News 2025 St. Kilda Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter sammm

It's absolute dribble. We have 13 players on our list from other clubs which is third-most in the comp, behind only Carlton and Collingwood (15). We traded for nine of them, one UFA (Cordy) and three DFA. Mostly young players too.

The "number one destination club" Cats have 9. Jeremy Cameron is maybe the only one who made a conscious decision to nominate them, not being originally from the area or a club sponsor's brand ambassador

#5 Swans have only 7 from other clubs. Grundy, Paton, Francis, Jordon, Hamling, Ladhams, Adams. Salary dumps or unwanted cast offs.

GWS are also ahead of us on the list, despite only having 5 players from other clubs

One of the Hawks' big advantages is said to be their Dingley HQ which is close to Brighton/Moorabbin. Okay

Don't know why I bothered responding. I guess the article achieved its real purpose by the fact I did
How many DFE's in that 13?

Edit: Sorry didn't read close enough. Not much star factor in there.

What are the chances of you getting an interview with RTB postseason? The chats with Joey prior to the season commencing are always a top listen. Bana and the Prez chats were awesome listening too.

For all the promotion you personally bring to the club and content (which the Saints website lacks these days)… surely they can find 15-20min for a one-on-one RTB in-depth chat about the list postseason. I remember when GT, Butters used to jump on Saintsational for chats and how engaging they were during that time
That's the dream to be honest mate, did ask after the Prez chat last year but I'll push for it again closer to season end.

List the "stars" who have moved in the last 5 years. Pretty short list.
Correct.

“Oh Saints are not a destination club, look, players X, Y and Z knocked them back”

And in tiny, 6 point font….”players X, Y and Z all chose to stay at home”, not go to other clubs instead of the Saints.”

We’re just the easiest club to kick when there’s no other stories going around.

Correct.

“Oh Saints are not a destination club, look, players X, Y and Z knocked them back”

And in tiny, 6 point font….”players X, Y and Z all chose to stay at home”, not go to other clubs instead of the Saints.”

We’re just the easiest club to kick when there’s no other stories going around.
It seems to be the only reason we're still around at all.
We exist as an irrational and bonkers AFL's media punching bag (but with zero acknowledgement or understanding on what we are trying to do right)
It's bizarre and at this stage utterly non-sensical. We shouldn't be immune from criticism...but this is just out of control & taking the absolute piss.

Is it?

The best Chompers Ralph could muster was “the vibe of the thing”.

Doing a mental count I could come up with 12 current players who started elsewhere. Some will say they’re not all top quality - true. But I’d like to know the definition of a destination club if not player movement.

If his definition is players moving for free farms or AFL subsidised bonuses a la Ben King well of course we’re not top of the pops.

Another trash article from a bottom feeder “journalist” which does nothing but feed a misguided wider narrative and the neg-trolls on here.

Yes, I’m clearly a hApPy cLapPer

There is a fine line between destination and dumping ground.

It seems to be the only reason we're still around at all.
We exist as an irrational and bonkers AFL's media punching bag (but with zero acknowledgement or understanding on what we are trying to do right)
It's bizarre and at this stage utterly non-sensical. We shouldn't be immune from criticism...but this is just out of control & taking the absolute piss.

Not really, we sort of get lost here. Carlton and Essendon take up more space. People tend to let us off lightly. Especially Lyon, the media love him. I wish they went harder. We operate in slo mo because no one is ever under pressure because we are expected to be shit.

