List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - The Final Countdown

What Is Your Preferred Combination At Picks 3 & 4?

Xavier Taylor a big richmond supporter according to the Herald Sun.

Lets pick him.

Need some more boys in the club that love richmond. Should have picked murpyy reid and harvey langford

Watching some film, Taylor and Grjl probably for me
Should have picked Langford with 1? Yeah nah... happy with Sam

shedda was not a top 5 pick

who is our Dusty???, who is our Rance???

we need a guy that can win 3 norm smiths???

are you saying there is not a player that can win three norm smiths???? do we need better other players???

are we trying to win premierships or not???
You are stupid. One player in history has won 3 Norms... yet many teams have won premierships. You don't need a Dusty, you just cash in when you get one (every hundred years). Please stop making yourself look stupider than usual.

we are not other teams.

Richmond has not won a premiership since 1980 with a guy that that that wo n a Norm Smith in the gf and winning three Norm Smiths over his career.

those are facts, try and bend it all you like.

other clubs have different processes, procedures, cultures etc..., who knows

If Melbourne picked Dusty in the draft and we picked Tom Scully( Richmond supporter at the time) would we still be not winning a premiership since 1980???

so we should be chasing the next Tom Scully or the next Dusty? Is there another Dusty?

we are not other teams.

Richmond has not won a premiership since 1980 with a guy that that that wo n a Norm Smith in the gf and winning three Norm Smiths over his career.

those are facts, try and bend it all you like.

other clubs have different processes, procedures, cultures etc..., who knows
So your theory is we won't win another premiership until we have a guy that wins 3 norm smiths? Just read that again a few times. Amazing that we won 10 before having that guy... Just keep smoking

no you wrote that, I did not say it.

Do you realise Dimma has never won a premiership as head coach without Dusty?

what do you think I am trying to write???

could it be RFC where never going to win without a Dusty coming along because we simply could not identify talent well enough in the drafts and had to rely on a freak like Dusty to give us a massive leg up?

do you realise apart from the Dusty premierships RFC has never won a day time premiership in the AFL/VFL since the inception of the draft? I am not making this up, it is the truth/facts. What do you think that means?? I am not at the club, I and not pointing people out I am just writing those are the facts, nothing personal, no relationship inquiry here, I am well outside although a supporter, do you think there is a reason behind it?

here are some more facts Apart from Salmon and Fletcher, two freaks that where tall Essendon won premierships with one of the greatest ruckman in footy history in Simon Madden. So if Essendon are chasing CDT do you think they are clueless?

When Richmond won in the 1970's 80 we had a good ruckman in the General, Mark Lee. we had good talls, Nankervis is no scrub I do not think

this is part of our history DNA. Are there reasons why this is so? Can improvements be made??? can we be better??? can we help ourselves improve what we do to help us win more premierships??? do we want to win more premierships??? I want to win more premierships, do you want to win more premierships???

no you wrote that, I did not say it.

Do you realise Dimma has never won a premiership as head coach without Dusty?

what do you think I am trying to write???

could it be RFC where never going to win without a Dusty coming along because we simply could not identify talent well enough in the drafts and had to rely on a freak like Dusty to give us a massive leg up?

do you realise apart from the Dusty premierships RFC has never won a day time premiership in the AFL/VFL since the inception of the draft? I am not making this up, it is the truth/facts. What do you think that means?? I am not at the club, I and not pointing people out I am just writing those are the facts, nothing personal, no relationship inquiry here, I am well outside although a supporter, do you think there is a reason behind it?

here are some more facts Apart from Salmon and Fletcher, two freaks that where tall Essendon won premierships with one of the greatest ruckman in footy history in Simon Madden. So if Essendon are chasing CDT do you think they are clueless?

When Richmond won in the 1970's 80 we had a good ruckman in the General, Mark Lee. we had good talls, Nankervis is no scrub I do not think
I can't even begin to decipher your actual point here. I think you may be trying to say that teams need good players to win premierships, or you are saying that Dusty was good. Those two points would be your best ever.

Your point about Essendon not being clueless is probably off the mark given they have proven time and time and time again over the last 2 decades to be exactly that.

Nankervis we got with pick 45 and won 3 premierships with him. Did you know that Dimma has never won a flag without Nankervis, or Dan Rioli, or Nick Vlaustin, or Broad, or Jason Castagna. Should we find the next Jason Castagna? That must be your point. We need to find the next Jason Castagna before Essendon do... and then trade him out only to trade him back in before our window opens...

I think I'm doing this right #MagicLogic

I can't even begin to decipher your actual point here. I think you may be trying to say that teams need good players to win premierships, or you are saying that Dusty was good. Those two points would be your best ever.

Your point about Essendon not being clueless is probably off the mark given they have proven time and time and time again over the last 2 decades to be exactly that.

Nankervis we got with pick 45 and won 3 premierships with him. Did you know that Dimma has never won a flag without Nankervis, or Dan Rioli, or Nick Vlaustin, or Broad, or Jason Castagna. Should we find the next Jason Castagna? That must be your point. We need to find the next Jason Castagna before Essendon do... and then trade him out only to trade him back in before our window opens...

I think I'm doing this right #MagicLogic
nah you have some basics but your off the mark

Do you think Dusty was not good but great??? or was Dusty just good for you and it was more about Castagna?

The main point is this. A number of fans seem happy to swim in mediocrity. That is my impression. Why is this so??? If you swim in mediocrity you do not win anything until you get lucky and a freak like Dusty and a few coconspirators accidentally help us win three premierships and Dusty gets three Norm Smiths after Brendan Gale aimed high and reached for the sky and said we are trying to win a premiership in so many years, ya da da, and it starts with a vision.

