List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - The Final Countdown

What Is Your Preferred Combination At Picks 3 & 4?

Do you rate Grilj?
I rate him as the 3rd best player in the open pool behind Duursma and CDT. I reckon he is a certainty to be drafted by us and ahead of Robey. He didn’t play the 3rd VFL game cause we’d seen enough.

The one folks are only now starting to talk about and is a big chance for our 2nd pick is Farrow. Well ahead of the likes of Cumming and Sharp. Reckon it’s between him and Robey for our 2nd pick. I don’t rate X Taylor. Wouldn’t take him

Fair enough but he’s only 18 and can still grow taller. Even at 201cm, that’s more than decent for a ruck, especially with his agility. How did he go in the vertical jump testing?
thumbs down GIF

Ralphy, Ross and Juddy.

cmon man you don't really believe that do you? You're just winding me up now.

Ralphy at an absolute stretch, maybe.

Short isn't far off retiring either.

Tresize a tick. I like what he brings.
Short's got another decade in him, hasn't made body contact ever, should play till late 30's...

No.7: Dyson Sharp - Central District/South Australia​

Draft team prediction: Richmond

Position: Midfielder

Height: 187cm

The big-bodied inside midfielder was named captain of the All Australian under-18 team and played several SANFL games for Central District during the year.

Sharp's size allows him to break tackles and work his way through contested situations - much like Matt Rowell.

Hmmm where I have heard that before 🤷‍♂️

Ralph started back there so no clue why it’s a stretch… I personally don’t rate him but he can pinch hit for sure.

I’m just pointing out that you’ve skipped 5 defenders and some pinch hitters. Smil and Kane have also played back there and have in juniors.

I really like XT, happy to draft him but it’s well down the order on priority list needs, we have glaring holes everywhere but defence is our most solid line. Otherwise you could say every position is list need cos some guy will retire in 2-3 seasons.
wasn't my list, I didn't skip anything!

I was just replying to the list provided.

Lets hope so and this news about them bidding on Dean is true
If CDT & Robey are available at #3 then Bombers & Melbourne would be flying into Blair's office with offers
And hopefully Blair will say I want everything or we just take 2 super high potential players. If we got CDT and Robey I would be very happy - potentially. Those 2 could well be A+ grade.

I reckon the talk about CDT not being a good enough tap ruckman to be a fulltime ruck is overdone.

The bloke is 201cm and probably still growing. He can improve his ruck craft, while still having amazing fundamental football skills in place.

It's just that he's so quick and good at ground level that people are forgetting the size of him

wasn't my list, I didn't skip anything!

I was just replying to the list provided.

Yeah but you were the one to link the list of 7 to 6 defensive spots to suggest XT was a need. We don’t have 7 defenders for 6 spots, we have 11/12 if you count the small defenders or it’s 7 for 4-4.5 spots given half our taller players are also good on smalls.

get CDT at 3, trade 4 for Melbs 7 and next years first (I think they will be terrible this year)
Pick whoevers left at 7 out of all those mentioned

take 2 firsts inside 10 (possibly inside 5) into next years draft which is clearly stronger than this one

Thanks mate.
Is it fair to compare him to Will Day?
I wouldn't be comparing him to any AFL midfielder at this point myself.

He's one of those kids who's shown a fair bit as a rebounding defender, and a small amount as a midfielder. I think its too early to make assumptions about whether he can fully make that midfield transition at AFL level. Expecting too much can lead to disappointment.

I'm confident that he'll start his career as a competent mid sized defender with a strong and penetrating left boot.

I really would love to see Robe/Sharp and CDT on our list next year. If not then a combination of Robe/Sharp/Cummings would be my second preference. While I like Gryll, I don't think we should take him that early in the draft while we still have midfield/ruck deficiencies.
I’d take Grlj before Cummings

Draft Intel: Hottest prospects reveal who they’d take with pick one, which players are in highest demand?​

There’s a clear favourite for the top pick of the AFL Draft, but do the future stars agree? Plus, there’s renewed hope for a forgotten father-son prospect. Get the latest draft intel.

The countdown to the AFL Draft is on with less than a month until dreams will be realised.
Here is all the latest intel from across the country.

THE MOST IN-DEMAND PLAYERS IN THIS DRAFT

The compromised nature of this year’s draft means the most in-demand players will not necessarily be the first picked on draft night.

However, they do make interesting reading as clubs zero-in on some exciting players with a wider draft range.
A survey by this column of some of the top prospects during the national draft combine earlier this month found that some players had meetings booked with almost every club, while others who are tied to clubs through father-son or Academy programs had much quieter schedules.

Eastern Ranges defender Xavier Taylor has bolted into top-10 contention after a stellar finish to the season, named best afield in the Coates Talent League grand final, and he has been very popular among clubs, meeting with 16 across the draft combine weekend alone.

