List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Just a quick look at the restricted free agents over the past two years who stayed since it was the easiest list of sought after OOC players to find.

Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane) - June 3rd
Andrew McGrath (Essendon) - May 1
Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong) - late October
Ben Ainsworth (Gold Coast) - April 27th
Blake Hardwick (Hawthorn) June 12
Cam Zurhaar (North Melbourne) July 29
Will Hayward (Sydney) - June 3rd
Tim English (Western Bulldogs) - August 11th
Darcy Parish (Essendon) - August 30th
Mason Redman (Essendon) - July 25th
Harry Himmelberg (GWS) - August 2nd

That is all over the calendar.

If you were Nas' manager, what would you be telling your client right now knowing the situation? You've got a cashed up Saints and the pull back to SA where both SA teams will do whatever is required to get him over the line. Let's not forget the media pressure and storm surrounding it at the moment.

You'd be telling your client there is no benefit in running to sign on the dotted line and better to keep playing really well and keep St Kilda hanging with the massive cap.

He’ll get paid plenty if he stays at Carlton. If he comes to st Kilda, it’s because he wants to play for st Kilda.
Joff - I believe there is a bit more to it than just the moula - i think his family are saints fans so believe it is both the money AND the opportunity as far as I know. Don't think he would pull on a saints jumper and just go through the motions..too good a player and he would want it to be a success.

I think everything about this is right except...

if NWM leaves it will be for less than value in return. As I have said, it is a disaster for us and the league if he leaves. Both SA clubs have very little we want that they would be willing to part with.
But if he leaves we can’t control his decision to nominate a particular club or both clubs.

We can only do the best we can. Competition would assist in negotiating any future trade.

It’s all speculation of course. He could re-sign with us today. I’m sure we are firing in our best offer to convince the lad that we offer the best environment for BOTH his football and his life.

Going back to Adelaide will not necessarily provide the quality of life the lad craves. He will be living in a fishbowl. The media in Adelaide are a shit show.

But we can only control what we can control.

I must admit I’m sick of the speculation and am starting to wonder why NWM hasn’t re-signed with us if he wants to stay. But it’s his decision and his life. He is entitled to take his time.

But if he leaves we can’t control his decision to nominate a particular club or both clubs.

We can only do the best we can. Competition would assist in negotiating any future trade.

It’s all speculation of course. He could re-sign with us today. I’m sure we are firing in our best offer to convince the lad that we offer the best environment for BOTH his football and his life.

Going back to Adelaide will not necessarily provide the quality of life the lad craves. He will be living in a fishbowl. The media in Adelaide are a shit show.

But we can only control what we can control.

I must admit I’m sick of the speculation and am starting to wonder why NWM hasn’t re-signed with us if he wants to stay. But it’s his decision and his life. He is entitled to take his time.
I don't disagree with any of that and am not mad at NWM or likely to be.

But if he leaves, the system will work against us getting fair value. The Crows and Power can't trade a player back against their will. Neither have a draft pick this year commensurate with NWM's on field value, and any future pick would likely be lower due to NWM's presence at that club. All the leverage is with the parties not named St Kilda if NWM decides to leave. We would be forced to take unders and go backwards as a consequence.

It is why we must continue to be loud and public about the structural issues with the system, because they are unarguably a contributing factor to our lack of success.

We should get in Butters ear. If Butters' says yeh I could go to the Saints, then I reckon that will be the deal.

They just need a storey. Until he signs it’s a story but I reckon he signs soon
Some said it would be Tuesday. However as others have noticed it's now Wednesday, maybe not this Tuesday.

Nathan Buckley reckons the Hawks need to drop Battle or Barrass. Can't play them all. It would be a pretty sad state of affairs to be playing his footy at Box Hill for a couple of years until Sicily retires.
It always seemed a strange move to recruit both on that money

That is a fascinating piece of history, and one of many parts in the annals of history, in a chapter titled "St Kilda bad luck"

Along with things like:

- The 2004 preliminary final ground invasion which cost St Kilda momentum after they'd opened up a 14-0 lead, Port steadying immediately afterwards and eventually Saints lost by 6, missing the chance to play a cooked Brisbane who they held a 2-1 record over in the prior 3 meetings

- Paul Chapman's 2009 novel treatment for his injury which was later banned, allowing him to play the GF

- Hawkins poster

- Milne's bad bounce in 2010

- The ridiculous fact that draws were allowed at all - rule rightfully later changed

- McCartin's concussion dramas

Etc
Let's not forget that in 1913 we actually defeated the Lions in the Prelim only for them to challenge us to a rematch!
Where was that in 04 and 05?

He’ll get paid plenty if he stays at Carlton. If he comes to st Kilda, it’s because he wants to play for st Kilda.

Joff - I believe there is a bit more to it than just the moula - i think his family are saints fans so believe it is both the money AND the opportunity as far as I know. Don't think he would pull on a saints jumper and just go through the motions..too good a player and he would want it to be a success.
All you need to ask yourself is:

If the money was the EXACT same at both clubs. Would he be leaving?

The answer is no.

There is a substantial difference in guaranteed money and it’s big enough to make this move happen.

These guys have limited careers. It’s absolutely a risk to turn down the rumoured money on offer.

