Training 2024 training updates.

• Thread starter Thread starter Jen2310

Ryan only turned 19 in September, so he's still just a kid.
The club thought highly enough of him to consider using our 1st round pick on him until Ed Allan slipped through.
Then we still got him with our 2nd.
His debut was inauspicious to say the least, but his VFL form has been encouraging.

It’s his VFL form I was basing my assessment on.

We took Poulter and McMahon ahead of McCreery and Ginnivan. We took Draper and Murley before HH. Means little once they get to the club.

Going off a cupla vids.

I'm guessing Teakle sprayed number 2's?

WHE looked like he was coasting, Reefer looked puffed.
Fair bet to say WHE could smoke him lol

Gee the highlights i've seen Nick is absolutely taking the mickey out there. Just gotta get better at protecting him from tags. Even play him in the forward pocket against the hawks and see if old mate tagger can play as a defender as well.

The point is that 4 mids at 75% game time each cover all your centre square midfield minutes. Well play more than 4 mids and some of them will play more than 75% game time, so they'll spend time on flanks and your dream of all of Pendles, Nick and Crisp just playing as mids is an unrealistic dream.

Don’t really care for kudos so happy for you to hang onto them. Frampton was the obvious choice as he’d played defence and played well against PA and Richmond before being moved into the ruck. Markov was only just starting to establish himself. Either way, Noble was vulnerable and it was actually WHE who usurped him.
You're not getting the idea of roles.

Frampton for Noble would have required a complete change of defensive system.

Markov took Nobles spot in defence - more a credit to Markov than a knock on JN. So then it's whether it was WHE or Noble to chop out in defence and other areas. WHE a pretty easy choice due to flexibility I would have thought.

Good evening Mr BaldFacts.

I was raised by very respectful parents and I hope that I have inherited their great qualities around manners.
I am please to be posting on Big Footy and delighted to see the training reports of others.
Every Pies fan can feel blessed by the regular training reporters on Big Footy.

There is a high degree of interest in who we may elevate in the SSP period.
After some consideration, I offer the following viewpoints based on observations from attending a couple of sessions and trawling the great Instagram posts of Jen.

Eyre- looks every bit a developing player capable of playing AFL. He is quite tall, mobile and has a frame that will benefit from some gym sessions to enable him to bulk up. His marking and spoiling are more than adequate but it is kicking that really impresses. I cannot think of a player his size that has played with Collingwood that is such a booming and precise kick.

Bytel- Is both a 'known' and 'unknown' quantity. His time as a junior was impeded by a back injury ( he was once slated as a possible Top Ten Draft selection. He quite literally has not put a foot wrong in pre-season and has admirable capacity to run (speed and endurance). He is 23 years old, 189cms and 88 kgs so is in the sweet spot age wise to inject youth into our stellar midfield group. If taken by the Pies, it would be to stockpile a future inside-mid.

Hustwaite- This would be a great story for Hustwaite to be elevated to our senior list after Captaining our VFL team for three seasons. He is 184cms and 74kgs and has been a heroic player in our VFL squad. His efforts on the track with our AFL players demonstrate why he is held in high esteem at Collingwood. An endurance runner, he has impressed in each of the match simulations with his strong efforts.

Sofronidis: Although gifted and clearly talented, Sofronidis may find himself nipped at the post by Josh Eyre. Sofronidis is an interesting body shape (194cms and 78kgs) and at 24 years old would be a mature footbller should he come onto the list. Geelong and Fremantle were real keen on getting him to train pre-season but he chose the Pies. I think that the comparisons made elsewhere that he has a bit of Geelong's Tom Stewart about him are a bit of a stretch, but he is a very interesting playing type. I think the Pies will prefer Eyre to Sofronidis, but would not be surprised if another club listed him.

Teakle: He is a monster of a man at 24 years of age, 204cms and 104kgs. The Magpies are heavily invested in both Steene and Begg ( both of whom have had great pre-seasons) and have Frampton as well. With Cox and Cameron both fit and well it is hard to see a spot open for Teakle. He has lost no friends with his endeavour and spirit on the track but I just can't see him on our list. Kreuger is another who would be in Teakle's way...

Sullivan: The last to be invited to the train-on list may well be the first to be elevated. His post-Christmas work has been faultless. I cannot believe that at 26 years old, this 181 cms and 80kg midfielder has not been at least rookie-listed before. His extraction work around the contest is very good and his disposal is first rate. I have enjoyed watching him hit packs at speed and break away, ball in hand- his selection of targets to pass to displays a very solid footy IQ. I could imagine him playing the high half forward role that was entrusted to Taylor Adams in 2023.

I apologise for the lengthy summation of these six players attributes.

Each of them is a credit to themselves.

If I were the Magpies- I would take Eyre, Sullivan and Bytel

If Dan McStay does not come back from his ACL and is ruled out for the entirety of 2024, it would leave us with one selection for the mid-season draft- this would throw the gate wide open to who we may select to fill a perceived need.

Floreat Pica one and all.
Great post, and welcome!

