List Mgmt. 2025 List Management II 📃

Cerra has been underwhelming in his time at Carlton. Has not reached the heights that we thought he would. Has had injuries and has appeared to become slower over the years for a player who should be in his prime. Yes played a few more games than the mentioned but has still been injury prone.

I don't think anyone here is going to believe that Cerra has delivered what we thought he would.

He has and has been good only by Carlton standards which we all know are also underwhelming and something we all hope will change.

Sounds like one of those good ordinary players that everyone says we need more of

One of our major problems up forward has been that so many of our blokes are shit-scared of kicking a set shot.

McGovern, Motlop, Durdin, Curnow, Fogarty were/are all guilty of it. Cripps and Williams are borderline. Harry used to be, but I don't put him in the same category anymore as he put his head down and worked through it.

At least Frank wants the ball in his hands when it's time to kick a goal, he wants every shot he can get. Moir, Ainsworth, and Hayward are similar, they WANT to be kicking at goal, rather than dreading it. It should hopefully provide a decent boost up forward this year.

One of our major problems up forward has been that so many of our blokes are shit-scared of kicking a set shot.

McGovern, Motlop, Durdin, Curnow, Fogarty were/are all guilty of it. Cripps and Williams are borderline. Harry used to be, but I don't put him in the same category anymore as he put his head down and worked through it.

At least Frank wants the ball in his hands when it's time to kick a goal, he wants every shot he can get. Moir, Ainsworth, and Hayward are similar, they WANT to be kicking at goal, rather than dreading it. It should hopefully provide a decent boost up forward this year.
Coudlnt agree more - thats the job so go back and have a shot.

I think williams has changed and he is far more prepared to go back and have a shot

It won't be a complete backflip... but they clearly didn't think it through properly.

Having an only 2 picks to match rule makes it near impossible to get a player bid on at pick 1 and very difficult if the bid is at pick 2.

Even if you get them, no one knows who fa band 1 compo goes to until like a week before trade period starts, so you might have the right picks, but then they get pushed back anyway...

When you have a system where, you don't know where the bid is going to come and you don't know where your picks are going to land until the start of trade period makes a 2 picks only rule near impossible to plan for.

No doubt the AFL put this to the clubs and they got hit with a bunch of "what ifs" that the AFL can't answer hence the delay in announcing changes.

They'll come up with something, it won't remain as it is this year, but I doubt 2 picks only to match remains.
So you think the rule they put in for the 2026 draft in October 2025, will be changed within a year?

Im not saying I don't disagree with the sentiment that its wrong.

But I don't think the afl will change a rule before its even really come into place regardless of fairness

So you think the rule they put in for the 2026 draft in October 2025, will be changed within a year?

But I don't think the afl will change a rule before its even really come into place regardless of fairness

They haven't put any rules in yet...

They would have handed their proposed changes to the clubs, but there's a reason nothing's official yet...

Harry used to be, but I don't put him in the same category anymore as he put his head down and worked through it.
I feel like Harry's kicking was fine as a kid despite Dunstall bleating about it, then he had groin/hip issues and started trying to alleviate that by snapping from the mark and his confidence went up and down from there.

Technically if they tick off forcing clubs to use 2 picks to match a bid in the coming weeks, that would be a change for 2026 instituted before seeing the 2025 changes in action.

We said the same thing about Martin and Cuningham until it didn't happen and was evident it wasn't going to. Teasing with potential and never happening. I think he is another who received a longer contract than he should have. If this season ever happens then great but I am not holding my breath.
I’m guessing by all your negative post about Cerra that he most have run over your cat then backed over your dog fair dinkum mate give it a rest

I would pay out Binns also...surplus to needs with the new players traded in
Exactly my thinking, Boyd too if we need the list spot.

I think if a club picks either up, they absorb the contract?

I assume if we pay them out this year its under this year's salary cap?
Given they have 1 year deals, it would be against the 2026 TPP regardless of any negotiation.

