List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

This leaves us with
1. Millions in SC that needs to be used or lost and;
2. Using our future dps to top up with B graders from other clubs, the exact scenario you have been railing about for 6 years. You want us to sell our future when the drafting hasn't finished.
Basically this is why it is so hard to follow your different views on drafting and trading, because they aren't logical when taking in current AFL trading rules.
That's because there is no logic at play. It's all emotive and reactionary according to the perception of how we played our last game.............

The highs and lows must be dizzying......

I'm sorry but what are you smoking. Because I want some.
Tauru
NWM
TDK
Owens
Windhager
Phillipou
Sinclair
Wilkie
King
Marshall
Aleer
Top 5 pick
Travaglia
Collard
Higgins
Hall
Keeler
Wilson

That is easily the most talent we’ve had since.

We get rid of Marshall and Steele, you better hope that you have replacements.

Because otherwise we are banking on players that haven't been able to get on the park due to their bodies.

All well and good to see the hope in King and Pou. But King has had significant injury issues the last 3 years.
And whilst Pou had a couple of good games toward the tail end of last year. Id hate to be placing all the pressure on him.

We need to convince Marshall that we need him alongside TDK. We need at least 1 big tall target. Our number 1 target cannot be Mason Wood.
Just like for like TDK, backed up by Heath and Dodson is acceptable.
Steele is more problematic. We have solid citizens in Dow, Carroll, Clark, with potentials Garcia, Boxshall, Pou, Windy, then players who can run through like NAZ, Wilson and Travaglia ( eventually for both)
But Macrae and Steele are your inside ball pigs. I don't see anyone doing his job. He and Macrae had 25% of the 80 plus tackles the team made last night.
If we get TDK, I can live with losing Marshall but really need someone at least as good as Steele and I don't see anyone on the horizon.

That for me isnt making us better though. Heath isnt getting a call up at any point. Should have by now.
Id rather Marshall stay at the current time.
You asked about replacements. TDK, Heath and Dodson fine. Dodson is going to be a star. Heath, like Boyd, a backup.
Would rather keep Steele, however we can't keep these aging players if we want to move up the ladder.

If St Kilda has "more cap room than any club at any time in AFL history" (which makes sense given rising caps and 4 year bring forward), and they're only offering NWM $1.2mil when he's being hotly pursued by two other clubs.....then someone should call time on the St Kilda football club.

Lock the doors, bulldoze Moorabbin, and I'll support the Tassie Devils.
I'm a huge fan of your satire, bruz 😍

You asked about replacements. TDK, Heath and Dodson fine. Dodson is going to be a star. Heath, like Boyd, a backup.
Would rather keep Steele, however we can't keep these aging players if we want to move up the ladder.

Heath has been on the list now for how long? And we played Marshall earlier this year easily not fit and he still couldn't get the call up.

And far out. Dodson a Star? Let him get some senior time first.

He said he doesn't watch footy or follow it unless it's his brother's game - he seems like the type that treats it as a job first. Don't know whether this is good or bad for us.

He was genuinely the best player in the comp for the first 5 weeks of the season this year. Jury is out on if he's preserving himself or just looks out of form because of how poorly Carlton is tracking at the moment. Their core, A grade players are all having their worst years all at the same time.
Ross vs Voss.
I’m leaning heavily towards Ross being a lot more inspirational.
The entire Blues team is flat right now.
And even though we’re sitting where we are on the ladder, we definitely aren’t flat.

Just look at our last three games - we took it right up to finalists and (frustrating as it was last night) could actually have pinched it.

Basically, what I’m trying to get at is that the atmosphere at RSEA would be poles apart currently from that at Ikon park.

Gut feeling is that we picked the wrong King (no ones fault, but objectively Ben was the better pick) and POU will be our Petracca (he was cooked early at Melbourne don't forget, and ended up being the pick of that draft I think)

Im on the positive train, I think this group look a lot like 2007 tbh. The latent talent is pretty undeniable, they are just not there yet.

Gut feeling is that we picked the wrong King (no ones fault, but objectively Ben was the better pick) and POU will be our Petracca (he was cooked early at Melbourne don't forget, and ended up being the pick of that draft I think)

Im on the positive train, I think this group look a lot like 2007 tbh. The latent talent is pretty undeniable, they are just not there yet.

Max is a better player than Ben. Ben despite kicking goals offers his team sweet **** all else.

The club wasn't to know he would have had so many injuries.

If we were going to take another player would rather we took CR.

Max is a better player than Ben. Ben despite kicking goals offers his team sweet **** all else.

The club wasn't to know he would have had so many injuries.

If we were going to take another player would rather we took CR.
Broadly I agree 100% we picked him on raw talent, and I don't fault the club at all.

That said he had done a knee at school level, its just one of those things

I guess I'm more focussed on POU, I reckon we might be surprised and how good he becomes (and I don't hate that he's copped a few ego knocks with the injuries as I think that will hopefully give him more hunger about how fine the line is between success and failure).

honestly, that's pathetic by us. Offer him 1.5 at least, he's the best player in the game when he's on
The Age article is saying at least 1.2 for NWM and up to 1.7 for TDK.
They don't have a clue of the specifics.
I feel sure that the offer we put to Nas is based on significant input from his manager. The numbers will be right for him.

So who now has lost confidence that we’ll retain Nas AND ‘Winderlich’? Coincidence that now Bergman is off limits we’ve tabled an offer to Nas? Just seems like we’ve been too focused on other clubs players that in the process we’ve neglected our own. Wonder if it makes our boys feel a little under appreciated.
Do you seriously think we haven't been in discussions with Nas all year?

If St Kilda has "more cap room than any club at any time in AFL history" (which makes sense given rising caps and 4 year bring forward), and they're only offering NWM $1.2mil when he's being hotly pursued by two other clubs.....then someone should call time on the St Kilda football club.

Lock the doors, bulldoze Moorabbin, and I'll support the Tassie Devils.
It been reported that Saints are offering NWM $1.2 m PLUS incentives.

Those incentives could be substantial.

And presumably NWM is agreeable to them because it offers him the opportunity to earn a lot more money within the cap.

We will have more talent on our list next year than we have had since 2009 and I’d argue that the talent will run deeper than then too.
Plenty to like about what we’re doing
Correct.

We are building from the bottom up.

Add an early pick from this year’s draft and TDK.

Plus there is the PSD as well and we have been brilliant at nailing talent from there.

On radio a lot of commentators are saying that the Hawks can't play Battle and Barass in the same side. They are pressuring them to drop one.
Yep heard that the other day.
Interesting dilemma they’ve now got.

So who now has lost confidence that we’ll retain Nas AND ‘Winderlich’? Coincidence that now Bergman is off limits we’ve tabled an offer to Nas? Just seems like we’ve been too focused on other clubs players that in the process we’ve neglected our own. Wonder if it makes our boys feel a little under appreciated.
Fantasy land stuff. I think Nas is gone but the club would effectively be offering a blank cheque. If he’s going, it’s not because of money.

Club has offered him a 2 year deal on very disrespectful money. Well below league average.
Expected to stay, but fair to say he is in now NO RUSH given what was presented...
Other clubs have presented much greater terms since.
Now two months later... Marcus continues to be in no rush and has met with 5 clubs over the last 6 weeks.
He ideally wants to play with his best friends but has felt continually disrespected during negations with STK.
Not being portrayed as a key member of the future in the clubs discussions with close friend NWM has indeed frustrated him further as reported earlier today.
OOC coming into round 18 is a horrible look for an NGA product.