The point is do enough have enough of the vision to get where we need to go?? If this is the case why is this the case and why do others not feel motivated to not aim higher and want the absolute best every time because they understand that is what it takes and even then you might fail but at least you have hope and are in with a chance!! Because to me Essendon seem desperate , motivated, and if they are chasing CDT at least it is probably an attempt to chase what they see as the best and not get cute as if one thinks they can play merry hell after getting ahead of themselves after winning a few flags, and think they are so good they can get cute and pull things out of their butts!!!

one of the things I noticed is for a team that was last last year and second last this year we only let so many go, compared to other clubs?? Why??? too precious??? other clubs seemed to let more go?? are we too comfortable??? are we too complacent?? Do we simply think things will fall our way, things will turn around, we just have to wait for it to happen instead of focusing on the future more and injecting more in to help turn things around long term??

When you are selecting in the top 5 you need to be sure he makes that grade

"Grlj took some time after his VFL experience to reflect on his year — and acknowledged he was “overthinking” parts of the game. I had a week off in between my Richmond VFL and my last Metro game, and I think I reflected on why I wasn’t playing as well as I did at the start of the year.

And when we came down to how I was going through the games, I was probably just overthinking a little bit
Because I think, for me, I’m playing my best footy when I’m not thinking — and it sounds really silly, but that (playing on instinct) was what I tried to get back to and just controlling what I could control.

Grlj said that struggle “definitely” presented during crucial Metro carnival games, adding: “You can put a lot of pressure on yourself because it is the biggest stage and everyone wants to play well. That’s why I didn’t get the best out of myself — just too much pressure, I guess.”

Sounds a bit like Tambling talking
This gives me the heeby jeebies for picking Grlj now.

Does he think there will be more or less pressure to perform at AFL level. More to think about and less playing on instinct.

Feels like the reason why you can see players have promising rookie seasons but then fizzle into nothingness.

Maybe it's nothing. But what if it's something that holds him back from reaching his potential....

With the delisting of Dow, I’m feeling we are opening up an inside mid position for Sharp. Added to that we have the likely retirement of Prestia next year. We also need to acknowledge the age profile of Hopper and Taranto in relation to our next premiership window. Finally, we have a history of selecting midfielders with low picks.

Now's the time to make sure our midfield is elite. If we pick players like Grlj and Taylor together and they don't play mid, if we do improve in 2026, we may miss our window of having a really deep and strong midfield going forward.

This gives me the heeby jeebies for picking Grlj now.

Does he think there will be more or less pressure to perform at AFL level. More to think about and less playing on instinct.

Feels like the reason why you can see players have promising rookie seasons but then fizzle into nothingness.

Maybe it's nothing. But what if it's something that holds him back from reaching his potential....
It sure does

Players that play out games in their heads before during or after games scare me and i wouldnt touch them with a top 5 selection.

Oh did i mention today Tobey Sharp and Cumming today ;)

It sure does

Players that play out games in their heads before during or after games scare me and i wouldnt touch them with a top 5 selection.

Oh did i mention today Tobey Sharp and Cumming today ;)
You haven't mentioned bidding on Dean if we are keen on Taylor

I must admit I dont spend too much time on our own board generally, however I have taken a particular interest in this thread as im quite interested in the draft this year and last for obvious reasons. I notice lots of negativity about this Mr magic and I've never taken too much notice to wonder why. I now finally understand, some of his posts in this thread... wow.
Like a train wreck but I cant look away...fascinating stuff.
Please Mr Magic... tell us more...

I must admit I dont spend too much time on our own board generally, however I have taken a particular interest in this thread as im quite interested in the draft this year and last for obvious reasons. I notice lots of negativity about this Mr magic and I've never taken too much notice to wonder why. I now finally understand, some of his posts in this thread... wow.
Like a train wreck but I cant look away...fascinating stuff.
Please Mr Magic... tell us more...
what train wreck do you speak of???

RFC was a train wreck until Dusty and a few others came along, or was it?? I mean I grew up following RFC on the TV.

Do you have a fascination with train wrecks??

Do you prefer kum bah yah???

After seeing RFC finally succeed after I joined Bigfooty and how things have developed since their premierships the supporter vibe in Melbourne is quite a eye opener I must say from online, albeit many online posters are not in Melbourne.

I cannot comment too much as never lived in Melbourne let alone Punt Road but it has been a eye opener but quick to draw not too many conclusions

If I was a teenager one would get lost in the maze but given my vintage and putting some pieces together is the puzzle starting to appear?? we shall see

am I more passionate about RFC because I grew up around others where they where not RFC supporters and had mostly other interests? possibly

If something is not on the tracks there can be no train wreck, no??? what tracks are you on if on any??

2-4 main list, 1-3 cat A rookie, 1 cat B rookie

Seems like the plan is to use 3 national draft picks + a 4th on Kellaway if he gets a bid.
I reckon they will look to trade pick 38 for a 2nd next year. May not get any takers

Can keep then to 36 senior players if there is no bid on Kellaway.

I reckon they will look to trade pick 38 for a 2nd next year. May not get any takers

Can keep then to 36 senior players if there is no bid on Kellaway.
I doubt we do that as we have the list spots and #38 gets us the 29th best available in the open draft

That doesn't get a very good player is this draft and will be more like pick 32 after bids are matched

We don't want to end up like GWS being hamstrung for list spots next year.