List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft

The way west coast is playing they will be priming to pick him before we can.

Their pick/picks will be going to Sydney for Chad Warner at a misguided attempt to fix their all time bad midfield.

Sydney probably then use that pick on Cooper Duff-Tylter

Their pick/picks will be going to Sydney for Chad Warner at a misguided attempt to fix their all time bad midfield.

Sydney probably then use that pick on Cooper Duff-Tylter

Ahhh yes I didn’t think about Chad Warner at all.

We have Smillie for that. We need a balanced midfielder with footskills far more IMO.
Smillie can be the mid with footskills. Could very easily be the first receiver to Sharp if that's the way the cards fall.

Watching WC they are absolute trash, reckon Warner will say no and they'll take Fred.

Smillie can be the mid with footskills. Could very easily be the first receiver to Sharp if that's the way the cards fall.

Watching WC they are absolute trash, reckon Warner will say no and they'll take Fred.
Yeah but Smillie won't ever be an outside player. Someone like Josh Kelly would be perfect, but with a little more pace.

Take best available and then trade / FA for needs.

Also there are usually good players later.

I reckon we've taken a plan like
A) Develop our existing younger players (esp 2021 draft)
B) Build a very good spine with top end mids (2024 draft)
C) Get 2 top end players of whatever kind that will strengthen the list (2025 draft)
D) Fill in around the skeleton we already have (2026 on)

What is important in 2025 is getting more talent in that will lead us to finals wins. Exactly what that talent is just depends. Assuming we have 2 * top 5 picks.
Another monster mid would be OK (after that I'd be worried about overload), fast skilled outside mid great. KPPs good (but we are already loaded). Brilliant small forward OK, only if brilliant. Superb ruck OK. Basically, we aren't overloaded anywhere with top end talent as yet, so just going for the best talent is a good strategy for 2025.

Take best available and then trade / FA for needs.

Also there are usually good players later.

I reckon we've taken a plan like
A) Develop our existing younger players (esp 2021 draft)
B) Build a very good spine with top end mids (2024 draft)
C) Get 2 top end players of whatever kind that will strengthen the list (2025 draft)
D) Fill in around the skeleton we already have (2026 on)

What is important in 2025 is getting more talent in that will lead us to finals wins. Exactly what that talent is just depends. Assuming we have 2 * top 5 picks.
Another monster mid would be OK (after that I'd be worried about overload), fast skilled outside mid great. KPPs good (but we are already loaded). Brilliant small forward OK, only if brilliant. Superb ruck OK. Basically, we aren't overloaded anywhere with top end talent as yet, so just going for the best talent is a good strategy for 2025.
2026 we also need to hit the draft hard. Last chance before tassie and provided it's strong start buying 1st round picks. 2027 could also be a good one for Tassie trade bait. 2-3 more good drafts before we rebuild as we effectively need to draft replacements for Hopper, Taranto, Lynch, Prestia, Short, Nankervis, who will be too old when we next contend.

And we're back! Thanks to the SANFL U18s comp kicking off earlier than everyone else we have new draft prospect footage from season 2025 to check out, starting with one of SA's best Sam Cumming. He showed signs of rust here with his typically excellent kicking skills letting him down a little and the connection piece with his leading forwards not quite being there, but there was plenty to like as well. He looks to have added plenty of muscle to his frame over the preseason and showed some power inside the contest. If he can emerge as a balanced inside/outside midfield threat in his top age year he could push his case as a top 10 fancy.

Jeez some big lads playing here...no whippets!
Sam Cumming looks vanilla...banger of the footy by foot...gave up half way through the vid...lost interest.

Jeez some big lads playing here...no whippets!
Sam Cumming looks vanilla...banger of the footy by foot...gave up half way through the vid...lost interest.
Russell Westbrook Reaction GIF by NBA

2026 we also need to hit the draft hard. Last chance before tassie and provided it's strong start buying 1st round picks. 2027 could also be a good one for Tassie trade bait. 2-3 more good drafts before we rebuild as we effectively need to draft replacements for Hopper, Taranto, Lynch, Prestia, Short, Nankervis, who will be too old when we next contend.

Absolutely.

But will we be pushing for pick 10 or pick 5 in 2026? Will out 2024 guys all look good? Or will they be spotty?

Anyway, I reckon we'll be bottom 5 this year. So will North.

I think we can almost guarantee a player like Dusty, Petracca, bontempelli, Lalor will come along this season. Guys that weren’t on the radar but kept building all season.

Very rare that the best underage player ends up being the best in the draft.

So looking at that they get 9 17 year olds in 2027
and their 1st draft is 2028 ?

would that mean they play their 1st game in 2029 ?

I think it is 8 rd 1 picks in the 2027 draft + 9 best 17yo's who would otherwise be eligible for the 2028 draft. And likely their own natural rd 1 pick in the 2028 draft. So 8 rd 1 picks before they play in 2028. Then essentially 10 x 2028 draft crop rd 1 picks. And I presume they can trade any or all of them but must trade at least some of them.

Something to keep in mind for future drafts

View attachment 2252949
Any idea if the 9 x 17yo are from 2027 crop that they grab a year early like GWS/GC did or 2028 crop? Think they said its only ones born Jan-June of relevant year and a year out thats tough. One thing was interesting that they don't get pick 1 in their 1st draft so if things go real **** up for us we won't be affected like previously.