List Mgmt. 2025 List Management II 📃

That’s not the rumour at all.

The AFL met with clubs last week and made mention that changes would be coming to the first round.

Cal Twomey and Caroline Wilson have both mentioned first round lockouts.
Not happening for 2026 - I’ll delete my account if it does

Interesting to see our compo picks
pick 9 for TDK will get pushed back with Allen and academy bids
Silvagni early 20s most likely
Last year giants were pick 15
Got 16 for Perryman compo
Got 21 for Issac leaving
Would think silvagni would be around Cummings pick 21 or higher given they’re the same age , possibly offered same years and silvagni on more money.

I’m trying to look at everything through the lens of points rather than picks at this stage. Whatever we’re given will likely move a fair bit during the trade period.

In many ways, the compo picks are bonuses that we can look to get creative with. Austin knew what he was doing last year trading our first rounder out. I presume the strategy was that we knew that we’re getting a good player in Dean regardless and we’re happy for that to be our main draft piece.

TDK was always going to either sign with us on our terms, or get an offer big enough for first round compo. Probably couldn’t have foreseen our ladder position, so the compo pick has gone up, but Dean has probably exceeded expectations too, and his value has risen.

We could use the two compo picks to try and move up in the draft, with some later points back. Or we bring in a solid citizen or two along with some surplus points for matching Dean and Ison.

I don’t think we target a really big name. We’ve worked to massively reset the cap on the last two years, so I don’t think we go and squander the dividend on someone like Zac Butters, and to be honest, we’re unlikely to be that attractive as a destination right now.

By the end of next season, with Saad and Williams big dollars off the books, and another first rounder to match, and hopefully a better season, then we can chase some free agents.

We will get Cody. I don’t think that Father Son rules change next year - ludicrous to do it when there will be big compromises around Tassie being introduced as well. At worst, they remove the discount, but I reckon you’ll still be able to match.

Footy bosses believe there will be no academy or father son picks allowed in the first round of next year’s draft. We are cactus if that’s the case.

Is there any explanation on what that would look like? Wouldn't that mean we'd need less points to get Cody? I'm sure list managers will get creative and find ways to work around it. I guess the hard part would come if teams have to pick a player in the first round and we're forced to use a pick they'd planned for a father son or academy player

That the games at the end of this year are meaningless.

We were rubbish when the heat was on earlier in the year. Shown to be miles off the elite in the comp.

Both in skill and speed.
Fair enough!

I agree but thought it looked much better towards the end of the year meaningless or not. The skill level wasn’t there but the mix with younger quicker options showed more promise.

With TDK and Jack leaving we actually have a few options to address this instead of just rolling up with the same same again and expecting it to change.

Is there any explanation on what that would look like? Wouldn't that mean we'd need less points to get Cody? I'm sure list managers will get creative and find ways to work around it. I guess the hard part would come if teams have to pick a player in the first round and we're forced to use a pick they'd planned for a father son or academy player
What they're saying is that clubs would have no ability to match players taken in the first round. Whoever drafts them gets them regardless of any father/son or academy ties.

That would be a ridiculous "solution"...

How many sons will play like shit at junior level so they can get to their father's club in the 3rd round...

Would a player just then not opt out of being drafted via the ND. It doesn't make sense that it would be as simple as that. And it would have to be grandfathered in over 3 years or so. Clubs will already have list builds in place taking into consideration father son / academy picks. There would be legal recourse readily available if it wasn't. Would want to be well thought out changes. Dillon will be out of the role in the next 12 months. He is so out if his depth is my call.

TankUnfortunately, the list is an absolute mess right now.

No small forwards of AFL standard.
No high-speed, high-possession elite ball using mids or backs.
1 AFL-level tall defender.

It is looking like we will enter the season with maybe the worst squad we have had since a year or two before we won the final from 9th.
tank GIF
We have a Small forward

I really can't see a drastic F/S change happening next year...

They might remove the discount, come up with a way that makes it more expensive... but removing F/S from first round...

That would be a ridiculous thing to do... can just imagine players being picked at the "end of the first round" to prevent clubs from getting them under F/S...

Well that's a massive load of b.s! And of course it happens when we're about to benefit, but the Lions and Pies were both able get a pair of gun brothers each for next to nothing. How's the equalisation looking?

I really can't see a drastic F/S change happening next year...

They might remove the discount, come up with a way that makes it more expensive... but removing F/S from first round...

That would be a ridiculous thing to do... can just imagine players being picked at the "end of the first round" to prevent clubs from getting them under F/S...
It’s massive pendulum swing from “ clubs get them for way to cheap” to “ you can’t have them at all”. If it were three or years out then ok, but with effectively no warning, that just is indicative of a very poor administration. It really is a bush league

That would be a ridiculous "solution"...

How many sons will play like shit at junior level so they can get to their father's club in the 3rd round...

Or have extended time away from footy in their draft year due to whatever reason they choose

It’s massive pendulum swing from “ clubs get them for way to cheap” to “ you can’t have them at all”. If it were three or years out then ok, but with effectively no warning, that just is inactive of a very poor administration. It really is a bush league

This is the most frustrating part, all clubs and not just us plan for drafts literally years in advance and trade picks in or out accordingly.

Got to say, I don't mind people being a bit dramatic about losing players. But turning up having barely posted all year to trash the club and then leaving again is pretty dire.

Suffer with us and you can complain, but turning up once a year to complain is BS

Spot on, and that goes for Alt accounts or new troll accounts from banned users like the below as well. Very opinionated for someone who's been here all of 2 weeks!
The club essentially sold us a historically bad period to supposedly get back up the ladder and here we are in ****ing shambles.

How can you blame people for being negative

The big issue with a sudden change to F/S picks is teenagers have spent the last few years maturing and growing up with a decent understanding that they'll land at their fathers club, Walker an obvious example.

Now inside of a year he's going to be staring at the possibility of being shipped off to the WCE? It's not really fair on them mentally in my opinion.

Seems more obvious to make changes in 4-5 years so kids are aware as they develop what the first couple of years of their career will look like.

It obviously also opens up huge potential for tampering, both from clubs and players who want the same outcome. Would Cody seriously tell WCE he's happy to come over to them? Or is he more likely to sit in his interviews and honestly say "I've only ever imagined playing for Carlton." Puts all parties in a terrible spot.

I hope it’s not us wasting time in these discussions. We should be telling Charlie’s agent what we’d demand in a trade from Sydney/GC and make him go and do the work. If we don’t hear back from him by x date, deals off.
If he's that keen on moving, why should we be limited to Sydney? GC is where the money & picks are.