The information was correct at the time I was told it
So that means I’m still right

Is that how it works 😂

I did say he was staying and if he doesn’t that means I was wrong

Not that hard to say

You should try it
Doesn't it just mean your information was correct at the time to the knowledge of your source?
Isn't that what stav basically said?

The Crows did a good job last year getting a bunch of decent mid 20s guys and it improved them heaps. Be interesting if we try to do something similar.

I wonder if we have a look at Jai Serong, hasn't played AFL this year but stuck behind some good players.

I wouldn't mind shipping out some older guys as Stavro was suggesting if we can replace them with a few 23-25 year olds.
The usual ratbags will accuse the club of one of their slogans like 'topping up', so they don't have to do any analysis of the actual prevailing conditions.
And don't mention Serong, the usual suspects will get all triggered and use another vacuous slogan on you 🤣🤣

A fair bit riding on NWM for most fans, the fact that we’re still gnashing teeth about drafts 10-15 years ago shows how badly we’ve missed taking stars in the draft… he’s comfortably the most talented players we’ve drafted in 20 years so seeing him walk will destroy some fans.
Not gonna lie, I’ll be devastated.

No info but Nas seems gone to me, just taking too long for it to be a realistic chance at this point.

Going to be devastating but I really hope it doesn't also lead to Keeler heading back to SA, maybe even Phillipou.

At that point I'd be inclined to ban us ever signing SA players even again. If we can't keep them then can't sign them.

Doesn't it just mean your information was correct at the time to the knowledge of your source?
Isn't that what stav basically said?
To the best of my understanding, Stav came out and said we should trust his knowledge that TDK and Nas will sign on, as evidenced (ironically) by his mail with the whole Battle saga but the irony being that he said 12 months ago “Battle deal coming” which never actually came.

Seems like he got sold a furphy, but make of it what you will I guess.

Happy to help.

It’s a fascinating discussion this notion of having to grow the game in northern markets from afl executives. I’d bet my house the average AFL fan doesn’t care about growing the game as much as they do. The average afl fan just wants their team to win a flag. These executives want to expand the games reach, more teams, more tv revenue. There is 0 acknowledgment that it will to make it harder for foundation clubs to succeed. The sentiment is we need to suck it up in the name of progress.

Do we care the players make more. Do we care the afl executive make more money? Of course not. They’re insanely blinded in thinking that growth of the game means progress.

The afl needs qld and nsw to succeed. The afl needs to be upfront. Stop talking about equalisation. You don’t want equalisation, you want the teams that drive the strongest financial outcome to be strong. The inequalities would be far easier to stomach if the afl was honest with the fans instead of treating us like idiots.
Agreed . They talk like the average punter s first priority is to grow the game up north. Shows theyre either rolling out the pre empted spin or they canr see outside their own bubble. Pretty sure its the first one.
I , like yourself couldnt give a rats arse about expansion up north , especially if it reduces the saints chance dramatically of a future premiership
Theyre aware that the media is actually too dumb to ask the following questions..
1. Do you agree that expanding the game up north should come before fairness in the draft?
2. Would you bother running a zone academy if you didnt have exclusive access to those players?
Of course they wouldnt . Their spin has sucked in half the population down here even who would rather have a crack at bassett than realize how screwd their own team will be in 5 years time.
Draft fairness should be no.1 2 and 3 priority then expansion ect. Not the other way around.

To the best of my understanding, Stav came out and said we should trust his knowledge that TDK and Nas will sign on, as evidenced (ironically) by his mail with the whole Battle saga but the irony being that he said 12 months ago “Battle deal coming” which never actually came.

Seems like he got sold a furphy, but make of it what you will I guess.

Happy to help.

The Hawk's ITKs had Battle signing with us up until the last minute and apparently Ross was surprised when he heard Battle had chosen Hawks.

ITK don’t know anything by the sounds of it. All just guessing. But history says the longer it goes on the more likely he is to
Leave. If he does leave let’s just hope we take them for everything they have. Can’t afford to get unders

**** sake. I started this shit and even I’m sick of it.
No sorry, wasn't trying to start it up, I genuinely don't understand the issue.

