List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Maybe but unless Edmund is straight up lying then I'd say your second best and probably most important player and leader taking a call from a call from an opposition coach cause he is thinking about a move is a really bad thing. I'ts not cause I think the outcome is gonna be different in the end but the fact this hasn't been shut down from Wilkie and not the club is the issue.

Do you see players as important as Wilkie doing this at Geelong, Collingwood Hawthorn etc? You don't, cause their all on the same page buying into success as a group. It is not a good look.
Let's be realistic, every player is going to 'take the call' from Bevo.

They aren't going to hang up on Bevo and send him a text telling him to "f*** off".

The devil is in the detail, mate. In this case, not much. Edmund himself even says Wilkie is unlikely to leave.

A month ago, Wilkie said this below. Why does he have to speak every time something is speculated. He shut down any possibility of him moving already.

“I love playing at the footy club, I love being a leader of this club and being a vice-captain and just want this club to get better,” he told The Herald Sun.

“I think I am like every other Saints person who’s connected to this footy club who is a fan, member, employee, who just wants the signature of the No.7 (Wanganeen-Milera).

“If there is anything I can do to get that then that is what I’ll do and a few other key players. We are on this journey together and I want to drive it and anything I can do to make this club better I will.”

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We don't know Wilkie is doing anything, my man.

And just because Armoooooooooooooo said something and Edmund said a player answered a phone call, is not a reason to start wetting the bed.

There is no bad look here currently lol. Only one you are currently inventing under extremely tenuous links.

As I said before, someone on SEN suggested that they were in a group chat with Wilkie's missus and that she said he was going to the Dogs because the offer was too good to pass up. Hopefully it's all bullshit but the nerves are back up.

We really need to maintain all our current A graders and add to the pool, not down grade Wilkie for Jack Silvagni.
Two separate wives in two separate group chats for the same player?

What are the chances?

Forget the pick, Sanders, Freijah & O'Donnell.

Make em' hurt.
We don’t have the list spots.

I’d demand a blue chip in exchange for a blue chip. That’s reasonable. A short list of 2-3 players.

Then watch them squirm as they try to back away while telling the media that so and so player is up for trade.

Play them at their own game.

We don’t have the list spots.

I’d demand a blue chip in exchange for a blue chip. That’s reasonable. A short list of 2-3 players.

Then watch them squirm as they try to back away while telling the media that so and so player is up for trade.

Play them at their own game.
I would be asking for Naughton and this years first.

Take this with a grain of salt because I've never heard from this source before but I'm gonna raise it because I think it makes a lot of sense - Steele, Butler, and Clark are being shopped around to free up salary cap space to keep Marshall, Wilkie, and recruit Flanders

Also in no world is Butler worth the same as Flanders imo

Can definitely get on board Steele, Butler and Clark being traded.

Let's be realistic, every player is going to 'take the call' from Bevo.

They aren't going to hang up on Bevo and send him a text telling him to "f*** off".

The devil is in the detail, mate. In this case, not much. Edmund himself even says Wilkie is unlikely to leave.

A month ago, Wilkie said this below. Why does he have to speak every time something is speculated. He shut down any possibility of him moving already.

“I love playing at the footy club, I love being a leader of this club and being a vice-captain and just want this club to get better,” he told The Herald Sun.

“I think I am like every other Saints person who’s connected to this footy club who is a fan, member, employee, who just wants the signature of the No.7 (Wanganeen-Milera).

“If there is anything I can do to get that then that is what I’ll do and a few other key players. We are on this journey together and I want to drive it and anything I can do to make this club better I will.”

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We don't know Wilkie is doing anything, my man.

And just because Armoooooooooooooo said something and Edmund said a player answered a phone call, is not a reason to start wetting the bed.

There is no bad look here currently lol. Only one you are currently inventing under extremely tenuous links.
The media are hanging out for us to lose a player - you know - the exodus.

He just said on radio, well you know what goes around comes around. Saints have been stealing players from their clubs ( not in these words, but same sentiment) so it’s only fair they face this too.

They just hate us sticking our heads up.

As I said before, someone on SEN suggested that they were in a group chat with Wilkie's missus and that she said he was going to the Dogs because the offer was too good to pass up. Hopefully it's all bullshit but the nerves are back up.

We really need to maintain all our current A graders and add to the pool, not down grade Wilkie for Jack Silvagni.
Sorry mate , but the f-ing world has gone nuts if people believe the SEN BS , The caller sounds like some type have hills have eyes character that just needs some love , imaging how pathetic you have to be to go on air talking this Sh1t just to get some attention, and to do this in a chat that's outrageous

The media are hanging out for us to lose a player - you know - the exodus.

He just said on radio, well you know what goes around comes around. Saints have been stealing players from their clubs ( not in these words, but same sentiment) so it’s only fair they face this too.

They just hate us sticking our heads up.
100%.

We have started an AFL Cold War by throwing money around everywhere.

We have forced to clubs to pay more for the likes of Callaghan, LDU, Merrett (last year), even De Goey.

Now we are getting our own back with the likes of Windhager and Wilkie.

I'm sure one of these negative stories will be on the money eventually, but so far none over the past few months really have been.

And then it was incredibly awkward for him at the club and he left the second he could to have success elsewhere....

I doubt it will come to it but Wilkie requesting a trade to the Dogs would be a disaster for us moving into next year.
Just because it went badly for Dunkley doesn’t mean it goes badly for everyone.

Tom Papley for example wanted a trade to Carlton, they couldn’t please Sydney and he ended up staying. He’s perfectly happy there now.

We (Tasmanians) are our worst enemy.

The cost benefit analysis is totally out of whack for this report. Does not take into account the investment and $s it would bring into the state.

Can understand those who do not want a Tassie team, as a passionate Tasmanian (who lives 500mtres from Cascade brewery) I do!

We (Tasmanians) are our worst enemy.

The cost benefit analysis is totally out of whack for this report. Does not take into account the investment and $s it would bring into the state.

Can understand those who do not want a Tassie team, as a passionate Tasmanian (who lives 500mtres from Cascade brewery) I do!

Love Tassie, but my undying loyalty is to the Saints. I don't endorse anything that will potentially hurt the club.

IF Wilkie is genuinely agitating for more money and stirring the pot while contracted (who knows if this is true) then I wouldn’t give him the Captaincy.

Stuff that.
oklCuhc.gif