List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Worst case scenario and nas leaves, who says no to this? We obvs would still be losing out, but a 4 club trade might work.

Saints
Lose: nas
Gain: pick 2(wc), Berry, 25 1st (dogs), 26 1st (port)

Port
Lose: 26 1st, georgiadies, berry
Gain: nas,

Dogs
Lose: 25 1st, 26 1st, busslinger
Gain: butters,

Eagles
Lose: Allen compo (pick 2)
Gain: Georgiades, 26 1st, dogs, busslinger

We lose a star but our future depth does significantly improve
Us. We'd be mad to do any trade that involves West Coast's pick and dont demand we get pick 1.

His best is absolutely top shelf but he's just too injury prone and he's an inbetweener. Not really a KPD. Ari, LOC, Tauru and Armstrong all in that third tall defender size range and we are chasing Aleer who isn't massively taller same as Barrat.
Our ideal scenario for next year is surely that Camma, Aleer and Wilkie play the three key posts and Barret or Tauru go back when the oppo has three monsters. Howard is depth.

Ridley is better than them but to your point hes not a need and with this cost its hard to justify it.

Not mine-all the same stuff was said about plugger and 2 years later we played off -i am actually sick of the whole saga -his inaction is hurting the club already -just make a decision Nas -talking about going home -we are not talking about outer mongolia its a 1 hour plane flight for a very wealthy young man-if he has not signed this week after that win and the comradrie shown by the group-i reckon he is gone - so over it

We played off in a GF two years later because we'd done a lot of good drafting and had a great side coming up under Plugger.

Robert Neill, Glenn Nugent, Josh Kitchen and picks for Chris Hemley and Joel Smith. Also used a late pick to get Darryl Wakelin across.

I think out of all of those pieces very little made us a better side than the side with Plugger in it. Joel Smith was closest to compensation but even he ended up a disaster. There is every chance we win a flag with a fit Plugger in 97.

Is there a local boy in the top 4 projections?

If so us getting pick 2 opposed to 1 really makes no difference.
Not really.

The highest rated non-academies are a ruckman and a Duursma. We dont need another developing ruck and some people are weary of pending big on Duursma after his also highly rated brothers have been very underwhelming once they've reach AFL level.

I'll be as disappointed as anyone here if NAS leaves but at the same time I'm not going to begrudge the young man for doing what he thinks is best long term.
If he prioritizes his family and friends then so be it.
As a father I could only give to my young bloke, what I hope is the advice that NAS is getting: Do what makes you happy mate.
Footy is such a short term thing - especially at the highest level.
Just be happy NAS.
The club will survive, its what we do.

Not mine-all the same stuff was said about plugger and 2 years later we played off -i am actually sick of the whole saga -his inaction is hurting the club already -just make a decision Nas -talking about going home -we are not talking about outer mongolia its a 1 hour plane flight for a very wealthy young man-if he has not signed this week after that win and the comradrie shown by the group-i reckon he is gone - so over it
FYI on the Plugger comparison

In that trade (which also involved Hawthorn), we lost Lockett and received in return pick 5 (Joel Smith), pick 13 (Chris Hemley), pick 48 (Austinn Jones), Glen Nugent and Robert Neill.

Then fine, pay him $2 mill a year IF he signs for beyond 2 years, simple as that. Get the big pay day, for the long term commitment

Fair is fair
I agree.

I think it was Kornes said on Monday - we cant pay him over $2mill for two years because when that contracts up, his management is going to expect more again and the salary cap cant handle that.

If he wants money that big, it needs to be a larger commitment than 2 years and accept it as his big payday contract

It's been the case ever since Williams went on Gettable

He went from saying "If I was a betting man, he'd probably be staying" to Caro reporting that Williams told St Kilda that no indication had been made by NWM

Since then, weekly stories that contradict the media consensus of him staying have been released, coinciding with NWM taking his form to new heights

He is staying. It's not a matter of if, only a matter of when imo
I hope you’re right. But I’m not confident at all.

