List Mgmt. 2025 List Management II 📃

Like Oea for Southport.
Craig-Peters for Dogs
Liam Jones looks to have lost a yard and marking confidence
Liam Jones was excellent today - took their key forward totally out of the game and stopped everything that came his way. Named the 4th best player in the Bulldog's win. We could do worse for a year.....apart from Ethan Phillips, no-one has come up with an alternative that would cost nothing but a rookie list spot.

Anyway, apart from that, I still reckon there's some hidden gold at state league level, just ask Geelong. From today's game, the one's I'd be sniffing around would be:
Cooper Craig-Peters - won the Normie, very similar attributes to Shaun Mannagh
Zac Foot - classy mid size forward/mid with pace to burn
Jacob Dawson - JJ Liston Medallist and just racks up possessions all over the ground

Liam Jones was excellent today - took their key forward totally out of the game and stopped everything that came his way. Named the 4th best player in the Bulldog's win. We could do worse for a year.....apart from Ethan Phillips, no-one has come up with an alternative that would cost nothing but a rookie list spot.

Anyway, apart from that, I still reckon there's some hidden gold at state league level, just ask Geelong. From today's game, the one's I'd be sniffing around would be:
Jacob Dawson - JJ Liston Medallist and just racks up possessions all over the ground
Jacob Blight.

Jonesy should be on the list for the stop-gap measure for the HOF injury & Dean integration.

Jacob Dawson should be an option to round out depth.
CC-P the same.
Zac Foot is ex-Sydney, yeah?

No worries mate, just putting it out there.

How about coming up with some alternatives then instead of just dismissing others. We've lost 2 key defenders for 2026, so who do we bring in then????
You’ve been banging on about Jones for ages
He’s cooked and left us
We need to go down the youth path, Blight, Phillips from the Magoos ?
HOF hurts, Dean coming in tho
Lots to be excited about

I posted at half time
Jones was better second half.
Ooh d prefer Ethan Phillips
Foot looked good
Crofts was good late but is 27

We need some decent reinforcements stat!

Next year is going to be horrible otherwise. Need to fix defence first and how they help with turnover goals.

You’ve been banging on about Jones for ages
He’s cooked and left us
We need to go down the youth path, Blight, Phillips from the Magoos ?
HOF hurts, Dean coming in tho
Lots to be excited about
I'd be in for 12 months of Jones.
Just to give our recruits time to develop and he is someone who has been proven pairing with Weiters.
We have enough young blokes in defense already and we can't just fill our backline with young draftees.
You need to surround them with Hardened seasoned campaigners and allow them to develop before you smash them to pieces with Tom Lynch types.

Just another note from being at the game last night - I'm just really, really sad about how badly our list management team botched the 2024 off season

You simply need to have 30-odd mature, big bodied players who can run around on a footy field to be competitive, to cover injuries, etc.

Losing Marchbank, Cuningham, Kennedy, Owies, Martin and Carroll all at once, and bringing in only Haynes, just crushed our 2025 season before it started.

Marchbank and Cuningham may have been at the end of their run, unfortunately -injuries too great to overcome. Ok, fine - in that case, we needed Haynes, and we absolutely needed to keep everyone else, and it's set us up for a looming disaster. It was ego-driven and totally unnecessary.

Looking at how Geelong have found a role for Martin is a case in point - they've managed him half the year, and he still doesn't play more than 65% game time, and was the sub yesterday.... and he's an absolute luxury in that role, and we should have done the same. Would he be the most over-qualified sub in the sport? Yep, and that's why Geelong will win the premiership.

To then let go Kennedy and Owies on top - they were every game players, and we simply didn't have the cover. Our 2025 season was torched in that moment.

We're in a similar boat now. Docherty, Silvagni, TDK, Cincotta and probably E Hollands are gone? We're talking 11x mature bodies in two years at a minimum? That HAS to be our starting point - how are we replacing these guys?

If we don't replace them AND keep everyone else, we're going to finish bottom 4 next year, and once again do so with an aging list, and head straight into heavy, deep rebuild territory again...

Curnow - only goes if he brings us back SIX players who can fill out our squad next year. I'm serious. Gold Coast could do that and not even blink. But why else are we giving away a quality player? For two late first round draft picks and a single role player? You might as well set the club on fire if we do that.

Then I genuinely think we should be bringing in every cheap 26 year old who is a 'solid' AFL best 30 player we can. Khamis? Yep. Jiath? Yep. Chesser? Sure. That bog ordinary Freo ruckman? Yep. We're halfway there now - we need at least 4 more. Adelaide just delisted Lachlan Murphy - bring him in. Jayden Stevenson? Worth a train on spot (I know we have a 'no dickheads' policy, but that means we are allowed one, and we're getting rid of Hollands). I'd bring in Jacob Koschitzke, Jacob Blight, a few from the top 4 yet to be delisted as well.

