Mega Thread 2025 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

Back by popular demand. However...

There has been some aggro from publishers of articles in recent months about sites that copypasta their content onto other sites, particularly the paywalled ones, which could lead to fines and whanot for those that do it. Apparently there are copywrite laws for these things. As a result we can no longer have full articles reposted here, so if you come across something then please refrain from nabbing the whole thing and just post the link. Quoting a paragraph or two and linking the source is fine however, just don't get greedy.

Here's the updated site-wide rule: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/please-read-re-copyright-posting-newspaper-articles.1389553/

Here's an example of what you can do:

"If West Coast was the gold standard for how to operate, then Fremantle's arrival into the AFL in 1995 could be viewed as a series of cautionary tales.

Despite eight wins in that debut season, a series of poor recruiting choices meant they didn't play their first final until 2003."

If they believe that us not making finals until 2003 was solely due to "a series of poor recruiting choices" then I have a bridge to sell them.

Thanks for your understanding.

i still am convinced the players have all come from a lot of youth/ juniors training that Justin is finding hard to beat out of them than he expected.

it certainly isnt Justins game plan to allow uncontested marking like it was in last game and it got tidied up at start of 2nd qtr. sadly the team allowed it back into the game again

Also not Justings game plan to kick 8 points in row. at least half of whih were kickable.

That scoreboard pressure and the bad habits cost us the game
Not Justins game plan,

Now the queation is why hasnt he got the team playing his game plan ? Sadly lack of motivation power seems to me to be the issue.

Keep Justin get sone assistants who are aligned with Justins plan but who can motivate and break those bad habits we fal linto

I feel your frustration, but playing Simpson at this late point in such a pressure game has a 99% chance of backfiring and making us worse. Walker ( albeit a very poor past performance in a pressure match) or Wagner to go back are much better solution.

It’s a must win game but I would like to keep playing Worner he just has something, he is naturally tough and more likely to play a good role again.

O’Meara, O’Driscoll and Banfield have certainly put themselves on thin ice and must be the players considered for dropping although we all know O’Meara is the least likely to be dropped because he is in the leadership group.

I would like to see Young (obviously) and Johnson included at a minimum. Longmuir didn’t sound overly confident on Johnson but his size and speed is needed in the midfield desperately.

I like to believe that next year Simpson will be given first opportunity to establish himself in our backline.
Worner isn’t droppable. He has been great and reliable. He’s not the issue.
I reckon part of the answer to the slow ball movement, via possession, is more run.

We need to get on our bikes. We are young and fit and generally speaking, not lacking pace. I want to see more overlap run to at least draw in defenders, break the opposition zone and create more disposal options either by foot or hand.

We do this occasionally and the play tends to open up and options start to become apparent further afield. For some reason when we get a bit defensive, our run dries up and our only option is long down the line. I swear I can hear a collective groan around the ground when this starts happening frequently.

I also reckon this style of play will open up more leading lanes for our quicker forwards like Jye and Freddy.

I also believe movement and more run is part of the answer for when Serong is getting tagged. He too often is willing to engage body on body with the tagger instead of getting on the move and maybe drawing a free kick.

Anyway, rant over...just run more you purple campaigners.
Agree.
I remember the criticism was on the over hand balling early in Jl’s career. It’s over doing it if the players turn over. However a quick 2-3 handball chain relieves the pressure and zone defences like Brisbane are forced to defend the runner, in turn opens up the space.
It’s better for Switkowsi and Fredrick for example over the back and brings the forward into the game.

What’s annoying is the lack of players asking for a handball off Pearce or Cox for example. Andrews is always looks for a quick release kick or handball as soon as he marks it. It makes sense rather inviting pressure.

I think we as fans largely watch the games (especially the ones we’ve lost) assessing them in terms of a single objective: winning the game. That objective is then applied to every single possible decision that could be made both in the lead up to and during the game itself. E.g. We lost. Amiss had 3 touches whilst wresting with stronger men on the goal line all game. Why wasn’t he playing like a medium up on the flanks playing the role Sturt did? Why didn’t the coach make that decision? And that’s just one of dozens of strategic decisions that could affect the outcome of the game.

