List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

It’s all going to come down to the vote of 3 independents in the Upper House.

What a joke.

If the Tasmanian Upper House knocks it over then I suspect the AFL will move quickly and put the Tasmanian licence to a final vote to the 18 clubs.

Without a stadium with a roof it will be a unanimous NO.

That will be the end of the Tassie Devils because none of the clubs wants it to go ahead.

The politicians in Tasmania have a binary choice now. Who knows which way it will go but the concerning thing for the Devils is that most of these clowns think that they can force the AFL to bend and abandon the demand for the roof on a new stadium.

That won’t happen.

It’s not a decision for the AFL Commission to make. It is for the 18 clubs to decide. And they will knock it over if given half a chance out of self interest.
Unfortunately the old labor leader (Rebecca White) politicised it at the start of the process. And now it’s festered into a giant mess.
Got a bunch of retirees on board, who want peace and quiet down here, rather than progress and now here we are.
I’ll be changing my username if it goes under. Genuinely will sell up and move north

The offer from Bulldogs to Cal is life changing (almost double his current salary), and he and his management are trying to use it as leverage to renegotiate and extend his current contract. A little bit to play out with the contract, but not so much the chances of Cal being a Bulldog. Going nowhere but we would be hopeful one or both of Marshall/Steele's salary isn't on our books next year so we can redirect the money. If Flanders nominates us, expect at least one those two to go.

I mentioned a few pages back, but I do hate that the clubs are being held accountable for the player managers incompetence. You were happy with $800k then, don't be greedy.
1758079560670.gif

We (Tasmanians) are our worst enemy.

The cost benefit analysis is totally out of whack for this report. Does not take into account the investment and $s it would bring into the state.

Can understand those who do not want a Tassie team, as a passionate Tasmanian (who lives 500mtres from Cascade brewery) I do!
I’m utterly shocked a verdant afl pasture such as Tassie is hinging on 3 Independents whilst the absolute wastelands of Western Sydney and Gold Coast have been gifted massive incentives.

Get this done Tassie!
Madness.

Clubs rarely force players to stay against their will but hopefully he gets some more to keep him satisfied and the Dogs piss off.

We have been throwing big offers at players at other clubs, stuffing with salary caps so it's probably a bit of karma anyway.
Players are forced to stay all the time. Many examples in the preceding pages.

1758079632996.gif

Of course he’d talk to Bevo.
Manager and media on the case.
Will push his contact with us up nicely.
101% certain he’ll be going nowhere.
Certainly club will have the last word if it even comes to that.
He’d be at Moorabbin for the next two years on not a penny more if I was negotiating with him.

The same with Merrett, did we have a gun to his head when he signed his current contract ?. I understand clubs are going to ask and usually no is enough.

Wilkie is contracted, there are rules and laws that deal with what the bulldogs and Beverage have supposedly done, we should use them.

Consistent with our political history since colonisation the Tas government's handling of the stadium is an utter fiasco. Th AFL has demanded a roofed stadium at Macquarie Point as a condition for the team and the government has supported that stance despite overwhelming evidence that it won't work due to being at Macquarie Point.

It is far too big for that location, it will dwarf that historic precinct and squeeze all the life out of that area for everything other than footy games.

The government has now stated the cost is $1.3B, but we don't know if that includes the ever increasing cost of the twin oval admin and training centres and the long list of other support infrastructure. Because we don't know my guess is that it doesn't otherwise they would say that loud and clear. More importantly the Planning Commission cost benefit ratio is about 50%, that is for every dollar spent the return is 50 cents, which would require an additional $50M per annum for 30 years to service.

Mac Point 2 is funded by the private sector to $900M at last statement. It will include 450 apartments, private hospital, restaurants, etc. About 11 years ago when Albo was the Minister for Infrastructure he gave the Macquarie Point Development Corporation many millions of dollars to develop that site. Zilch, nada, nothing happened, other than their jobs continuing.

The new $260M Federal government money for the "stadium" was for housing associated with the development of the site. Obviously, for political reasons, he can't take the money back, but Mac Pt 1 will not build housing. Mac Pt 2 will produce an income from rent, the hospital and the businesses regardless of whether or not a footy game is being played.

The Tas government's only statement for rejecting Mac Pt 2 is that if the private sector investment fails the state will have to pick up the tab. Then, by perverse logic they put the public purse further into debt by funding Mac Pt 1 from its very foundations. How do you possibly account for that rationale?

I want a Tassie team. A roofed stadium would be brilliant. We could easily have been building it. But, between the lazy, venal hubristic AFL and the Tas government we'll end up with nothing.

I’m utterly shocked a verdant afl pasture such as Tassie is hinging on 3 Independents whilst the absolute wastelands of Western Sydney and Gold Coast have been gifted massive incentives.

Get this done Tassie!
Madness.

GWS was a complete mis reading of the market by the AFL. Western Sydney is full of people of different cultures who are never going to be interested in AFL. That's evident by the lack of NGA kids they have taken from the western Sydney area.

GWS have been in the competition for 13 years played in a GF and a number of finals yet their game day attendance is no better that what it was when they first started and were giving tickets away.

They play a few games a year in Canberra and the crowds there far out number those in Sydney. AFL is not the No 1 game in Canberra but it wouldn't take much to make it such. The entire ACT is surrounded by AFL playing areas of NSW and 2 1/2 hours from Wagga a lot of the Canberra GWS crowds travel. Canberra would have been a much better investment for a new AFL club than Western Sydney.

Don't know what's happening with Wilkie, Windy etc... but it all feels a bit cut throat to me. It doesn't feel like we're a team where the players are willing to take unders to stay together. As soon as Nas and his manager were able to milk 2 mil out of us it felt like a sign of things to come. Some of the collateral damage for throwing such big money offers around.

I guess we'll see how it all plays out but there are some less than ideal signs.

He’d be at Moorabbin for the next two years on not a penny more if I was negotiating with him.

The same with Merrett, did we have a gun to his head when he signed his current contract ?. I understand clubs are going to ask and usually no is enough.

Wilkie is contracted, there are rules and laws that deal with what the bulldogs and Beverage have supposedly done, we should use them.
Player power under the AFLPA has gone to way too far under that arrogant flog Dangerfield's tenure. And the AFL happily let themselves get bent over and bullied in this CBA

Dogs have really ****ed us with the timing of this Wilkie thing. If the choice is between paying Wilks a bit more and only getting one of Aleer or Silvagni vs losing him that's a pretty easy choice imo
How in ****s name do we lose him? If he left it will be on Saints terms, it would be an absolute reaming, that the Bulldogs are not willing to do. Contracted and as per St.Neil Saints wont even take the call.

One other thing, where has Wilkie indicated he wants to leave? Anyone? Anyone?
Holy hell go to the gym and 5 pages of bed wetting over Twomey saying he wont leave and Edmund saying it is highly unlikely.
Put your nappies on and calm.the **** down. Jesus Christ. ( Not specifically directed toward the quoted poster btw)

There's no way they offer up Colonel Sanders but if they did, it would be Wilkie + Our 1st for the Colonel. He's a young midfield gun, better than Flanders and Cmac.
Is this a pisstake? Wilkie and OUR FIRST for Sanders.
Glad you aren't the list manager 🤣🤣🤣🤣