List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

I cant ever decide if the Dogs or the Dees are the most underperformed side since us. I guess they both got one flag (and the dogs might get another if they ever get their shit together) the dees look totally ****ed now.
I've seen both Melbourne and the Dogs will flags. Where do I sign up for that kind of underperformance?

I'll preface this with: I think Nas is staying, at least for the 2 years.

BUT IF HE DOESNT

When they write the book "How the St Kilda Football Club Died", Nas leaving will be it's own chapter.

The AFL has never been more about dollars and public perception. We don't have much leverage in either. We're the whipping boys in the media which hurts our public perception. And they are gonna have a field day with "Saints are dumb, they overpaid TDK and lost Nas" because they are idiots. And our crowds are awful, so dollars are going to be down too. We just saw probably our greatest home and away moment in 50 years and half the top level was closed, and you could read the Marvel letters on the bottom level seats because it was half empty.

Our supporter base is on the brink after another 15-year rebuild. Nas is our best player, universally liked, and someone who delivers on everything we've been missing for that 15 years. 15 years of mids who butcher the footy. 15 years of youngsters sitting in the stands injured. 15 years of blokes going missing when the heat is on. If he walks out the door at 22, it may just be the straw that finally breaks our collective spirit.

phantom13 and i are agreeing again.

Either the world ends this week or Nas re-signs.

Has to be a sign, right?

Right!?!
I reckon hes gone tbh. We surely opened the chequebook after Sunday and if that coupled with the high of that win didnt get him to ink the contract i thnk hes gone.

I've seen both Melbourne and the Dogs will flags. Where do I sign up for that kind of underperformance?
I get it and TBH if we managed to win one i wont give a **** if were terrible for the next 60 years but both of those lists should have won and done more.

The dogs could still go again, Darcy will be a year older, maybe they trade Jamarrah for the key back theyve needed for 10 years and as long as Bont and Richards stay they could always contend.

The dees are ****ing cooked, strip it back, sell the parts and go again.

I think the bolded is the issue TBH.

Nas siutation is pretty unique. Hes not Bailey Smith (who wanted out desperately and had behavioural issues) hes not Dunkley (who is a full blown weirdo and wasnt particualrly liked at the dogs and had tried to leave the year before too).

He is our best player, he is absolutely beloved and from all accounts equally loves the club. His only draw to leave is to go home.

Every report and discussion seems to centre around the fact that hes truly torn to the point that even now it seems he hasnt made up his mind.

There is still a really clear avenue for us to keep him if a trade falls through, the situation is much closer to him being contracted than it is to him being willing to walk to the PSD.

So yeh, we know if we do a deal we will get unders but we equally dont have to accept cents on the dollar

Also from a St Kilda perspective, we have very little to gain but a lot to lose here. We aren't a Gold Coast who have heaps of good players and no-one that cares about the outcome.

We are a fan base that loves our players too much and have **** all else. We are on our arses if he leaves.

To other clubs he's a bit more gloss on the Ferrari. To us he's the wheels and engine of our VK Commodore.

We can't afford to look like we are losing on this deal for so many reasons.

Also from a St Kilda perspective, we have very little to gain but a lot to lose here. We aren't a Gold Coast who have heaps of good players and no-one that cares about the outcome.

We are a fan base that loves our players too much and have **** all else. We are on our arses if he leaves.

To other clubs he's a bit more gloss on the Ferrari. To us he's the wheels and engine of our VK Commodore.

We can't afford to look like we are losing on this deal for so many reasons.
If Port genuinely come with their two firsts (and Berry or Whitlock) i actually think most supporters would rather we let him walk to the PSD if it comes to that.

Call is irrational and angry and stupid but our supporter base knows nothing but principles and hope.

Im a member already but i reckon if i wasnt id sign up to support it if we did.

I meant the top 9 or 10 get better. The bottom 8 gets weaker. Two tiered.

More a catch 22 IMO. You can't be attractive without doing the work, you start doing the work and look awful and players want to go elsewhere. Brisbane and North have both had it happen to them and didn't collapse but it's a brutal kick to the guts for a supporter base desperate for success.

I think if Nas leaves and we can't get close to fair value, the point made by sending him to the draft would be a worthwhile one to make. We aren't winning anytime soon if we don't either have Nas or receive fair value in a trade.
Yup, this warped notion that we need to bend over and accept unders for a top 3 player in the comp is crazy talk.

SOS seems to play hardball with trades, so I cant ever see us caving.

More a catch 22 IMO. You can't be attractive without doing the work, you start doing the work and look awful and players want to go elsewhere. Brisbane and North have both had it happen to them and didn't collapse but it's a brutal kick to the guts for a supporter base desperate for success.
Brisbane and North both got AFL draft assistance.

Yup, this warped notion that we need to bend over and accept unders for a top 3 player in the comp is crazy talk.

