Autopsy 2025 AFL Round 6: A Dog day afternoon

The Dogs have long been problematic.
I'm just not buying into this loss. Anyone who put 2mins thought into it would know this was very likely to have been a poor showing. It doesn't mean anything.
I know players often play with a niggle, but at some stage there’s a number that breaks the camel’s back.

Clearly Roma and Steele aren’t right. And Henry? Lasted 5 minutes.
That’s 3 in the midfield alone.

We got Boyd for a break glass situation. Now he’s not Marshall but he provides a contest at the very least.

Rest Steele. Blind Freddy can see he’s not right. Bring in Stocker to the mids, give Boxshall a go, bring Trav back. If nothing else they are fit and ready to go.

How was Keeler these past two weeks?

Whilst I love his courage at certain points I'm perplexed by anyone who is standing behind Stocker much less suggesting he should go into the midfield, has been one of our poorest players this year. Steele had a hard night along with just about everyone else but he was fantastic a few weeks ago when we beat Geelong so I really can't understand how anyone thinks he should be dropped.

Arie wasn't elite by foot last night when he had ball in hand so I'm really not sure why we would persist with him considering that's his main attribute. I'm not seeing it with Hastie either so I don't know why he would get a recall.

With all that said, besides Travaglia I don't see many guys knocking the door down to get back into this team. Maybe worth having a look at Boxshall I guess.

I know players often play with a niggle, but at some stage there’s a number that breaks the camel’s back.

Clearly Roma and Steele aren’t right. And Henry? Lasted 5 minutes.
That’s 3 in the midfield alone.

We got Boyd for a break glass situation. Now he’s not Marshall but he provides a contest at the very least.

Rest Steele. Blind Freddy can see he’s not right. Bring in Stocker to the mids, give Boxshall a go, bring Trav back. If nothing else they are fit and ready to go.

How was Keeler these past two weeks?
I'm all for those changes, l wish they'd been done last week TBH because Steele and Marshall should have been rested.
It's a tough call whether to bring in kids for a hiding or play underdone seniors instead.
Dammed if you do, dammed if you don't.

This week l want to see Moose, Hastie and Boxman but truth is that doesn't make us better.

Two weeks in a row we've started well then our ball use and decision making has gone to shit.

Obviously last night our mids were smashed.

I still think beating Carlton late last year was incredibly stupid.

Regardless, I would have taken 3 and 3 at the start of the year. We've played some good footy and have some really good young talent. Finals was always going to be a big ask with our ridiculously shitty draw, and with the injuries we've had it's that much harder.

Umpiring atrocious.
Why was beating Carlton last year incredibly stupid ?

Stupid comment imo. Not like the teams who finished below us have done anything

I'm just not buying into this loss. Anyone who put 2mins thought into it would know this was very likely to have been a poor showing. It doesn't mean anything.
A 12 goal thumping doesn't mean anything ? can't agree with that

St.Kilda play the WB again in Round 14. Won’t have to wait long for another fun match.
We'll win it, guaranteed. It'll come off the back of a string of losses, where pressure is mounted and a further rebuild is discussed.

Ross will put on a masterclass and have us back eating from the palm of his hand. I for one can't wait.

Perhaps a philosophical point of view is required. Our team didn't show up, hence l don't put much weight on it.
Reckon its a huge worry if a team doesn't show up for the 6th game of the season
big question marks on our players if thats the case

A 12 goal thumping doesn't mean anything ? can't agree with that
Second one for the year and would have been a third against the Orange Manlets until they took their foot off the gas in the last. It's just lame to roll over like that. I went down to Melb for Rd 6 last year vs the Dogs and it was pretty much the same. Disgraceful performance and ended up 64 - 124.

Having Steele, Marshall, Ro and Jones playing injured is just silly. They were literally backing out of tackling against one of the best contested midfields in the comp.
Blood the kids in the guts. The quicker we get Box, Trav and Pou in there the better.

SORT OUT THE INJURY / REHAB SITUATION SAINTS FFS!
We'll never compete if we don't fix it.

Well...what you should do, is write a strongly worded email to the club about how you're going to turn this team with your knowledge on drafting, tell them you should be head recruiter because your knowledge will win the next 15 flags for us

then log back onto bigfooty when every person and their dog is also saying that you should have drafted so and so.

really have no idea why people dont just get behind the players we have drafted instead of just waffling on over what could have beens
It’s a footy forum ffs mate of course we are gonna discuss contentious decisions the club makes
If you don’t like that - don’t read it and move on but dont be telling people what views they can have and that they “must obey and get behind club at all times”
WTF?

How can you write it off as poor showing? They’ve belted in recent times multiple times
60 points last year ?
Just another “down day” ?? Let’s ignore that?

If you question it then you'd need to consider potential contributing factors. I've been through that exercise already which is why I've written it off.
Will you write off the next time we get pantsed this year? And for the next year, and the year after that?
It happens primarily because our list has too many holes not because of other factors.

When he is fit and firing he came third with Trac in the Brownlow.

We need and expect him to be that player. For whatever reason he isn't.
That was five years ago, so a change in form isn't a surprise, but to drop off this quickly at 29 would be devastating for us. You'd hope he'd still have the pop and power away from contest.

He was never the fastest but he could move smoothly, not unlike Dawson, Cripps etc.

Cripps looked gone 3 years ago and came back to win the Brownlow. Would love him to stick it up us all.

Autopsy 2025 AFL Round 6: A Dog day afternoon