This seems the obvious thing to do: after all, the point is to win the game, right? The only time you might not make every decision in view of the goal of winning the game is if you’re a “developing side”, when you can allow that players need development, game plans need to be bedded down, etc.

And Fremantle in 2025 is not a developing side — we should be contending, we should be winning games.

I don’t buy the idea that we’re not a developing side — not because we’re so young and inexperienced, but because if the club, team, players, etc., aren’t still developing, they’re dead in the water, and on the fast track to the bottom of the ladder. Good sides are always developing.

If you can agree with this logic, then it is possible to see that there are now at least two objectives (more than two, most likely) informing all those decisions, and I imagine that they’re often incompatable objectives. Why was Amiss wrestling with KPDs instead of running up the wing, making leads, etc.? It’s looked to me like all year, the coaches have been prioritising Amiss’s development, building his capacity to take on the strongest KPDs. Both Longmuir and Garlick have frequently talked about long term thinking, building for sustained success, and I interpret things like the way Amiss is being played in that light: winning this particular game is not the only objective in play.

None of that is meant to be a defence of Longmuir (I don’t buy into those debates) or a suggestion that all the dozens of strategic decisions the club and coaches have made couldn’t have been made in view of a different or better balancing of the objectives. I can hear and appreciate arguments that, for example, playing finals will do more for developing the club and squad than leaving Amiss to wrestle on the goal line (though finals aren’t out of the equation yet).

What it means to me is that is that there might be answers to your questions that don’t have anything to do with (allegedly) conservative game plans, incompetence or inflexibility on the part of the senior coach — or at least connect with factors and objectives that seem irrelevant when you (by which I mean me and all of us) are sitting there assessing every little moment of the game in terms of the overriding objective of winning.
There's a strong user name/post paradox at play here.

You make a strong argument and I don't disagree with anything you've written.
Where I don't see us making progress is in the issues I outlined in my original post you replied to.
Why can't we switch to man on man when the other team is so systematically picking us apart and more importantly why don't we use overlap run more out of the back half? Why do we see over and over the players holding the ball and kicking down the line when its not working?

Why has a player like Chapman stopped being creative and attacking?

Why is Amiss not playing like a medium up on the flanks playing the role Sturt did. It's pointless him wrestling with stronger men on the goal line all game.

Or why when we don't, as you've said have any decent wings don't they play Amiss up there, or get Chapman up the ground and bring Walker back.

Yes you don't change a winning side and yes my posting today is reactionary and born of frustration but they are fundamental questions I've been asking all year. Just ask my mate who sits next to me at home games.

We're doing a lot right. We are improving and we don't quite have all the cattle we need yet but that doesn't mean we shouldn't be innovating when we can.
There’s a bit to go through there, but I’ll respond with a coaches mindset. Sorry it’s going to be a tldr post.

Coaches rely heavily on structure & process & the decisions they make in the coaches box are always heavily scrutinised. It is hard for a coach & we’re all stubborn in that regard to move away from what you have been training & developing all year from a team & individual player perspective.

I’ll start by saying I have a list as well but understand that any moves we suggest here have no consequences so are easily suggested without knowing the discussions taking place behind closed doors or what’s been trained on the track.

Chapman is the prime example. He’s lacking confidence & his body language is poor & no doubt they are saying to him take those kicks on, back yourself in but he is simply lacking confidence. He’s at the point where he is just thinking about defend first & look at ball movement as a consequence of good defending.

That could be coaching, but more likely the human element in that he’s made some poor decisions that have affected his execution this year & he’s struggling mentally. Doing the basics of his role well will give him confidence.

It’s difficult for a coach to throw everything out the window after winning 11 of 12 matches based off one very poor game. Moving Chapman & Amiss can do more harm than good as you are not backing them in to the roles they’ve been training all year. It throws the structure out for an entire forward & back half without training for it, risking not just them but others around them.

Jye has been an inside 50 player for the last 6 years of his career, he relies on craft & movement to play well. He has been rotated up higher & even on a wing but he doesn’t have the game to do that all day & is not great defensively when the ball hits the ground. If he’s not clean between the arcs he’s going to cause pressure on the back half.