SOS seems to play hardball with trades, so I cant ever see us caving.
It feels alot more likely Port blink and try to throw something additional at the last minute than we cave and accept some shit deal.

Might be naive but i still reckon Nas stays with a two year deal if a trade doesnt get done. Alot would have to go sour for him to want to go to the PSD.

We need to get smart, a little lateral thinking.

If we’re going to loose Nas at least go down fighting and make sure we’ve left no stone unturned in finding ways to keep him. Peter Hudson flew in from Tassie to play for a season in the late 70’s, not ideal but it’s workable.

If we’ve genuinely looked at every option and he still wants out at least we can send him to the draft with a clear conscience. Imo if we do everything we can and can’t get a deal that suits then that’s on Nas, his manager and whoever he nominates.

I'll preface this with: I think Nas is staying, at least for the 2 years.

BUT IF HE DOESNT

When they write the book "How the St Kilda Football Club Died", Nas leaving will be it's own chapter.

The AFL has never been more about dollars and public perception. We don't have much leverage in either. We're the whipping boys in the media which hurts our public perception. And they are gonna have a field day with "Saints are dumb, they overpaid TDK and lost Nas" because they are idiots. And our crowds are awful, so dollars are going to be down too. We just saw probably our greatest home and away moment in 50 years and half the top level was closed, and you could read the Marvel letters on the bottom level seats because it was half empty.

Our supporter base is on the brink after another 15-year rebuild. Nas is our best player, universally liked, and someone who delivers on everything we've been missing for that 15 years. 15 years of mids who butcher the footy. 15 years of youngsters sitting in the stands injured. 15 years of blokes going missing when the heat is on. If he walks out the door at 22, it may just be the straw that finally breaks our collective spirit.
Thats just the sort of uplifting post we all needed!

Hoorah!

We need to get smart, a little lateral thinking.

If we’re going to loose Nas at least go down fighting and make sure we’ve left no stone unturned in finding ways to keep him. Peter Hudson flew in from Tassie to play for a season in the late 70’s, not ideal but it’s workable.

If we’ve genuinely looked at every option and he still wants out at least we can send him to the draft with a clear conscience. Imo if we do everything we can and can’t get a deal that suits then that’s on Nas, his manager and whoever he nominates.
I actually back the club completely on this.

For the first time in a long time i reckon they will manage and work every angle and if Nas still goes there will have been nothing we could do.

Ive bickered with stavro#4 and others about what WE think is going on money and contract wise but i genuinely think the list management team will be doing everything, including compassionate leave, paying for the family to come here etc etc etc.

The Simpsons Depression GIF

I don’t think I’ll feel normal until this NAS thing is over with…

The media is on our side as well. I loved how Port sooked it up when Hutchy said they can’t get the deal done. Kane is saying the same thing.
The narrative has seems to of changed a bit after Sunday.

It feels a bit more "surely he cant leave after that"

Brisbane and North both got AFL draft assistance.

Brisbane lost almost an entire rebuild. One of the reasons the AFL introduced the academies IMO.

2010 Brisbane get Polec, Karnezis, Josh Greene- all left

2011 Brisbane get Elliot Yeo, Billy Longer and Sam Docherty- all left.

2012 Brisbane get Sam Mayes, Jack Crisp both gone.

2013 Brisbane get James Aish, Lewis Taylor, Tom Cutler all left.

They then turned it into a deliberate policy to chase country boys who wouldn't mind the slower quieter life in Queensland and started to amass a very good side. A lot of compensation picks were a lot worse than the positions their players were taken in and they were also screwed by the timing as GWS and then GC took a heap of the best players from every draft.

North haven't proven anything yet but amassing talent will eventually pay off. They turned JHF into Sheezel and Wardlaw who are both exceptional talents so many end up a win win.

Even Judd who was the big ticket trade of the time gifted WCE pick 3- Mastens, pick 20 -Tony Nott and Josh Kennedy.

At the time all of it seemed catastrophic failure. Hopefully if we lose Nas we can make something out of the absolute crushing disappointment.

A prominent industry figure close to the club. Idk if even I believe it but its just what they've told me

They also said NWM has all the info in front of him, just needs to sign the dotted lines. Was adamant that he has not signed yet so all the ITKs saying he had done so were allegedly incorrect

Still confident he is staying though

If Port genuinely come with their two firsts (and Berry or Whitlock)

My thing with Whitlock is where would he play for us?

We'd be losing the thing we need the most (A+ dynamic mid) and replacing him with a tall.

Let's assume we gain TDK & Aleer and have a healthy list for round 1 next year.

King
Mitchito
Marshall
TDK
Sharman
Tauru
Caminiti
Howard
Wilkie
Keeler
Dodson
Moose

Whitlock might be better than some of these guys eventually but he's 100% unproven & just not something we desperately need compared to what Nas provides.