Fair bet to say WHE could smoke him lol

Gee the highlights i've seen Nick is absolutely taking the mickey out there. Just gotta get better at protecting him from tags. Even play him in the forward pocket against the hawks and see if old mate tagger can play as a defender as well.
I don’t think we’ll need to protect Nick from a tag, he’s still building, help him out for sure but I don’t think he’s going to need protecting into the future.

Change of location for our practice game v north

It’s now at AIA

d5c3354f8a499f30277eb09be43cfe87.jpg

I was raised by very respectful parents and I hope that I have inherited their great qualities around manners.
I am please to be posting on Big Footy and delighted to see the training reports of others.

After some consideration, I offer the following viewpoints based on observations from attending a couple of sessions and trawling the great Instagram posts of Jen.

Eyre- looks every bit a developing player capable of playing AFL. He is quite tall, mobile and has a frame that will benefit from some gym sessions to enable him to bulk up. His marking and spoiling are more than adequate but it is kicking that really impresses. I cannot think of a player his size that has played with Collingwood that is such a booming and precise kick.

Bytel- Is both a 'known' and 'unknown' quantity. His time as a junior was impeded by a back injury ( he was once slated as a possible Top Ten Draft selection. He quite literally has not put a foot wrong in pre-season and has admirable capacity to run (speed and endurance). He is 23 years old, 189cms and 88 kgs so is in the sweet spot age wise to inject youth into our stellar midfield group. If taken by the Pies, it would be to stockpile a future inside-mid.

Hustwaite- This would be a great story for Hustwaite to be elevated to our senior list after Captaining our VFL team for three seasons. He is 184cms and 74kgs and has been a heroic player in our VFL squad. His efforts on the track with our AFL players demonstrate why he is held in high esteem at Collingwood. An endurance runner, he has impressed in each of the match simulations with his strong efforts.

Sofronidis: Although gifted and clearly talented, Sofronidis may find himself nipped at the post by Josh Eyre. Sofronidis is an interesting body shape (194cms and 78kgs) and at 24 years old would be a mature footbller should he come onto the list. Geelong and Fremantle were real keen on getting him to train pre-season but he chose the Pies. I think that the comparisons made elsewhere that he has a bit of Geelong's Tom Stewart about him are a bit of a stretch, but he is a very interesting playing type. I think the Pies will prefer Eyre to Sofronidis, but would not be surprised if another club listed him.

Teakle: He is a monster of a man at 24 years of age, 204cms and 104kgs. The Magpies are heavily invested in both Steene and Begg ( both of whom have had great pre-seasons) and have Frampton as well. With Cox and Cameron both fit and well it is hard to see a spot open for Teakle. He has lost no friends with his endeavour and spirit on the track but I just can't see him on our list. Kreuger is another who would be in Teakle's way...

Sullivan: The last to be invited to the train-on list may well be the first to be elevated. His post-Christmas work has been faultless. I cannot believe that at 26 years old, this 181 cms and 80kg midfielder has not been at least rookie-listed before. His extraction work around the contest is very good and his disposal is first rate. I have enjoyed watching him hit packs at speed and break away, ball in hand- his selection of targets to pass to displays a very solid footy IQ. I could imagine him playing the high half forward role that was entrusted to Taylor Adams in 2023.

If Dan McStay does not come back from his ACL and is ruled out for the entirety of 2024, it would leave us with one selection for the mid-season draft- this would throw the gate wide open to who we may select to fill a perceived need.

Don't ever apologise for the lengthy synopsis, WL. It's a pleasure to read and I for one and always interested in the musings of a veteran track-watcher. I appreciated your contributions over at Nicks and I'm glad that you are now contributing here. Thanks for posting.

I still don’t get people that write off 18,19,20 and 21 year olds so quickly.

Yeah I agree. I was written off so many times at that age. Although always self inflicted. :drunk::beercheers:

Thanks very much - enjoyed reading your great post

I reckon we should go with 2 midfielders in the SSP. Sullivan and Bytel who the group preferences. The main reason is that when we have a couple injuries in the midfield. Usually a couple of VFL midfielders are also injured, since the VFL squad is almost the same size as the AFL squad...For example. Jaicos and Mitchell could be injured. And Allan and Carmichael in the VFL. So Macrae and Sullivan could be the ins at that point.
You would want Bytel on the list incase it grows further.

I reckon we should go with 2 midfielders in the SSP. Sullivan and Bytel who the group preferences. The main reason is that when we have a couple injuries in the midfield. Usually a couple of VFL midfielders are also injured, since the VFL squad is almost the same size as the AFL squad...For example. Jaicos and Mitchell could be injured. And Allan and Carmichael in the VFL. So Macrae and Sullivan could be the ins at that point.
You would want Bytel on the list incase it grows further.
Thats a big worst case senario.
You can always move players around if thats the case.
You've got multiple players that can play midfield.

Thats a big worst case senario.
You can always move players around if thats the case.
You've got multiple players that can play midfield.
Yeah, I would have thought that he had options to roll through the midfield even if we get cruelled by injury. We are more exposed on key position players, both forward and back. Some coverage there would be more prudent, I would have thought.