List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - The Final Countdown

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

What Is Your Preferred Combination At Picks 3 & 4?

From the limited footage I’ve seen of Robey and Cumming, I’d be taking Cumming at 3. However, I’m know draft expert, but Cumming looks to be able to execute at a higher level. He instinctively makes good decisions with the footy and is desperate to make and win the 50/50 contests.

Cumming definitely has a strange hitch in his kicking.
Isn’t a penetrating kick for a mid, but has a very nice blend of outside/inside and strength/athleticism. Ran a sub 3sec 20m sprint. Plenty of power.
Having a lot of runs on the board already. SANFL under 18 MVP last year in bottom age year. Played qulaity footy at SANFL senior level already.
I’d have him as the top of the line in terms of our picks behind Duursma, CDT.

I reckon they would have done their rankings on our potential players by now surely?
They don't settle on a draft order until closer to the draft. In the past the recruiters have gone away Torquay to work out the rankings.

No they wouldn't, that is just irresponsible trading.

I know that we all hear Hartley say that it will take an extraordinary offer for us to trade out of our current picks, but I don't see a situation where a club offers up 2 x top 10 this year and a first in 2026 as well.

The best we should be expecting if Melbourne/Essendon trade with us is as follow:

Essendon gives pick 5 and a 2025 2nd (1 of 21, 27 or 30) plus a future first

Melbourne gives pick 7 & 37 this year plus a 2026 R1 (they have 2 next year)

Now before people jump in and say that they aren't extraordinary offers, but they're a lot closer than some of the suggestions that have been made in recent weeks when you look back at first round trades made in recent years.
You do realise the other poster said 7 or 8 plus a future first?

Not the first time I've misread something first thing in the morning.

Scared Homer Simpson GIF by reactionseditor

No they wouldn't, that is just irresponsible trading.

I know that we all hear Hartley say that it will take an extraordinary offer for us to trade out of our current picks, but I don't see a situation where a club offers up 2 x top 10 this year and a first in 2026 as well.

The best we should be expecting if Melbourne/Essendon trade with us is as follow:

Essendon gives pick 5 and a 2025 2nd (1 of 21, 27 or 30) plus a future first

Melbourne gives pick 7 & 37 this year plus a 2026 R1 (they have 2 next year)

Now before people jump in and say that they aren't extraordinary offers, but they're a lot closer than some of the suggestions that have been made in recent weeks when you look back at first round trades made in recent years.
That was 7 or 8 and I remember GWS giving their F1 for a slide up the order a couple of places to draft Ash ahead of the Green bid.

My apologies, I completely misread it.

I fair dinkum had a dream last night we took Kellaway at pick 4. Was not happy. 😡

Think I might need to lay off reading this stuff before bed…. 😵‍💫

Ho looks about 25 cm taller than KB. So that puts him at about, what, 167-168 cm?

Callum Smith
State: Victoria Country
State League Club: Dandenong Stingrays
Community Club: Vermont
Date of Birth: 12/09/2007
Height: 189cm

A medium midfielder, Smith attacks the ball with ferocity, has clean hands and a strong burst from stoppage. Was a consistent player with the Dandenong Stingrays this year, averaging 22.1 disposals (50 percent contested), 4.9 tackles and 4.8 clearances. Smith also showed potential in his four matches with Victoria Country at the National Championships, averaging 16.3 disposals. His strong form across the season was rewarded with selection in the Coates Talent League Team of the Year. The grandson of Australian Football Hall of Fame Legend Kevin Bartlett, Smith’s agility was on show at the Draft Combine, recording a time of 8.23 seconds on the agility test.

Callum Smith
State: Victoria Country
State League Club: Dandenong Stingrays
Community Club: Vermont
Date of Birth: 12/09/2007
Height: 189cm

A medium midfielder, Smith attacks the ball with ferocity, has clean hands and a strong burst from stoppage. Was a consistent player with the Dandenong Stingrays this year, averaging 22.1 disposals (50 percent contested), 4.9 tackles and 4.8 clearances. Smith also showed potential in his four matches with Victoria Country at the National Championships, averaging 16.3 disposals. His strong form across the season was rewarded with selection in the Coates Talent League Team of the Year. The grandson of Australian Football Hall of Fame Legend Kevin Bartlett, Smith’s agility was on show at the Draft Combine, recording a time of 8.23 seconds on the agility test.
Would sign up to the VFL list like we did a few other legacy types.

On the proviso that the Eagles pick as many expect Duursma and CDT, what two combo options would you like at our picks 3 & 4

I like Option 1 personally, Robey, the big-bodied mid who can also roll forward. Grjl a mid who is quick, attacks the contest hard and can start as a hard-running defender.

Second would be Option 5, Sharp, who is a bit undervalued on here. He is a hard-working mid with good leadership qualities. I have Grjl in both combos provides another element to the midfield who can also play as a defender.

1. Robey & Grjl
2. Robey & Sharp
3. Robey & Cumming
4. Robey & Taylor
5. Sharp & Grjl
6. Sharp & Cumming
7. Sharp & Taylor
8. Taylor & Grjl
9. Taylor & Cumming
10. Grjl & Cumming

On the proviso that the Eagles pick as many expect Duursma and CDT, what two combo options would you like at our picks 3 & 4

I like Option 1 personally, Robey, the big-bodied mid who can also roll forward. Grjl a mid who is quick, attacks the contest hard and can start as a hard-running defender.

Second would be Option 5, Sharp, who is a bit undervalued on here. He is a hard-working mid with good leadership qualities. I have Grjl in both combos provides another element to the midfield who can also play as a defender.

1. Robey & Grjl
2. Robey & Sharp
3. Robey & Cumming
4. Robey & Taylor
5. Sharp & Grjl
6. Sharp & Cumming
7. Sharp & Taylor
8. Taylor & Grjl
9. Taylor & Cumming
10. Grlj and Cumming

We have big bodied midfielders in Taranto Hopper McAuliffe Lalor & Smillie but we're lacking the type of mids who can both win footy at the contest and provide spread from the contest as well as quality ball use. Hotton is one who can do it, but that's about it. Adding those 2 kids would give our midfield a nice balance as we move onto the next stage of the rebuild

I’ve been trying to get my head around where our pick 38 will come into after bids.

I’ve assumed that the bids will be as follows:

• Uwland bid at 2
  • Patterson bid at 5
  • Annable bid at 6

By my maths, this will wipe out picks 15 (GC), 17 (BRI) 18 (GC), 23 (BRI), 24 (GC), 28 (GC), 29 (GC), 36 (GC).

If additionally Max King is bid on around pick 20, the Swans will lose pick 24 (where the Swans pick will be brought forward by my maths).

In that scenario 38 becomes… pick 29.

Not sure how correct that is, but if it’s right, 29 for Tylar Young an absolute steal.

Im not sure if its just me wanting to see this or does anybody else see or get Trent Cotchin vibes from the following highlights of Sam Cumming

I dont see it at, not alot of weaving through traffic like Cotch could do.

Only similarity for me is maybe attack on the man.