List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
Genuinely have no idea why he hates Saints so much. Would have thought even being mates with spud he may have had a little love for them but no. Takes every chance he can whether we’re doing good or bad, to smash us. Tbh most of the media do the same. It’s actual incredibly refreshing to hear someone stick up for us like a Bartel.

Imagine giving a pay rise to one of the best defenders in the game.. who is also about to be captain. Because we’ve been underpaying him substantially to date because we plucked him from the rookie draft 😂
How DARE we

He’s also criticized Essendon for holding Merrett (in spite of them being very clear they weren’t gonna trade him) against his will and yet seems to be implying that us keeping Wilkie and paying him to keep him happy is an issue.

campaigners been on the bong all morning

Give Boxshall the 9

Firstly, 38 is horrific

Secondly, he is the one who I think slots into Steele's role and can carry on his legacy as that tough team-first mid. Makes too much sense IMO

Flanders had 3 at the SUNS so wouldn't be surprised if he holds that

And 15 is already taken by Dow. Gut feel is Silvagni gets 21 next to his new partner Dougal

TDK I've no clue. As a guy on 1.7m surely he needs a low number. Maybe 9 but him replacing Steele is YUCK
Forgot about Dow!

I do Love “stainless Steele” Boxshall for 9
Ryan next to Collard for 3 makes the most sense.

Tdk 21 Silvagni 27

Man.. I don’t have the heart to see Steele going as a positive. It’s funny, I don’t think I’d be this upset if NAS had left but that is exactly the mindset shift that has to happen right now. No space for sentimentality, only for improvement and success. Can’t hold onto loveable characters if they aren’t apart of that success and it sucks.

"The move is to reminiscent of the Membrey move from last year for me."

It is, but not in the way you mean.

Sharman was better than Membrey was this year. Tim would have been in the VFL with us most games in 2025. If Max had not gotten injured, even more so.

In 2026 he would not get 1 game with our seniors. Sharman, Owens, Phillipou, Taura would all be picked before Tim.

Steele is pretty much they same. He may have snuck in a few games in 2026, and not at all in 2027.

Macrae is better than Steele at present. And if some of our kids step up next year, even Macrae may be struggling to keep his place.. Macrae AND Steele is no viable in 2026.

Steel great player for us, but he had reached his use by date with us.

You think a player Collingwood used every week wouldn’t fit into our forwardline? I know we were a world beating super threat this year but let’s be real for a moment. We were short up forward all year and using Owens as a key forward in spite of the fact that he was struggling and outsized. We were lucky we had Wood to spend considerable time forward to compensate but he is better on the wing. Membery absolutely plays afl every week for us this year. Next? Well with De Konning likely pushing Marshall forward more you’re probably right, but that depends on if Max gets up and running or not but that still is far from certain.

Macrae is better than Steele that I agree with. But again, we brought in exactly one extra midfielder over this trade period into a undermanned midfield and shipped off our second best proven midfielder to make space! We are hardly overflowing with midfield talent. Hopefully the young guys keep there momentum from this year and Steele would find himself on the outer by 2027 (he’s still not a shabby half forward mind you if a Pou and/or Wilson moves more into the mids) but I’d rather not count our chickens for once and as it stands most of the top sides have between 2-4 midfielders all as good or better than our best.

Old Damo was ropable last year when we got band 1 compo for Battle as well, but he certainly didn't have any problems with Ben McKay getting band 1.
I reckon he is as dumb as his glasses are thick, and they are some very thick glasses

View attachment 2459397

Really REALLY doesn’t like us, so much so that…

View attachment 2459398

He’ll even pump the dogs up with a story that’s absolutely false to whack us
Dont forget that Anger, Sadness and Rage generate clicks at a much higher rate than truth

this is the world we live in now when it comes to online media

He’s also criticized Essendon for holding Merrett (in spite of them being very clear they weren’t gonna trade him) against his will and yet seems to be implying that us keeping Wilkie and paying him to keep him happy is an issue.

Even more absurd is how easy he has been on North Melbourne during this trade period. They did absolutely stuff all, stuck in a no man's land that will only get worse once Tassie hits, and Damo says nothing...

Anyway, I'm kinda loving the haters. Bring it.

The media gets too emotional about player movement.

Bottom line is loyalty is dead the AFLPA have ensured that over the last 10-20 years.

The game is heading the American route has been the moment free agency came in.

We just ripped the band aid off and said screw it.

I have 0 issue with blindsiding aleer couldn’t care less about his feelings we made a decision in the best Interest of the club.

Steele was a great servant but he had past his used date as an elite mid. It’s an expensive luxury to have sitting in the VFL.

Next step is allowing the traded to clubs if they don’t have a no trade clause

ouWQzzM.gif

Don’t really give a fk with Steele leaving tbh.

It was all respectful, he helped us as a club and we helped him progress his career as a footballer.

It’s professional sport, this is how it goes. He’s done exceptionally well, better career than most AFL players could dream off. Turning 30 in a month and a half. Will be decent for the decent Dees. That’s that.

I must say, whatever emotional attachments I had to him through a parasocial fan to athlete relationship pretty much peaked with our 2020 finals win, which I won’t elaborate on other than to say I grew less enamoured with him, personally, as a leader of our club. He was a bloody decent footballer in 2021-22 though, well earned accolades.

I had hoped we’d keep him as a depth mid, tackling machine, former captain yada yada, but that was back when I thought he was front loaded. Clubs made the right choice here and on we go.

Will add: Boxshall is as good of a like for like apprentice to slot right in as you could ask for. Big bodied, decently skilled, excellent marking, seems a big tick so far. He’s why I’d hope Owens could be in the middle, but now I think it makes a lot of sense having Box in the mids and Owens as that power forward.

Steele St
Jack has really dropped off and struggled in the last few years. We have more and more big bodied kids ready for midfield minutes.

I think it’s somewhat obvious he wasn’t a Ross favourite nor was Jack a Ross disciple. That’s also okay, but it shouldn’t really surprise anyone that this is the outcome. He wasn’t part of the long term future and scored an extra year on his contract to go play footy without anyone threatening his position in the side at Melbourne
Reckon that’s why I’m not that fussed about Jack being moved on…. Blind Freddy could see this was on cards for at least this season. If anything I’m surprised it didn’t happen earlier, Ross was obviously waiting for the kids to be ready to take over.

TBH I would have liked him to be kept on as depth but that would have been doing the wrong thing by a great clubman.

Personally I think this benefits Windy more than anyone. He wanted the big deal & now he’s got it, he’s got some big boots to fill.

The only way to shut the muppets like Purple up is to win a flag. Anything we do until then will be spun as a negative aimed to destabilise us and bring us down
FTC, shaking his fist at the sky/yelling at kids to get off his lawn. We got your red swingline stapler buddy, we got it.

Attachments

• HxlDDLDJdFAaWZaFgBuZZmHbB1ouWd (1).jpg
    HxlDDLDJdFAaWZaFgBuZZmHbB1ouWd (1).jpg
    19.4 KB · Views: 69

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V