I'm not sure what's going on here, I can't tell if JB is trying to wind you up like he does everyone else but I'll add my two cents.

Rooey was just added to the AFL Hall of Fame, he is now back in Australia. Why is that important, perhaps it's not. TDK barracked for Carlton as a young lad then changed to St Kilda due to Rooey.

Yep, he barracked for St Kilda, so sure, money helps. It sure helps the Carlton narrative that they are only losing a player because they aren't frivolous with cash. BUT, to say TDK is only chasing coin is a rubbish copium story designed to save face for the blues and paint us as desperate.
I am not winding anybody up. It takes half a million dollars a year for 7 years for us to get him.
Try offering 1.3 compared to Carltons 1.2 and see if it works for you.
Absolutely hilarious to say well he supported the Saints and Riewoldt is back like he is a 12 y.o fanboi.
He is coming for no other reason but the huge overpay.
And this is no reflection on TDK, Carlton or the Saints.
TDK, would be foolish to turn down life changing money considering he could do a career finishing injury at any time.
Carlton, basically can't afford to match, and Swan is looking to salary dump someone like Walsh as they have stuffed their SC.
Saints, as has been pointed out before, because of the constraints of the AFL, not attracting big stars etc, has to offer outrageous money to a very good but not great ruckman.
Make no mistake, TDK is more than required to play to his absolute best. And he will, he is a professional footballer, you take the big $$$, you perform.
I also expect he will settle into a very good football environment at the Saints and will en up loving the place. The Saints have improved off field dramatically.
But to convince yourself he will come to the Saints for reasons other than the money is a bit laughable to be frank.
We tried two years ago when he was a reserve player for Carlton and he wasn't interested.

All you need to ask yourself is:

If the money was the EXACT same at both clubs. Would he be leaving?

The answer is no.

There is a substantial difference in guaranteed money and it’s big enough to make this move happen.

These guys have limited careers. It’s absolutely a risk to turn down the rumoured money on offer.
All of Goddard's family were massive Carlton supporters, he has never been near the place.
If he was so keen on the Saints he would have come two years ago.

He won't dial it in, he will get around his team and team-mates and will end up loving the club as it is now well run.

However we have had to overpay and still apparently he was wavering. Can't blame him, has played at Carlton his whole career and probably loves the place.
People think I am knocking the Saints by saying he is only coming for the money.

Could not be further from the truth. We are a well run club, severely hamstrung by the corruption of the AFL. We can't rebuild through the draft because of FS,and NGA corruption, we can't attract a grade recruits because we get shit timeslots and draws and never get a blockbuster while others less successful in the past 20 years get two or three a year.
We have one avenue and that is saving on the SC. We have done that brilliantly and now can offer huge money for a player who could be a star. The choice is debatable although the club targetted this player two years ago.
The player in my view will come for money only. But that's the start, he will settle, fit in, grow with the list and become a Saint.

They seemed to be going for a backline of intercept defenders only. Unusual model.
Do you think a bit of hubris maybe? The hok ball stuff, theoretically media blowing smoke up Mitchell's arse about how great he was at luring players etc?

I thought it was curious to get both Battle and Barris.
You can get on a high, just pipped in a PF, two backline recruits would look like the topping required.

99% of what has been said in the media is all piss and wind.

The way Nas has spoken, particularly when he got bailed up at the airport leads me to believe he's staying. He's made it really clear he's happy at the Saints, and wants to be part of building something special here. It's been a different way of phrasing things to the likes of whippy battle etc. I could be wrong... I don't have any magical inside knowledge fairy dust that I wish to state as fact. Just logic and reading what has been presented.

Of course he wants more money. At some stage though, it's time to bite the bullet.

There's only two things that worry me. 1. How embarrassing losses to the likes of West Coast shake his belief, and 2. He hates me.... which I've put down to the fact that my girlfriend is so hot and I own so many guitars.

No chance he comes here. It'll either be the Dogs or Geelong.
If we throw stupid money at him, he may consider. Cats cant just get everybody, and are the Dogs really that much different to us?

Yes they have a better list, but they continue to waste it, they also play in front of crap crowds.

If he wants the big club vibe, then his options are Pies, Carlton, Richmond, Essendon or Hawks. Carlton and Bombers are cooked. Richmond will take another 3+ years, and Pies wont be able to pay heaps, and have SFA draft capital.

I wouldn't put us as a front runner but if we lose NAS, and throw 1.5m a year at him surely he considers that.

I think we keep NAS anyway, but we are not NO chance of getting Butters.

TONY74 saying on SS that Ro and Nas will stay!

View attachment 2340194
The Little Mermaid Dancing GIF

Do you think a bit of hubris maybe? The hok ball stuff, theoretically media blowing smoke up Mitchell's arse about how great he was at luring players etc?

I thought it was curious to get both Battle and Barris.
You can get on a high, just pipped in a PF, two backline recruits would look like the topping required.
They still need a gun tall forward, and probably 1 more elite mid off being a real contender IMO.

If Nas were to nominate the Crows, what do we even get from them?

Soligo? Worrell? Charlie Edwards + a F1st?

Port seem to have more currency with Bergman and obvious option to come to the Saints, but yeah... Slim pickings ATM...