Autopsy 2025 Late flourish doesn't mask embarrassment

Who played well for the Blues in Round 15 vs the Roos?

I don't think so we have wasted this year. Issues were obvious in 24 and we made no changes even to assistants.

Therefore we will probably waste next year teaching a style that isn't absolutely putrid. The list isn't old and we have talent coming through

McRae turned it around quickly. Can happen

Was the most selfish, non-leader type performance I’ve seen him put in. Yes, we owe him a lot, but he is still the Captain, and his effort today was anything but a leader. Burning teammates in an open goal trying to snag it himself while under pressure, trying to break every single tackle (and failing) when he was well outnumbered, instead of giving it off to the first option. Again, it was our ‘leaders’ that let us down today, NOT the young blokes like Binns, Carrol & Lord. Ollie turned over a couple of howlers today but I think it was more because he was trying to create, spark us into action. I thought he was our best today. Did not stop trying all day when our leaders were busy sooking it up.
Once you put as an anomaly, but when patty gets the shits on about a coach, he really does take his bat and ball and go home.

Look, if the club doesn't swing the axe at selection this week, I'm seriously questioning whether I'll renew my membership next year.

Some of the senior players' efforts today were an absolute disgrace for AFL footballers. The kind of mistakes that would see a kid sent straight back to the VFL with a "sort this out if you want to play seniors" warning.

If we cop a 100-point belting because of it, don't pin it on the youngsters. Point the finger at the senior players who deserved to be dropped.

Cerra butchered the ball going forward nearly every time, showed zero defensive effort, and probably cost us four goals single-handedly.

Saad's lack of effort, especially in the second quarter, was blatant. One goal in particular had him standing there, hands on hips, not bothering to help when it was his turn to step up.

At the very least, those two need to make way for Wilson and Ben Camporeale.

I said it in the game thread, but we didn't lose today because of what the kids couldn't do. That's way too easy and a complete cop-out.

The season's gone. It's time to start building for 2026. Enough of the veterans' half-hearted efforts. We need proper accountability now.

If this group actually cares about winning, they need to stop blaming everyone else and own their actions. It starts at selection. Make the hard calls now, and it'll make the next ones easier.
Yep 100% and Acres the worst for me. Most atrocious foot skills i have seen ! Can't believe they keep playing him. Absolute liability and his costly turnovers and easy miss shots at goal are real momentum turners.

We lost our soul as a club in 2002 and we’ve never been able to get it back. Soon after that we lost 40 consecutive years of Carlton premiership players when Kouta retired.

Culture is very difficult to build and very easy to lose. We’re the greatest example of that.

Our on field “leaders” have absolutely no idea what it takes to make a team successful. They’ve also been enabled by 20 years of administrative ineptitude. Essentially Carlton is a nice place to make some money, meet some good mates and live the life of an AFL player. Our guys are happy with that and don’t yearn for more.

I’m not sure we lost our soul, more so we didn’t adjust to the new world order of equalisation. IMO the big **** up has been not persevering with coaches. In the modern era a club can’t just appoint a new coach who brings in 3 new star players and improve results within 12 months like you could in the 80s. I reckon we were the last club to realise times had changed. Nowadays success is about building a strategy and sticking to it. That means alignment between the key people…President, CeO, Football Manager, List Manager and Coach…something we haven’t come close to achieving because, aside from the President (who at Carlton is effectively appointed by the Board) we keep changing the people in those key positions, especially Coach and E
CEO.

Utter disgrace. This was the first footy game my boys attended this year, and many other families would also be in the same boat.

Imagine seeing your team down by 40 points, and kicking 2 goals to half time.

Asked my boy if he had fun today. "No, because Carlton was bad."
I said, "But the chips and the train ride were fun right?" "Yes"
:'(

Look, if the club doesn't swing the axe at selection this week, I'm seriously questioning whether I'll renew my membership next year.

