List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Stacked ,, Macrae is the only proven A grader , Pou is very promising but the rest you name are just GOP's , We are miles off being a stacked Midfield

On paper a fit Steele, Macrae with a developing Phillipou and Windhager and plenty of depth and developing youth should have been a strength. A few injuries and it’s a sometimes great/ sometimes awful performing line.

Yep, people are forgetting that we've had some great games this year where we have absolutely dominated in the midfield. Geelong, richmond second half, port and fremantle. It just about consistency.

Good maybe they’ll save us from ourselves, $1.7 for a ruck is an absolute joke. TDK can play and I like him but if that’s what it takes to get him to st Kilda then carlton can keep him.
I don't know l have to say this so many times. Using stored excess salary cap space that will become defunct to front load that contract makes it affordable. It's not effing 1.7m in any way that matters to the TPP.

I'm not opposed to getting Aleer but if he was that good, he'd be playing. JSOS was very, very good against us and Carton fans seem to suggest that is his current standard form.

As you say, we need stars. So I say let's keep our early draft picks to find or trade for star midfielders, not to sure up our defensive stocks.
For his entire career he was a GOP and now he has a good season at 28 and we should be signing JSOS, No thanks.

I can give you further reasons why i can see complete value in Aleer without even knowing if he is good enough for the salary. He is completely comfortable at a high ball. We have not a single back half player who can play like that. It means your other defenders just need to hold position at a contest when he is near. Which allows him to attack the ball.

Throw Tauru next to him and in theory you should dominate the air. I know we suffer from a lack of gun mids. But we didn’t lose Friday night because of our midfield. We absolutely got cooked aerially. Fast forward to round 1 2026 and give me.

TDK Aleer + King Tauru in our side.

And for what it’s worth I reckon he doesn’t cost us our first and unless it’s a very high first rounder - that we can grab a gun mid. I’m looking at a tall forward potentially.

Its not the ruck or even the money at this point, its what it represents. If we can't get this done, then any perception going forward of us being a destination club for young players will be permanently shattered. Finn Callaghan 2.0.

Players perceptions will only get worse and with the amount of endorsements and alternative ways to make money increasing, there will be no amount in a contract that will be enough to get anyone except blokes looking to retire in 3 years. This cannot be that hard to grasp.

The salary cap spike in the next 10 years is going to be massive so you blokes have to stop looking at this figure from the perspective of what the AFL used to be. Additionally, with Tassie coming into the league there will be a further dilution of the talent pool so genuine superstars will be worth their weight in gold.

This complaining about contract values is a bit silly when looking at the increase in revenue that the AFL is making year upon year. If someone should get paid more, its the players and not the bloated corporate suits and tiers of middle management that keep getting added year upon year.

I'm agnostic about TDK. Spending huge money hoping for cap rises and other things to justify it as good management is dumb. If we can front load it to pay more early and it gets cheaper as it goes might make some sense but he needs to be one of the top 10 players in the league to justify the wage. We need to be very certain that he's a game changer, not just take him for optics.

He's still a ruck man that can drift forward and play okay. If we get him we need to be sure that he's on the trajectory to be the best ruck in the comp.

For his entire career he was a GOP and now he has a good season at 28 and we should be signing JSOS, No thanks.

I can give you further reasons why i can see complete value in Aleer without even knowing if he is good enough for the salary. He is completely comfortable at a high ball. We have not a single back half player who can play like that. It means your other defenders just need to hold position at a contest when he is near. Which allows him to attack the ball.

Throw Tauru next to him and in theory you should dominate the air. I know we suffer from a lack of gun mids. But we didn’t lose Friday night because of our midfield. We absolutely got cooked aerially. Fast forward to round 1 2026 and give me.

TDK Aleer + King Tauru in our side.

And for what it’s worth I reckon he doesn’t cost us our first and unless it’s a very high first rounder - that we can grab a gun mid. I’m looking at a tall forward potentially.

No we lost because our defensive line was shit, our midfield struggled to contain theirs and we lacked a tall forward who could mark or spill the ball and let them take heaps of marks across HB.

If Howard had been mobile I think we would have won that. Even if King had played and Hammer went back we probably win it.

No we lost because our defensive line was shit, our midfield struggled to contain theirs and we lacked a tall forward who could mark or spill the ball and let them take heaps of marks across HB.

If Howard had been mobile I think we would have won that. Even if King had played and Hammer went back we probably win it.
I think the midfield kept that game to a line ball. They battled manfully and definitely didn’t take the chocolates.

BUT, We had no talls upfront and none down back who were winners.

Our game is built on transition. We needed an intercept mark to get the ball outwide into our runners. We just watched Howard and Wilkie get smashed all night.

That was your game.

I think the midfield kept that game to a line ball. They battled manfully and definitely didn’t take the chocolates.

Our game is built on transition. We needed an intercept mark to get the ball outwide into our runners. We just watched Howard and Wilkie get smashed all night.

That was your game.

We battled there. That was the issue. It was all about holding them back, not playing on our terms. We need a third tall defender and if Howard is done another tall defender. That was the first time I've really seen how much we missed Max King. The bombs inside the forward 50 kept coming back out as fast as they arrived from Carlton marks.