In regard to the game on Friday night & this is a coaching mindset, right or wrong. The coaches are sitting there at half time going we’ve created enough opportunities that we should be in front. The KPI’s are telling us that.

We’ve had as many inside 50’s, 2 or 3 more scoring shots, totally stuffed up another 4 solid goal scoring opportunities from turnovers created with poor disposal or decision making going inside 50 & another 3 that went out of bounds or didn’t make it.

As a coach your going to back in the process that you went with up till half time because it was working but we let ourselves down inside f50. We’ll continue to give them that short kick because we’re set up behind the ball & creating opportunities.

After half time, it fell away. Not sure why, likely the frustration of not taking our chances at half time & an expectation it was just going to happen because it nearly did in the first half? Inexperience & the lack of onfield leaders likely contributed as well.

But to flick a switch & go man on man is very hard to do at that moment as it affects other plans in regards to turnover & structure behind the ball. Bottom line we didn’t work hard or smart enough & went away from what potentially was working.

The experience of Brisbane & the motivation of coming off 2 poor losses from their past 3 games would have been ringing in the ears of the Brisbane players as they went back out after half time. I can’t stress enough how massive the mental side of footy is.

There’s a few other points you raise but I think you get the gist of what I’m saying. I’ll finish this essay by saying that I’m frustrated with our coaching as well & feel that our coaches need to be challenged more on their decisions that they make game day & at training, internally.

I’d like a more experienced footy boss & 1 more experienced assistant. But think they have the intel to do the job.

If you’ve come this far I’m so sorry for the long post.

You make a strong argument and I don't disagree with anything you've written.
Where I don't see us making progress is in the issues I outlined in my original post you replied to.
Why can't we switch to man on man when the other team is so systematically picking us apart and more importantly why don't we use overlap run more out of the back half? Why do we see over and over the players holding the ball and kicking down the line when its not working?

Why has a player like Chapman stopped being creative and attacking?

Why is Amiss not playing like a medium up on the flanks playing the role Sturt did. It's pointless him wrestling with stronger men on the goal line all game.

Or why when we don't, as you've said have any decent wings don't they play Amiss up there, or get Chapman up the ground and bring Walker back.

Yes you don't change a winning side and yes my posting today is reactionary and born of frustration but they are fundamental questions I've been asking all year. Just ask my mate who sits next to me at home games.

We're doing a lot right. We are improving and we don't quite have all the cattle we need yet but that doesn't mean we shouldn't be innovating when we can.
And why a player like Drizz is consistently not taking the space in front of him and either kicking for goal or getting it in quickly

I would suggest only 1 more kicker off half back, fatside wing and quality small forward (Voss is basically a medium forward despite his height) are what we need. Higher quality 5th mid rotation is a bonus but they are already on the list in my view.

Even then we can win flags with what we have got with more cohesion and experience.
Simpson might be the kicker off halfback, Dudley could grow into the small forward. I don’t have a winger candidate.

Think there’s an extra big-body mid requirement; could be Erasmus or NOD (who is sadly out of form at the moment but definitely has potential still IMO)

A Herald Sun classic caption from today, in the article discussing the premiership chances of all remaining 9 teams
You have to shake your head at how basic shit like this gets through in professional media

Brennan Cox. Picture: Janelle St Pierre/AFL Photos via Getty Images.

Can't believe these idiots don't know who Karl Wagner is!

“They’re definitely not going to get a job with the CIA post-coaching. They could have been a little bit less discriminating; taking a 206cm ruckman is not a way to slide under the radar."

Gene Parmesan GIF

“They’re definitely not going to get a job with the CIA post-coaching. They could have been a little bit less discriminating; taking a 206cm ruckman is not a way to slide under the radar."

Gene Parmesan GIF
They were laughing about it on Sportstalk this morning.
It was a captains run & open to the public.

This game was Champion Data’s worst nightmare. They absolutely love the Dogs, reckon they have half of the top 10 best players in the AFL while they HATE Freo. Daniel Hoyne might call in sick for his SEN bit on Tuesday night.
David King suddenly has man flu…

Mega Thread 2025 Media & Miscellaneous Thread