I see it as delayed shit flinging.
Essendon seem to get the "Get out of jail" free card a lot. There's always an excuse made for them. Brad Scott is a genius according to most media pundits. Carlton get huge wraps put on them year in, year out...and get loads of credit. They're amazing all of the time. Now after years of being nothing short of a let down, they're under the spotlight a bit...but from what I can make out all the way over here is that it's TDK's fault because he's unable to make a decision (what with his broken feckin' larynx and all 🙄)
We've sorted out our footy department, and are finally investing in youth and the team, with one of the youngest lists going...but somehow that is completely glossed over. The narrative for the last two years is that we're irrelevant and that no one in their right mind would want to come to us...this in spite of the fact that we are clearly "trying" to create something with longevity and the ability to succeed.
When we were run by AFL plants and trying to create a public impression of woketopia, whilst having a bunch of eunuch donkeys playing for us, the media danced around us and gave us platitudes because we looked nice on the outside. If Finnis and co. had if had their way we would've been called the Fairy floss rainbow team, our theme tune would've been an Abba dance off, and we would all be wearing unicorn helmets, leotards, and a frilly tu-tu. That would've been fine with the media. We were the most pointless tand irrelevant team going...back then. Now, I would argue that you can dress bullshit up anyway you want, but underneath it's still bullshit. Now that we've committed to some sort of structure, against that bullshit, and have department guys in place that "should" get the job done...we're getting a lot of what we should've got back then.
Personally I think the media are at least 5 years behind the curve...they know it, and ****ing despise us for it. We're only okay when we ARE irrelevant...not when we're attempting to do something about it.

I see it as delayed shit flinging.
Essendon seem to get the "Get out of jail" free card a lot. There's always an excuse made for them. Brad Scott is a genius according to most media pundits. Carlton get huge wraps put on them year in, year out...and get loads of credit. They're amazing all of the time. Now after years of being nothing short of a let down, they're under the spotlight a bit...but from what I can make out all the way over here is that it's TDK's fault because he's unable to make a decision (what with his broken feckin' larynx and all 🙄)
We've sorted out our footy department, and are finally investing in youth and the team, with one of the youngest lists going...but somehow that is completely glossed over. The narrative for the last two years is that we're irrelevant and that no one in their right mind would want to come to us...this in spite of the fact that we are clearly "trying" to create something with longevity and the ability to succeed.
When we were run by AFL plants and trying to create a public impression of woketopia, whilst having a bunch of eunuch donkeys playing for us, the media danced around us and gave us platitudes because we looked nice on the outside. If Finnis and co. had if had their way we would've been called the Fairy floss rainbow team, our theme tune would've been an Abba dance off, and we would all be wearing unicorn helmets, leotards, and a frilly tu-tu. That would've been fine with the media. We were the most pointless tand irrelevant team going...back then. Now, I would argue that you can dress bullshit up anyway you want, but underneath it's still bullshit. Now that we've committed to some sort of structure, against that bullshit, and have department guys in place that "should" get the job done...we're getting a lot of what we should've got back then.
Personally I think the media are at least 5 years behind the curve...they know it, and ****ing despise us for it. We're only okay when we ARE irrelevant...not when we're attempting to do something about it.

The media here spend three days directing Carlton and fit a few negatives to the more irrelevant clubs to look vaguely interested. Carlton bed shitting is a sport in itself here.

Essendon have no players left at the moment. They want to blow up their airport dump site now because apparently there is rock deep down under ground. I'm no geologist but assume that a lot of rock exists under the ground in post places.

Might be cheaper to get new training staff.

Rookie draft pick turned Trevor Barker Medalist and All-Australian full back. Cal Wilkie is about to play his 150th consecutive game since debut.

He joins me for a chat ahead of this huge milestone on Sunday.

A fantastic segment there Jake.

Cal.....what an absolutely ripper of a guy.

How fortunate are we to have him.....a great player and a truly great guy.

The media here spend three days directing Carlton and fit a few negatives to the more irrelevant clubs to look vaguely interested. Carlton bed shitting is a sport in itself here.

Essendon have no players left at the moment. They want to blow up their airport dump site now because apparently there is rock deep down under ground. I'm no geologist but assume that a lot of rock exists under the ground in post places.

Might be cheaper to get new training staff.
"Could be Radon in them there Rocks Bradley, we gots to move"...actually it might feasibly explains Essendon's terrible form, and injuries. Players being slowly nuked from minute emissions of nuclear level toxicity.