Discussion 2025 General AFL Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter sammm

At least Bergman is 23, what would Florent be, a top up to "keep us" competitive?
I'd rather be getting games into Hastie, who i believe has a lot more upside to come.

Florent has had some putrid games this year, and he probably needs to work on some stuff rather than change clubs ( or is he carrying something idk ).

He's a GOP. Hopefully we are past that point.

In the short term for a value pick Gringo. Obviously if he goes you take the bounty and florent.

If he goes we are much better off just getting games into Hastie and Travaglia. Hill might go a bit better off HB as well.
Wilson can play HB.

If we lose Nas we aren't short of HB's , we are short of elite talent.
Florent will not address that , value or not.

He's a GOP. Hopefully we are past that point.
GOP is a very generous assessment of his where he is at, he has absolutely stunk it up this year. One of those guys who looked like he would become a star but never quite kicked on, and now has regressed at a rate of knots, to the point of being dropped from an injury-depleted side sitting in 14th. The way he has been losing contests and turning the ball over, you'd think he was on the take unless you knew any better. A startling drop off for someone who should be in the prime of their career.

We are much better off taking a punt on guys like Carroll who have had limited opportunities & untapped ceilings than 27yos who inexplicably look like the game has passed them by already.

The only negative about Sydney sucking is that the AFL will rush in to prop them up soon enough.

You watch, one player will get nabbed by another team, and they'll swing in with more draft concessions, bring back COLA, and kiss the tip just to round things off.

The only negative about Sydney sucking is that the AFL will rush in to prop them up soon enough.

You watch, one player will get nabbed by another team, and they'll swing in with more draft concessions, bring back COLA, and kiss the tip just to round things off.
I read an article years ago, that basically said Sydney need to be playing well or else they’ll financially crash. Of course since the article, they’ve been consistently very good - except 2020, so it’ll be interesting to see how they go.

My swans supporting mate reckons Dean Cox hasn’t got a clue and is doing a speed run in losing the players.

I reckon he’ll struggle to beat Scott Watters speed run lol

Honestly, would love to see them spend some time in the bottom 4. Might give my mate some humility (it won’t)

I read an article years ago, that basically said Sydney need to be playing well or else they’ll financially crash. Of course since the article, they’ve been consistently very good - except 2020, so it’ll be interesting to see how they go.

My swans supporting mate reckons Dean Cox hasn’t got a clue and is doing a speed run in losing the players.

Honestly, would love to see them spend some time in the bottom 4. Might give my mate some humility (it won’t)
Cox is pretty much in the Watters position, Team has lost 2 grand finals in a quick amount of time (and 4 grand finals in 11 years), long standing coach gone and just flat out might be just a rather good assistant coach and not a head coach.

Time for the AFL to cut its losses and just kill the Tasmania team now. They clearly don’t want it.

Stick with 18 teams, and move on.

And in 20 years time, not one single person involved in Tasmania will admit their responsibility in killing it.

Time for the AFL to cut its losses and just kill the Tasmania team now. They clearly don’t want it.

Stick with 18 teams, and move on.

And in 20 years time, not one single person involved in Tasmania will admit their responsibility in killing it.
Pretty sure the AFL want Tassie in it.

Tassie itself is just a first class basket case atm.

Tassie has always been floated as an option for AFL expansion, but a common response was that the whole state would never align behind a team - that Hobart and Launceston would never support the team if it was based in the other city.

I wonder how much of this is playing out now?

I reckon the Cox situation is like the Watters situation- senior players got the previous coach in their heads so much over a few years, that they wouldn't listen to a new coach, and resisted any change. In both cases Cox and Watters wanted to bring in their way of coaching, including moving on a couple highly regarded senior players at some stage and that was the last straw. It's a case of the club needing to strongly support the coach and not letting the tail wag the dog- it happened to us, and maybe it's happening in Sydney. But I don't really care.

I don't think Tasmania have a big enough population to support a team without government backing, and governments change , and change their policy. So even if the deal is right, a new government can step in and pull the pin.

Tasmania have twice the population of Geelong.
Hobart has a population around the size of Geelong.
Launceston area probably around half the size of Geelong.

Now Geelong is very viable. Its viable because there is a city of 5 Million, just 60km away, every weekend Cats supporters and opposition fans flock from Melbourne to fill their stadium. They even have Ballarat (100 000) with a strong supporter base , just up the road.

Launceston is 200km from Hobart.

Now i know people who live within walking distance of Marvel. They go to the footy to see their team nearly every chance.
I also know people who live around 160km away from Melbourne. They go to the footy sometimes. Maybe 2 or 3 times a year.

People will fly from Interstate to Tassie, but i doubt it will be routinely 10 000 for each game, especially once the novelty wears off.

What's the big deal about the stadium, 23000 in Mac Point vs 18000 in Ninja? ( Hobart ) I'm thinking they just want something that doesn't look like Amateur hour on TV.