Central District key forward Aidan Schubert met with “most of the comp” as he firms as a top-15 pick, while there were only three clubs who didn’t meet with Oakleigh Chargers line-breaker Sam Grlj during the combine.

Eastern Ranges small forward Lachy Dovaston had meetings with 14 clubs, while Central District wingman Matt LeRay had 13 meetings.

Clubs clearly sniff a potential bargain in athletic Oakleigh Chargers midfielder Sam Allen, who met with 11 clubs during the combine despite suffering a season-ending ACL injury in late May.

Murray Bushrangers key forward Liam Hetherton has also been out of sight with back stress fracture issues this season, but he isn’t out of mind, speaking with 12 clubs at the combine and 17 across the year.

Many prospects hadn’t heard from Gold Coast or Brisbane — or both — given their highly rated academy talents.

Sandringham Dragons key forward Archie Ludowyke has chatted to every club except Gold Coast and Brisbane, having been out of action since a PCL injury during the national championships.

Geelong Falcons forward-midfielder Hugo Mikunda has flown under the radar this year but is highly-rated by AFL recruiters, with 15 clubs touching base with him.

Two brothers of guns in Cody Curtin (brother of Dan) and Hunter Holmes (brother of Max) have received contact from about half of the league, including their sibling’s clubs in Adelaide and Geelong respectively.

Interestingly, some of the top draft prospects including Willem Duursma and Cooper Duff-Tytler met with as few as six clubs during the combine weekend.

Carlton father-son prospect Harry Dean – another top-10 prospect – met with seven clubs, including the Blues.

Gold Coast Academy gun Dylan Patterson had to leave the draft combine a day early because of a commitment, but the damaging defender has also only met with a handful of clubs across the year given the assumption he will end up at the Suns.

Western Bulldogs father-son prospect Will Darcy and Essendon-tied Hussien El Achkar only had four meetings apiece during the combine, while Richmond father-son Louis Kellaway sat down with just two clubs.

However, Carlton NGA forward-midfielder Jack Ison and Collingwood NGA tall Zac McCarthy have both met with about 10 clubs across the year, with the same number getting in contact with Geelong NGA forward Jesse Mellor.

WHO DRAFT PROSPECTS WOULD PICK AT No. 1

Gippsland Power utility Willem Duursma is the favourite to be taken with the No. 1 pick in 2025 — and his fellow draft hopefuls agree.

This column asked 25 top draft prospects who they would take with the No. 1 pick, with 11 choosing Duursma.

Duursma has been strongly linked to West Coast with the No. 1 pick and will become the fourth sibling in his family to join the top level after Xavier (Essendon), Yasmin (Carlton) and Zane (North Melbourne).

Freakishly athletic ruck-forward Cooper Duff-Tytler received six nominations, while Gold Coast Academy halfback Dylan Patterson (three), Brisbane Academy midfielder Dan Annable (two) and Larke Medal winner Dyson Sharp also got some love.

The rogue vote came for Sandringham Dragons ball-magnet Jack Dalton, who put his name up in lights at the end of the season after recovering from a freak gym accident.

McGUANE ATTRACTING RIVAL INTEREST
Western Jets midfielder Tom McGuane has received some renewed hope ahead of the draft, with multiple clubs reaching out since he was advised by Collingwood earlier this month that they would not nominate him as a father-son for the national draft.

McGuane’s football IQ and running power are two key strengths, with some of his GPS data while playing for the Jets this year being “off the charts”.

He backed that up by running an impressive time of 6 min 20 sec in the 2km time trial at the Victorian state draft combine earlier this month, having clocked a 2.93 sec time in the 20m sprint earlier that day.

Collingwood left the door open to potentially select McGuane as a rookie if he got through the national draft, with Magpies list boss Justin Leppitsch saying last week that the club had wanted to provide him with some early clarity around their plans.

“We haven’t even spoken to our other academy (and) father-son boys,” Leppitsch said.

“But just given the sensitivities, given his father’s a champion of our club, we wanted to hit it up as soon as we knew to give the family the respect and Tom, I guess, the readiness for it.”

Tom’s father, Mick, won two Copeland Trophy’s during a 152-game career at Collingwood before finishing his career by playing one season for Carlton in 1997.

BIG RAPS ON OUT-OF-SIGHT SOUTH AUSTRALIAN

South Australian captain Dyson Sharp has given Jevan Phillipou a glowing endorsement ahead of the national draft, after the talented midfielder-forward battled an injury-interrupted year.

The brother of St Kilda young gun Mattaes, Phillipou broke his arm a week before the under-18 national championships which meant he did not feature on the national stage in the title-winning South Australian side.