I agree.

I think it was Kornes said on Monday - we cant pay him over $2mill for two years because when that contracts up, his management is going to expect more again and the salary cap cant handle that.

If he wants money that big, it needs to be a larger commitment than 2 years and accept it as his big payday contract
With included Injury clause****!!!!

I reckon hes gone tbh. We surely opened the chequebook after Sunday and if that coupled with the high of that win didnt get him to ink the contract i thnk hes gone.

I get it and TBH if we managed to win one i wont give a **** if were terrible for the next 60 years but both of those lists should have won and done more.

The dogs could still go again, Darcy will be a year older, maybe they trade Jamarrah for the key back theyve needed for 10 years and as long as Bont and Richards stay they could always contend.

The dees are ****ing cooked, strip it back, sell the parts and go again.
My opinion and confidence hasn’t wavered he will sign. Just want to be clear on that whilst you and I are singing kumbiyah from the same page at the minute.

The hold up? I’m still putting this squarely at the feet of Williams.

I’ve been told he is absolutely crap to deal with.
Caro's report that St Kilda have increased their offer from 1.4m is allegedly false
All I’m going to say on this without getting in a tit for tat with people.

Is we have apparently offered every combination of deal under the sun. 2/4/6/8/10, with triggers without triggers.

I don’t “think” we will do $2m/2 years. I’m pretty sure the club sees that as stupidly unrealistic.

The club will always be seen as not doing enough or doing things wrong in the eyes of people. I’m not sure we have ever rolled the carpet out the way we have done for Nas and I’m told Nas is genuinely appreciative. Loves the places. Feels valued etc.

They are just a genuinely close knit family

Not really.

The highest rated non-academies are a ruckman and a Duursma. We dont need another developing ruck and some people are weary of pending big on Duursma after his also highly rated brothers have been very underwhelming once they've reach AFL level.
The top on Twomeys guide is
Uwland (GC)
Duff Tyler
Duursma
Patterson (GC)
Annabelle (Bris)
Sharp
Lindsay
Marsh (frst WA boy)

Re do that with just the availables
Duff Tyler (Ruck)
Duursma
Sharp
Lindsay
Marsh (frst WA boy)

If we get pick two were not really gonna lose. They either take the best rated player (and a need im pretty sure) in a ruckman who we wouldnt want. Duursma who we all note has question marks or the WA boy.

ick 1 or 2 i dont really care TBH.

GETTABLE

Belief of several clubs that NWM is now worth $2m per season. Prevailing view is that STK need to match that valuation in order to keep him. Widespread belief that Port is ahead of Adelaide & have gone ALL IN
Just go all in then

Riley Beveridge saying JSOS's potential move to Magpies has their out of contract stars "frustrated" given how much the Pies are apparently offering him

I would much prefer to go hard at Jamie Elliott than Liam Ryan

My opinion and confidence hasn’t wavered he will sign. Just want to be clear on that whilst you and I are singing kumbiyah from the same page at the minute.

The hold up? I’m still putting this squarely at the feet of Williams.

I’ve been told he is absolutely crap to deal with.

All I’m going to say on this without getting in a tit for tat with people.

Is we have apparently offered every combination of deal under the sun. 2/4/6/8/10, with triggers without triggers.

I don’t “think” we will do $2m/2 years. I’m pretty sure the club sees that as stupidly unrealistic.

The club will always be seen as not doing enough or doing things wrong in the eyes of people. I’m not sure we have ever rolled the carpet out the way we have done for Nas and I’m told Nas is genuinely appreciative. Loves the places. Feels valued etc.

They are just a genuinely close knit family
Yeh agreed, although to me Williams and Nas are one and the same. He can overrule his manager, hes choosing not to (which is absolutely the right decision IMO) and given the boom on his dollar figure has been proven right.

Also think we should just do 2m for 2 years and personally id be suprised if we refuse to match if thats what Port and co have upped the offer to.