Some of the senior players' efforts today were an absolute disgrace for AFL footballers. The kind of mistakes that would see a kid sent straight back to the VFL with a "sort this out if you want to play seniors" warning.

If we cop a 100-point belting because of it, don't pin it on the youngsters. Point the finger at the senior players who deserved to be dropped.

Cerra butchered the ball going forward nearly every time, showed zero defensive effort, and probably cost us four goals single-handedly.

Saad's lack of effort, especially in the second quarter, was blatant. One goal in particular had him standing there, hands on hips, not bothering to help when it was his turn to step up.

At the very least, those two need to make way for Wilson and Ben Camporeale.

I said it in the game thread, but we didn't lose today because of what the kids couldn't do. That's way too easy and a complete cop-out.

The season's gone. It's time to start building for 2026. Enough of the veterans' half-hearted efforts. We need proper accountability now.

If this group actually cares about winning, they need to stop blaming everyone else and own their actions. It starts at selection. Make the hard calls now, and it'll make the next ones easier.
I think I'm gonna start a campaign.

Do not renew your membership. The club will only start to change once they realise monetary support is not unconditional.

Honestly if anyone blindly throws hundreds of dollars each year at the club then you may as well flush it down the drain, you ain't getting your moneys worth.

Today was unacceptable, players looked disinterested and (never seen this before) the crowd were booing them at half and 3 quarter time.

I admit it’s tough to win with the below.

Missing from our best 22:
McKay, Kemp, Newman, Jagga, Walsh.

Out of Form:
Cripps, Weitering, Saad, Acres

Disinterested in any effort:
Curnow

Not up to the level:

Carroll (needs time in the 2s),
Binns, Motlop, Fantasia, Cincotta, Durdin, leadership group.

IMO… List, Coaching and Development are equally as bad as each other and all need drastic transformation.

But, even the most staunch sack Voss supporters. Would have to agree that Voss is behind the 8 ball with missing those best 22 players, along with having to carrying so many out of form and not up to standard players.

What immature players we have if this is the case. How many coaches do we need to go through?

Pull your fingers out. Play for the jumper or don't. If you don't, then leave.
I agree with you, but I think the most likely result is that the players get off scot-free...again. So disappointing to see the same thing repeating over and over again. When do we become a real club again and put heat on our 'stars' as well?

Yep 100% and Acres the worst for me. Most atrocious foot skills i have seen ! Can't believe they keep playing him. Absolute liability and his costly turnovers and easy miss shots at goal are real momentum turners.

Acres body doesn't allow him to put the mountain of work into the game going both ways this year as it once did.

This was his bread and butter as an AFL player. Not his fault that he broke himself for us but should be sent in for surgeries or whatever else gives him a chance to get back to his best and if impossible is past borrowed time.

It's up, there goes the conspiracy theory out with the UFO's in Dingly
Not on my socials, see screenshots attached. I don't think it's a conspiracy theory, maybe a PR damage limitation exercise given the comments under the full time posts.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20250621-215923.png
    Screenshot_20250621-215923.png
    976.3 KB · Views: 61
  • Screenshot_20250621-215914.png
    Screenshot_20250621-215914.png
    2.1 MB · Views: 62

Dog Tail Wag GIF

Definition of Carlton FC in century 21....

Good game plan or not, I can’t get past players who are paid extremely well and who are in the top % of footballers in the land, not able to do the basic things they are paid to do. I don’t expect them to be 100% effective but hitting targets by foot and hand is as bad as I have seen.

We don’t seem to play with confidence and belief that we are better than our opponents.

As much as I hate it, they need to sit down and watch how Collingwood play.

Out of Form:
Cripps

I cannot be bothered doing the homework.. but I'd love to see the massive drop off in Cripps stats right before Bolton, Teague and Malthouse were sacked.

The guy has killed more coaches than any other player in AFL history, and 2025 will likely mark the 7th coach he has played for.

Apart from a 10 game run in 2023 his captaincy has been nothing short of embarassing.

Autopsy 2025 Late flourish doesn't mask embarrassment