However, Phillipou did show strong form in the SANFL under-18s as a damaging forward-half player and also had a taste of senior football with six games for Woodville-West Torrens.

“He’s definitely a competitor,” Sharp said of Phillipou.

“You know what you’re going to get from Jev. He’s going to go in and just be a hard nut. He’s really good at running, really great overhead, can kick on both feet. So he’s someone that you definitely want on your side because you just know what you’re going to get out of him at the end of the day and that’s just unconditional effort, which is exactly what you want from your players.

“Even this year, he didn’t play (nationals) but he was always at our trainings, rocked up to our games in SA. So it was just amazing to have him around the group, passing on his strength and stuff to the younger guys as well.”

BIZARRE REASON JORDAN DAWSON CLONE WILL PLAY ANYWHERE

Most AFL draft prospects will say they are happy to play anywhere, but West Australian prospect Jacob Farrow genuinely means it.

A damaging left-footer who has been likened to Adelaide captain Jordan Dawson, Farrow rocketed up draft boards after a bumper national carnival, but curiously he has never supported an AFL team.

However, the first-round talent certainly knows ball.

Farrow is an absolute footy nut with all 18 AFL guernseys hanging up in his wardrobe.

He watches around six AFL games each weekend and his hidden talent is knowing the numbers and boots of pretty much every AFL player.

Asked who wears No. 35 for Hawthorn, Farrow knew instantly it was second-year forward Calsher Dear.

“I don’t actually go for a team,” Farrow said with a smile.

“I got a jersey for each of the 18 clubs. Just love watching a good game of footy.

“I’ve got a few numbers. I had the six on the back of the Bulldogs one when Bailey Smith was there. Nat Fyfe number seven on the back of the Freo one, but other ones are just plain jerseys.

I haven’t been too one team focused, like watching a game of footy I don’t really get too emotional if a team loses or whatever because I don’t have any hard feelings.”

As a consequence, AFL clubs can be assured that the 188 centimetre halfback/midfielder is IN for the long haul.

“If there was an opportunity to be grabbed at the draft, then any team would be amazing,” Farrow said.

Farrow’s dedication also extends to his own footy.

Told by his talent manager that he needed to work on his running over the off-season, the West Perth product took matters into his own hands.

“I went away and got a sprint coach, so I did a lot of sprint stuff over the off-season, pre-season, and that gave me a lot of confidence to take the game on more and drive my legs,” Farrow said.

“So that’s held me in good stead and set me up for a really good year.”

That intervention saw the U18 All-Australian shine for Western Australia at the national championships and at colts and then league level with West Perth, where he has been mentored by former West Coast defender Josh Rotham.

“He’s taken me under his wing and obviously with his experience at AFL level, and he knows what I’m going through right now, the process, and he’s just there I can lean on,” Farrow said.

Farrow is eyeing a similar progression to the player he has been compared to in Dawson.

Dawson began his career at Sydney in defence before becoming a gamebreaking midfielder at Adelaide.

“I think to start my career I would be at that halfback and then transition into a midfielder over time,” Farrow said.

Jordan Dawson is a really good kick, takes a good mark in the air, and I feel I’ve got those traits as well. So to become a midfielder in the future would be something I’d be interested in.”

We have 3 older backs who in 3 years will be gone or at the very least nearing the end of their careers. Dean is a very talented KPD who is sadly not rated on this board.
3 older backs that don't play key position. If you want a replacement you take X

Yeah but you were the one to link the list of 7 to 6 defensive spots to suggest XT was a need. We don’t have 7 defenders for 6 spots, we have 11/12 if you count the small defenders or it’s 7 for 4-4.5 spots given half our taller players are also good on smalls.
Ok I'll ask it another way.

Who are the Vlastuin and Broad replacements?

does your 11 or 12 players include Ross / Smith and Ralphsmith cause in all reality none of those are likely.

XT may not be the number 1 need, but to dismiss him as a possible need based on future proofing is bizarre to be honest.

Ok I'll ask it another way.

Who are the Vlastuin and Broad replacements?

does your 11 or 12 players include Ross / Smith and Ralphsmith cause in all reality none of those are likely.

XT may not be the number 1 need, but to dismiss him as a possible need based on future proofing is bizarre to be honest.
At that point in the draft you just take the best avaliable.
The only position we dont need to fill is a FF or CHF at pick 3 & 4

I can't remember seeing this combination being discussed although the survey has a lot what do you think of a sharp robey combination?
For me you're taking the biggest X-factor available with the most rock solid midfield option for a team that currently has no youngsters playing significant mid minutes. I'd also be banking on the fact that there's a better transitional mid next year in a stronger draft that fits our needs. But can't blame others for swinging for the fences in a weaker draft either.