The last games (2024-25 ) in Hobart have averaged around 6760, while Launceston (capacity 15000 ) has averaged 12 000, so that's and interesting point as well.
I think its fair to assume that, if there was a Tassie team, then some more people might get more motivated to attend very frequently. But at the same time others might spread themselves thinner.
If there are only 4 games in Launceston, its a big deal, people make a point to go to those games. Maybe take a road trip.
If its every couple of weeks , they might go more often, but it probably won't be to see every game.

Launceston was filling to capacity a decade ago, but the novelty wears off.

Dean Cox honestly reminded me of Mark Neeld in his post match press conference. Just all very basic stuff said with a bit of emotion, and a clueless look in his eyes.

Labor has pledged bipartisan support for the stadium and football team moving forward, regardless of the result. Which is good news
They can pledge Bisexual, bi-annual and biathlon support, I don't think it will make a difference. I have suspected from day one that the roofed stadium criteria that the AFL insist is a deal breaker is their way of getting out of adding the Tassie team without actually having to say "no, we don't think it will work"........

Pretty sure the AFL want Tassie in it.

The AFL has burdened them with the roofed stadium which is going to be prohibitive to a small state with a limited budget. They let GWS and GC work out of a toilet cubical. They want Tassie to jump through hoops that others haven't had to.

I don't think Tasmania have a big enough population to support a team without government backing, and governments change , and change their policy. So even if the deal is right, a new government can step in and pull the pin.

Tasmania have twice the population of Geelong.
Hobart has a population around the size of Geelong.
Launceston area probably around half the size of Geelong.

Now Geelong is very viable. Its viable because there is a city of 5 Million, just 60km away, every weekend Cats supporters and opposition fans flock from Melbourne to fill their stadium. They even have Ballarat (100 000) with a strong supporter base , just up the road.

Launceston is 200km from Hobart.

Now i know people who live within walking distance of Marvel. They go to the footy to see their team nearly every chance.
I also know people who live around 160km away from Melbourne. They go to the footy sometimes. Maybe 2 or 3 times a year.

People will fly from Interstate to Tassie, but i doubt it will be routinely 10 000 for each game, especially once the novelty wears off.

What's the big deal about the stadium, 23000 in Mac Point vs 18000 in Ninja? ( Hobart ) I'm thinking they just want something that doesn't look like Amateur hour on TV.

The last games (2024-25 ) in Hobart have averaged around 6760, while Launceston (capacity 15000 ) has averaged 12 000, so that's and interesting point as well.
I think its fair to assume that, if there was a Tassie team, then some more people might get more motivated to attend very frequently. But at the same time others might spread themselves thinner.
If there are only 4 games in Launceston, its a big deal, people make a point to go to those games. Maybe take a road trip.
If its every couple of weeks , they might go more often, but it probably won't be to see every game.

Launceston was filling to capacity a decade ago, but the novelty wears off.

Tasmania has such limited options that it will be well attended. The Jack-jumpers franchise is the best attended NBL side going. Melbourne footy fans still go to see the AFL despite there being hundred of entertainment options.

Sorry Aleer looks useless ... really struggles to impact

GWS have fallen off an enormous cliff
One passage on the weekend sums him up, he almost tripped over the ball trying to pick it up under no pressure at all. He knocked it on and finally gathered where GWS had a 2 on 1, he missed the ball with his attempted hand pass but the throw found his team mate. The commentator called him out on the throw, fortunately for him the umpire didn’t.

He’s athletic and occasionally looks promising but imo that’s all he’ll ever be. Anyone advocating paying him overs and using a decent pick on him is just kidding. Hopefully he signs a new contract and saves us from ourselves.

The AFL has burdened them with the roofed stadium which is going to be prohibitive to a small state with a limited budget. They let GWS and GC work out of a toilet cubical. They want Tassie to jump through hoops that others haven't had to.
It’s an absolute joke, I hope Tassie call their bluff.

Tasmania has such limited options that it will be well attended. The Jack-jumpers franchise is the best attended NBL side going. Melbourne footy fans still go to see the AFL despite there being hundred of entertainment options.

Yet they are fighting over a 23 000 seat stadium.

Sure it would be nice for Tassie to have a team but if it doesn't work out no issue

With 19 teams .... one team will always be having a bye every week .... not sure how that is going to work .... or maybe 3 teams have a bye every week ... good luck working that fixture out

North just should have relocated there .... then they would have to sell games to Western Australia

Has anyone been down to Tassie to watch a footy game ?

It’s bloody cold and windy!!

We saw earlier in the year hawks v gws where the game was wrecked because one end had a 5-6 goal wind…

That wasn’t even winter.

If they build it, it will be one of the best things they have done. It would create tourism and they would get more prime time games.

They aren’t getting prime time games in winter with no roof.

On that, the AFL could definitely help out more with $$ on the stadium.