relatively tall, looks like you have time with the ball, you’re compared to Pendles.

coaches and senior players mention younger players to encourage them. that was my point

Very rarely if not never, do premieship teams line up exactly the same in Round 1 the following year.
Could be injuries, drop of form, or they have been overtaken by others . Or even the coach has changed the game plan which required a few changes in the team.
IMHO I think Mcrae will change the structure and game plan, premieship teams that go back to back need to evolve that is what history shows.
I don't see it as dramatic or concerning, if anything I think it would be a good thing to have say Johnson, Reef, Mcrae Shultz in a round 1 side next year even without injuries
I'd be more surprised with the current injury to Dan & the players who have since left that at least 2 of those 4 didn't line up in the Opening round.

Because I get a bit stuck on my own theories I did a little exercise on our 2023 list

I picked out all the players on the list from those who came through the traditional draft and picked those I thought were very good AFL players or better. Found 14 who I reckon fit that bill, which is impressive for our list. It is a little problem that 7 of them are in their 30's and 1, Tay, is gone. I then looked at games played in their 1st 3 seasons as I believe this correlates really strongly with the chance of becoming very good or better. This is the list, in order of best player down with a recognition that some positions will change as careers continue. I am confident that all 14 will be recognised as very good or better by career end.

Pendles 55
N Daicos 47*
Moore 47
Mitchell 20**
Steele 61
De G 50
Crisp 18
Elliott 52
Maynard 51
Howe 56
Josh D 17
Tay 43
IQ 33
Hill 30

* 2 seasons, barring injuries will play the most of anyone on the list in 1st 3 seasons, can he reach 70, needs 23 games.

** injuries stalled him in season 3 so would have played more

Really leaves Josh and Crispy as the 2 to come through this pathway who were slow off the mark but became very good. Should be the poster boys for Finn, Reef etc

If we look at our 2020 draft crop we have 3 players tracking along a similar path

Beau 60
Henry 42
Ginny 47

The rest

Poulter 21
Fin 12
Reef 11
Chugg 2, delisted
McMahon 0 delisted

Its a pretty good pick up to have 3 of 8 tracing really well, problem is 2 of those have left us. Still if Finn or Reef can defy the odds and become good AFL players or better it will have been a great effort by Hine. Finn and Reef should be looking at the careers of Josh and Crisp as they turned their careers around and in their 4th season played 18 0f 20 and 22 of 22 respectively. If Finn and Reef are going to be good these numbers suggest they need to break into the team early and play a lot.

Other message is don't discount the early entries for 24 to the AFL team cant include Harry D, Tew, Ed Allen, Ryan etc. one or 2 of them can be the next Jamie, Maynard, Langdon, Phillips, Howe etc. Guys who were not top draft picks but broke into senior footy early and stayed there

Message is - There is no line, being good in your 1st season or 2 is a strong marker of who will and equally wont be very good AFL players.

I am not wring off Finn and Reef but things are a bit stacked against them. This is probably the season that decides where their careers go. I favour our next batch of very goods and above to come from the younger kids on the list.

I'd be more surprised with the current injury to Dan & the players who have since left that at least 2 of those 4 didn't line up in the Opening round.
I think we have about 10 or 11 players outside our premieship team who I believe think they can get in too the senior side.
At the same time , I think there a 3 or 4 players in our premieship team that could loose there spots as regular starters for one reason or the other without mentioning names

4c3e05a9f45e428c5a2e1a3a30da96f2.jpg

Who plays R1? Biggest selection headaches at every club https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...s/news-story/9cd71c8afdc0b4339e40c92b9f0203db

I think as another poster suggested, Reef and Ash may not be competing for 1 spot.

They may move to a forward line set up that includes both of them and then a combo of Checkers and all our smalls -- and rotating some of these smaller players through the midfield (Billy, Beau, Shooter)
Forma may also dictate whether some favourites remain in the forward line.

I think as another poster suggested, Reef and Ash may not be competing for 1 spot.

They may move to a forward line set up that includes both of them and then a combo of Checkers and all our smalls -- and rotating some of these smaller players through the midfield (Billy, Beau, Shooter)
Forma may also dictate whether some favourites remain in the forward line.
I agree, it could be a very different forward line. Nothing is set in stone at this point. They are trialling players in different positions.
And midfield I dont expect to stay the same as it was.

Because I get a bit stuck on my own theories I did a little exercise on our 2023 list

I picked out all the players on the list from those who came through the traditional draft and picked those I thought were very good AFL players or better. Found 14 who I reckon fit that bill, which is impressive for our list. It is a little problem that 7 of them are in their 30's and 1, Tay, is gone. I then looked at games played in their 1st 3 seasons as I believe this correlates really strongly with the chance of becoming very good or better. This is the list, in order of best player down with a recognition that some positions will change as careers continue. I am confident that all 14 will be recognised as very good or better by career end.