If someone is told something that turns out to be incorrect and maintains they are still correct, that is Trump like delusion.
Anyway, I don't want to get into that pissing contest, I have no dog in the fight.

If we dont keep NAS and TDK doesnt sign, how the hell do we spend our cash?

There has to be some salary dump options out there that buy us picks.

If NAS goes it is full rebuild time.

No sorry, wasn't trying to start it up, I genuinely don't understand the issue.

If someone is told something that turns out to be incorrect and maintains they are still correct, that is Trump like delusion.
Anyway, I don't want to get into that pissing contest, I have no dog in the fight.
Pretty sure that was the point P13 was making yesterday but S4 kept saying even though he was wrong he was still right LMAO

I agree
Got a question for the afl does a successful gws , gold coast brisbane ,sydney create more revenue than having a competitive and successful stk ,nth,melb,dogs in the comp.wouldn't have thought so .success creates revenue and sustainability. They have ultimetly through their decisions and actions sacrificed clubs like stk to " grow the game in the northern states".

Market shares.

NSW+QLD is legacy Rugby zoning.
Vic is legacy AFL central, hence the plethora of clubs.

So the AFL go "lets grow the game!"

South Melb become Sydney, decades pass.
VFL becomes the AFL because the VFL is broke, enter Brisbane and a one Mr Christopher Skaise to fail spectacularly.
Enter the state of South Australia with the Crows as SA > QLD in AFL footy circles.
Since Brisbane and QLD suck balls, and this didn't really move the needle much...
GTFO Roys to QLD.
Hello Eagles and welcome WA mining money and Eagles.

All these things brought monies to the VFL/AFL and expanded the market share of said VFL/AFL.

Then we get to the launch that was GCS and GWS period of expansion, where it shifted from the "game" to Dimmies and Forgeries "I like cash, GIMMIE" and straight trying to annex rugby in NSW and QLD, be it League or Union as gimmie that share so I get casssssssh Fail and K you next tuesday flip flop party boy toot toot marketing.

All though this part you had Tasmania all "oi, what about us, we have plans! HEY!" to you know, grow the game into a national comp and include more states and things to have. Nope, F that, you get the Hawks, play nice kids, we only care about NSW and QLD.

Cause South Melb/Sydney never really brought cash in, they just professionalised in an ever expensive market.

And the problem with the GCS and GWS launch was also, since it was all about cash, all involved did SFA to grow the game in the states. They all pissed off to the VFL, the SANFL, NTFL and WGAF, gimmie cash to be a competent club. where GWS is still what 80% AFL corp board members to date and fully "lemme suck the other teat as this one is dry" to have any sort of unbiased take on any of this?

Only goes to show that not since every vic club was speaking about mergers as VFL was broke to spawn the AFL, has anyone at that office, given a crap about the state of the game. Everything else has been a process to bring more cash in and nothing more.

So a successful GWS just blows smoke up the commissions arse to say "we were right" on this gravy train.
GCS susprising is a boon, as this was their OG test case that they bottled and ran away from partially.
Brisbane, got a corpse, still failed for a second time, got better, still a shit joint of people who need an uppercut to get a clue.
Sydney is the only one that can expand on their beginnings just casue they've been around much longer to have acclimated to the state to then do something in it that is a bonus to all and not just pissing into the wind and going "tasty".

Anyway this is list management, so fair to say, GWS are mentally shot and doing SFA, GCS same though the happy meal kid version as happy to be there and excited, Brissie won't as they'll fail more often than not for "random reason #467" and it's really only Sydney again that can grow that culture and do different. Our problem is we're a lesser Brisbane model in list.

At what point do you think Lyon would crack the shits and demand an answer for nas. Can’t be far away because we need to start planning if he does leave
Surely it’s at that point because if we arnt playing finals and he is leaving we would almost need to protect our asset and not play him. Also need to train someone else up in that position.