Give Voss a few tools to play with, and try to copy the Collingwood/Geelong approach, which for those who haven't been paying attention is 'run 35 deep with mature, veteran players, get everyone healthy for the finals, then let a fit Dangerfield/Cameron/Smith cook' (as a contrast to our approach, which has been 'grind Cripps/Curnow/Weitering/Walsh into a fine paste by making them play 105% game time every week, get everyone's hopes up mid-season, then watch the team slowly fall apart in August...)
I feel a bigger issue was in not moving some of them on sooner, we may have had some chance of getting something in return (which is arguably what Geelong would have done), instead we ran them into the rocks.
Cuningham is a depth player at VFL level. Marchbank isn't playing at all.
Kennedy left to play his preferred role, which he wasn't going to get with us as he was behind Cripps. (We did mismanage him as a tradeable asset, admittedly)
Owies/Carroll are hardly going to make or break anyone's seasons.
Martin was always the one the had potential to hurt us but after paying a significant amount of salary to have him consistently unavailable it was always likely to see him reach the end of his tenure with the club.
We don't need to hoard peripheral types, we need AFL standard footballers & players developing beneath them to carry us forward.

Where's the no dickheads policy talk from? I've no doubt missed something as I've read others say it too but we do have players some would consider dickheads on the list..

Kennedy left to play his preferred role, which he wasn't going to get with us as he was behind Cripps. (We did mismanage him as a tradeable asset, admittedly)

Kennedy is an interesting one. After the Vossy chat, i think the list mgmt team sat around and discussed that Hewett was preferred in the mid while E Hollands preferred on the half fwd flank covering Kennedy's input. That and a developing moir behind him. Probably even off loaded Martin as well due to unavailability but because they had Lij/Moir.

Unluckily this turned into a gaping hole when Lij went south. Moir still a long way off it.

It would an interesting exercise. List each Carlton pros/cons . Then ask someone (who does not know which position they currently play or which position they grew up playing) to place them into their most appropriate position.

e.g Hewitt - pros: strong, can read the ball, okay handballer, can tackle
Cons: poor kick, not creative, slow.

In the current game would you place him down as a mid fielder.

He has been okay this year at breaking tackles but when I look at this I think he is one of the last guys we want getting it 30 times a game. We actually need him getting it less. Carlton gets 30 opps a game through him, IMO that is not good use of those 30. We certainly cant have 90 opps a game going through Walsh, Cripps and Hewitt, the opportunity cost is too high.

e.g. JSOS pros: good footy I.Q., good field kick, desperate, good spoiler
Cons: average kick at goal, slow on the lead, gets spoiled a lot.

Why did we take so long to look at him down back and rely on him to ask for the change?
Why JSOS was not back earlier is really a David Teague question. Jsos was good fwd in 2023 and then got injured, missing 2024

Jacob Blight.

Jonesy should be on the list for the stop-gap measure for the HOF injury & Dean integration.

Jacob Dawson should be an option to round out depth.
CC-P the same.
Zac Foot is ex-Sydney, yeah?
Good options, try and get a key defender in through the rookie draft or a very late pick. We really only need a key defender for a year or two.

We know O'Farrell will come back and come straight in. He's already shown he can play AFL football which is amazing for a first year player. Reports are that Dean is as good or better and more advanced so he will probably play next season.

O'Farrell, Dean, Weitering in 2027 is going to be pretty comfortable for us key defender wise.

We kind of need to do the same thing in regards to a key forward. Trying to plug this hole with ruckmen was a failure all season.

We just need that one season stopgap.

Kennedy is an interesting one. After the Vossy chat, i think the list mgmt team sat around and discussed that Hewett was preferred in the mid while E Hollands preferred on the half fwd flank covering Kennedy's input. That and a developing moir behind him. Probably even off loaded Martin as well due to unavailability but because they had Lij/Moir.

Unluckily this turned into a gaping hole when Lij went south. Moir still a long way off it.
Hollands was one but we were also planning on playing Smith at half forward as well.

In a world where things work out for Carlton we would have Hollands in his prime playing half forward and a little on the ball and Smith playing half forward and a little on the ball while we are enjoying the exploits of O'Farrell who we got by offloading Kennedy and there would be no complaints about losing Kennedy.

Add a drop of Carlton luck to the equation... Hollands goes off the rails and does not play this season, Smith does his ACL and plays no games and O'Farrell after looking really good, does his ACL and will miss all of 2026. All while Kennedy is playing good football at the Bulldogs.

any VFL players worthy of consideration?
Seems like we are looking to recycle leftovers from other AFL teams when I would rather we discover talent like Mannah.
Darcy Hogg. Take his fitness to another level and he is a good AFL player and probably the sort we need in the team. A genuine half forward. Strong body, powerful, good skills and pace. He should be working with a running coach right now and be pushing for a spot on the list or at least a train on spot.

I don't think that's entirely true. Probably not up to hoilding down a key role yet but trending well with 10.6 in nine games and looking to have clicked in the second half of the season from making up the numbers to a genuinely trustworthy kick at goal.

I think he can kick 20-30 goals next season playing as a leadup FP while improving his size and tank.

Darcy Hogg. Take his fitness to another level and he is a good AFL player and probably the sort we need in the team. A genuine half forward. Strong body, powerful, good skills and pace. He should be working with a running coach right now and be pushing for a spot on the list or at least a train on spot.

Geelong’s player development of players from the second tier like VFL etc is elite - sure they identify good talent but they nurture and make them better - I liked Mannagh but would we have been able to turn him into a good small forward - not sure 🤔. In any case Darcy Hogg would be worth a shot, if he’s anything like his father he will leave no stone unturned to get the best out of himself.