Pendles 55
N Daicos 47*
Moore 47
Mitchell 20**
Steele 61
De G 50
Crisp 18
Elliott 52
Maynard 51
Howe 56
Josh D 17
Tay 43
IQ 33
Hill 30

* 2 seasons, barring injuries will play the most of anyone on the list in 1st 3 seasons, can he reach 70, needs 23 games.

** injuries stalled him in season 3 so would have played more

Really leaves Josh and Crispy as the 2 to come through this pathway who were slow off the mark but became very good. Should be the poster boys for Finn, Reef etc

If we look at our 2020 draft crop we have 3 players tracking along a similar path

Beau 60
Henry 42
Ginny 47

The rest

Poulter 21
Fin 12
Reef 11
Chugg 2, delisted
McMahon 0 delisted

Its a pretty good pick up to have 3 of 8 tracing really well, problem is 2 of those have left us. Still if Finn or Reef can defy the odds and become good AFL players or better it will have been a great effort by Hine. Finn and Reef should be looking at the careers of Josh and Crisp as they turned their careers around and in their 4th season played 18 0f 20 and 22 of 22 respectively. If Finn and Reef are going to be good these numbers suggest they need to break into the team early and play a lot.

Other message is don't discount the early entries for 24 to the AFL team cant include Harry D, Tew, Ed Allen, Ryan etc. one or 2 of them can be the next Jamie, Maynard, Langdon, Phillips, Howe etc. Guys who were not top draft picks but broke into senior footy early and stayed there

Message is - There is no line, be good in your 1st season or few is a strong marker of who will and equally wont be very good AFL players.

I am not wring off Finn and Reef but things are a bit stacked against them. This is probably the season that decides where their careers go. I favour our next batch of very goods and above to come from the younger kids on the list.
Good analysis. Probably also needs to factor in opportunities and the strength of the team at the time

The 4 ins that I used are just an example , it could be Krueger Ryan Allan comming in!
We have enough experience to ad a few kids in if form warrants there selection
Agree with the 1st sentence but they line up differently for many reasons. I think Schultz and AJ are obvious changes for Ginny and Frampton. Noble and Markov can tussle for a spot but Markov has the inside running and WHE and Lippa are a little vulnerable but I would expect them to play. Injuries are the obvious thing that may change that.

Especially for Finn and Reef its the practice matches that will determine if they are any chance. It's good they are ripping up the track in the preseason but they need to be and know it. 4th years and uncontracted, dont sit back. Still it means very little if they don't perform in the practice match cause thats the main reward they get for a good pre season, time in the 1st practice match. If they don't grab that then the pre season won't get them selected round 1.

Match simulation Feb 21 v NM. Clubs determine format, expect there will be a good spread of players getting a chance

Community series Feb 27 v Richmond. Squads of 30 but 4 are emerg so 26 get to play. Say there is a spot up for grabs and its Ed Allen or Harry D that stamp themselves on the pre season. They will likely grab the spot. Its a dog fight. No one is head of the queue. I agree form will decide which kids or olders get those few spots. Schultz especially is a lock and Johnno should grab a spot. After that ?????

Good analysis. Probably also needs to factor in opportunities and the strength of the team at the time
Thats true but plenty still break into strong sides, Steele, Pendles, Jamie, Nick, Fas, Beau, Ginny etc

Postions they are experimenting/changing with atm:

Fin: Mid-wing-HB
Harry- HB-Mid
Pendles - HB
Crisp - HB/Wing
Lippa- Mid/Wing
Elliott-HB/fwd
Mitchell-Mid/fwd
Beau-fwd/mid
Howe: def/fwd
Begg: fwd/ruck
Steene: fwd/ruck
carmichael: fwd/mid

Its clear what they want to do with steene/begg, become the next cameron/cox combo. Playing forward and ruck.

I think we have about 10 or 11 players outside our premieship team who I believe think they can get in too the senior side.
At the same time , I think there a 3 or 4 players in our premieship team that could loose there spots as regular starters for one reason or the other without mentioning names
We'll find out in the practice matches, that's probably when they'll experiment & these kids will get an opportunity to show us how far they've come.

Absolutely. Most flag sides will have at least 3-4 players change over from best 22 by the end of the next season. Reckon Lippa, WHE, Frampton and Markov the most at risk by seasons end.

Thats two senior players that have called out with reef. First pendles last week after training, and now Howe.

He does look a lot more fitter.
At the end of the day mate they will all have to prove themselves when the real stuff starts.
The reason I am quietly confident some of our youngsters can have break out years is not about the talk, but the grounding they have had.
They haven't been rushed in the seniors, they have done there aprentarslhip in the reserves..
They have had great educators/coaches and are in a elite system!
Don't be surprised if a few of them really surprise us with there up-side and improvement this year