JSOS is a Battle replacement not a true KPB. We probably need to reposition Hammer down there with King back.

That was your game.
This is a hot take. Every game we’ve lost this year has been a loss in the coal face, Carlton game included. We were down 10 clearances and 9 in stoppages. We can’t get clearance talent in quick enough. That’s the common denominator.

Remember when we almost spent millions trying to get De Goey over? What a colossal ****ing mistake that would have been.

I don't think he would have made a difference still. He would have played out his career in a mid table side. If he plays too much midfield he tends to break down too. Chasing ready made players then was when we should have been drafting hard. We'd look more like Adelaide now who are starting to see reward for sacrifice.

This is a hot take. Every game we’ve lost this year has been a loss in the coal face, Carlton game included. We were down 10 clearances and 9 in stoppages. We can’t get clearance talent in quick enough. That’s the common denominator.

And the games that we looked best in were when the midfield got hold of the opposition. That Geelong game we looked like the best users in the AFL for a half. Against Richmond we took control off them and debased them.

Luckily the Eagles have a very average midfield. We should be able to get on top of them if we come to play.

Nah stavro is right. We lost clearance but we restricted the impact of most of theirs. We scored 4.3 to 2.5 from stoppages against Carlton

Biggest problem was our inability to take a contested mark in our forward half, and then our inability to pressure them on transition without Butler or Collard

If King was playing , a lot of those dropped marks and Carlton intercept marks don’t happen

Nah stavro is right. We lost clearance but we restricted the impact of most of theirs. We scored 4.3 to 2.5 from stoppages against Carlton

Biggest problem was our inability to take a contested mark in our forward half, and then our inability to pressure them on transition without Butler or Collard

If King was playing , a lot of those dropped marks and Carlton intercept marks don’t happen

Not just Collard and Butler. We applied no pressure to them as they went from HB to HF without a player getting near them.

And the games that we looked best in were when the midfield got hold of the opposition. That Geelong game we looked like the best users in the AFL for a half. Against Richmond we took control off them and debased them.

Luckily the Eagles have a very average midfield. We should be able to get on top of them if we come to play.
Absolutely agree. As we can see here, when we win clearances and get first possession, and play a high disposal game we win. The other stats around marks, intercepts, etc are neither here nor there

Attachments

• IMG_6763.png
    IMG_6763.png
    47.4 KB · Views: 5
People are concerned about the money being thrown at TDK which I can understand in part.

We have to remember the big picture is its a lot more than just one player, its about the club finally landing a big fish free agent and ultimately looking like a destination club. I see the trade akin to us getting Gehrig and Hamill through the door all those years ago. Hopefully it will be the start of other players seeing a future at the club and wanting to come across.

The other thing that TDK is an onfield leader he plays with passion and is just coming of age as a ruckman.

We’re putting too much pressure on either end with our forward and defensive lines by not getting clean ball from the middle. That’s the issue.

We could have the best talls in the league but we’re not getting enough contest in the guts to alleviate either end.

We all knew this year was likely a write off, too many preseason injuries, big holes in the team and even the club coming out and saying not too expect anything. However, if we retain NAS and land TDK, aleer , Bergman and stay healthy (especially king) which is a big IF. Then there is a lot to be excited for next year and I see us easily as a finals level team with a strong young core that is only going to get better. But we need to nail this off season as I think it is our most important one for years. Go saints.

And yet, with 9-10 minutes left it was a 3 point game. Carlton’s tall forwards kicked 6/11 goals and tore us apart as we ramped the pressure up with repeat entries.

This side isn’t set up needing midfield domination. It’s set up to run and ideally you do that off intercept as your players are already positioned high and theirs are out of position.

And yet, with 9-10 minutes left it was a 3 point game. Carlton’s tall forwards kicked 6/11 goals and tore us apart as we ramped the pressure up with repeat entries.

This side isn’t set up needing midfield domination. It’s set up to run and ideally you do that off intercept as your players are already positioned high and theirs are out of position.
And, yet we still lost the game like every other game this year when we’ve lost clearance in the middle. And, interestingly every game we’ve won clearances we’ve won the game. Who would’ve thought.

It’s not a sustainable brand for any side to get pantsed in the middle but somehow win games of a running game of either line.

The reality is if there’s no pressure in the middle, and it’s getting run out, we’re not even giving ourselves a chance for an intercept game.

Demons president Brad Green said earlier this year a Pickett trade would take “two or three first-round picks” but a swap for Jackson could be a fair price.

3 first round picks for a good small forward - what a joke

what would Butters be worth

Demons president Brad Green said earlier this year a Pickett trade would take “two or three first-round picks” but a swap for Jackson could be a fair price.

3 first round picks for a good small forward - what a joke

what would Butters be worth
Brad tweeting again?

What would you like us to do? Who shall we target?
Personally I think Silvagni would be an incredible target for us considering the price attached. TdK is definitely far lower risk than a scumbag like JDG is but I'm very, very reluctant to tie up big dollars in a ruck.

Aleer looks like a great prospect too.

FWIW my comment about JDG wasn't a crack at anything we are doing at the moment, just a general observation after I saw him on the injury list this week.