Do we need to find an intermediate KPD until Dean comes on?

another way of thinking about it, can we win a premiership in 2027 with Dean as CHB?
Not against Derksen if he's delisted, but would imagine Melbourne will swoop.

Good rotations for one. Rotations mean run harder for longer and less injuries. So this means we should have good rotations through the midfield and between back pocket and half back and forward flank and forward pocket.

Problem with Walsh out of the middle, he is the only fast dynamic midfielder we have. Take him out and one of this teams biggest issues becomes monumentally worse. As for his kicking, he's like Dangerfield, kicks it long, which is ok, just don't want too many guys like this in the team.

Did we all see how bad we were when he was out this year and how much we improved in the last few games when he came back? Walsh is a massive part of our onball group and opposition teams know this and target him because of this. The others are slow paced accumulators, teams aren't that worried about them but Walsh is viewed differently by other teams. He is the one who can run and carry and pounce on a lose ball or run down an opposition player so teams block and body him. The rest aren't worth putting effort into so all focus goes to Walsh.

The only way to protect Walsh is to add another player with the same agility, pace and hurt factor to our midfield because teams will not put work into two players.

We can take Walsh out of the middle and put him on a wing and he will be good but the team will suffer for it.

Smith was recruited to add class, pace and agility to the midfield but he is built like a match stick and will be some time away from being a regular in the middle. Walker next year will help but it will be a similar situation. Ison of course but again they are kids and generally onballers take a while before they can do it at AFL level.

I think our recruiting team are going to be heavily focused on this for next year. Does it mean we open the cap space up and go for Butters or or another with these traits? I think we will be working hard and focusing on this from here on.

I think and hope that come end of 2026 that we will see Cripps as having more time up his sleeve, Camporeale and Lord as good AFL centermen and Hewett and Cerra going fine. With Ison, Walker and Smith coming through strongly and us seeing we have a glut of onball options. I can see us making a trade out of our onball group to bring in the right sort of mature player in there. I think we will be putting Cerra up for trade end of 2026 and trying to wrangle something with our midfield mix. Just my guess.

The only way to look after Walsh is to recruit someone quick and damaging enough where opposition put their focus onto that player and less on Walsh.
Does anyone else think Florent could return to the midfield given our list, adding speed in attack and delivering to Harry? I thought he played well as an on-baller for Sydney when paired with Kennedy and Mills. Sydney have a different midfield mix now but Florent could be valuable for us paired with Cripps in the midfield (and maybe Cerra).

(I’m also hoping this provides an opportunity for Jagga to play and develop at half back for a year)

Lies, damn lies, and statistics. :)

Zorko also had 10 more kicks and 270 more metres gained a game.
No doubt, but it still goes to show that Ollie isn't as far off being a decent AFL player as some people suggest.

I also had a deeper look into the numbers. Ollie and Zorko are almost identical for changers per possession (0.14) with Ollie winning out by .004.

Gday guys
Just a quick question
I think E Hollands off field is well documented
My qu is is on field , what does he bring and is he a possible upgrade on Worps . .
Missing Zac means imo we need to take a punt to keep up with the pack and I think this kid IF DELISTED is a risk worth taking .
I could be wrong
Thoughts from those who would know .

Cheers

Gday guys
Just a quick question
My qu is is on field , what does he bring and is he a possible upgrade on Worps . .
Missing Zac means imo we need to take a punt to keep up with the pack and I think this kid IF DELISTED is a risk worth taking .
I could be wrong

Cheers
Elite skill, could be very good but just doesn't seem to have what it takes above the shoulders. I hope we keep him based on his ability.

Gday guys
Just a quick question
I could be wrong

Cheers

Elijah is more a half forward than a midfielder, at this point at least, so he wouldn't be a Worpel replacement per se. He has clean hands, very classy player and an undeniably huge level of talent. I for one really hope we retain him. Seems crazy to me that we would pay out his contract just so he can play elsewhere. We have other guys on our list that I'd rather pay out like Boyd, Fogarty etc.. but time will tell I guess.