Heat
This line from a quick glance looks the most grim of the lot. Theres a few in the 800s that could be great value but could be season killers. Good luck picking the right ones.

Do you trust Carlton half backs with Newman?

Does Kiddy bother to play this season? Is there a spot for him with the emergence of Fletcher?

Potentially some good rookies which I expect about 8 of them end up injured or cruelly miss out Round 1 and we have to totally re-structure lol

Pfffft. That would never happen in Fantasy. I don’t expect anything to go wrong this season at all to be honest.

Alright, I'm going to get some discussion started here. A few mid-pricers that I'm currently looking at:

The obvious picks:

McKercher - Priced at 78.5, no early bye. Talk of him potentially going into the midfield this year which is scaring some people, but I think he's a lock either way.

Bergman - Priced at 78.3, no early bye. Averaged 100+ when given 50% or more CBAs last year. Have heard that Carr has confirmed Rozee will play off half back and (I think) Berg is training with the midfield. Auto pick if he lines up there.

Newman - Priced at 71.7, R2 bye. Averaged 98 in 2023 and 102 in 2024, injured all last year. Autopick unless he stinks it up in Round 0, in which case you could look to grab him in R3 post bye.

Some roughies:

Ridley - Priced at 63.2, no early bye. Averaged 88 in 2024 and 81 in 2023. Averaged 77 in non-injury affected games in 2025. Likely to share kick-ins with Redman and Roberts. Can see him being an 85+ guy if he can remain fit, which is a big if considering he has already had a hamstring injury in preseason. Could benefit from Fantasy's new 50% TOG rule.

Finn O'Sullivan - Priced at 53.7, no early bye. If McKercher goes into midfield, the talk in the Kangaroos forum is that Finn becomes the main distributor off half-back. The Kangaroos always have someone go to the moon in this role - Kerch, Daniel, Fisher, Sheez, Ziebell, Hall. If he gets the role he could be a gem

Houston - Priced at 66.8, R2 bye. If J Daicos goes into the middle, someone needs to scoop up those juicy halfback points. Think this is a wait and see what happens in R0/1

Keen to hear some thoughts!

Alright, I'm going to get some discussion started here. A few mid-pricers that I'm currently looking at:

The obvious picks:

McKercher - Priced at 78.5, no early bye. Talk of him potentially going into the midfield this year which is scaring some people, but I think he's a lock either way.

Bergman - Priced at 78.3, no early bye. Averaged 100+ when given 50% or more CBAs last year. Have heard that Carr has confirmed Rozee will play off half back and (I think) Berg is training with the midfield. Auto pick if he lines up there.

Newman - Priced at 71.7, R2 bye. Averaged 98 in 2023 and 102 in 2024, injured all last year. Autopick unless he stinks it up in Round 0, in which case you could look to grab him in R3 post bye.

Some roughies:

Ridley - Priced at 63.2, no early bye. Averaged 88 in 2024 and 81 in 2023. Averaged 77 in non-injury affected games in 2025. Likely to share kick-ins with Redman and Roberts. Can see him being an 85+ guy if he can remain fit, which is a big if considering he has already had a hamstring injury in preseason. Could benefit from Fantasy's new 50% TOG rule.

Finn O'Sullivan - Priced at 53.7, no early bye. If McKercher goes into midfield, the talk in the Kangaroos forum is that Finn becomes the main distributor off half-back. The Kangaroos always have someone go to the moon in this role - Kerch, Daniel, Fisher, Sheez, Ziebell, Hall. If he gets the role he could be a gem

Houston - Priced at 66.8, R2 bye. If J Daicos goes into the middle, someone needs to scoop up those juicy halfback points. Think this is a wait and see what happens in R0/1

Pretty much where I'm at, suggest you review your thinking.

The obvious picks:

McKercher - Priced at 78.5, no early bye. Talk of him potentially going into the midfield this year which is scaring some people, but I think he's a lock either way. People are scared for good reason, scored shite when playing mid

Bergman
- Priced at 78.3, no early bye. Averaged 100+ when given 50% or more CBAs last year. Have heard that Carr has confirmed Rozee will play off half back and (I think) Berg is training with the midfield. Auto pick if he lines up there. Agree

Newman
- Priced at 71.7, R2 bye. Averaged 98 in 2023 and 102 in 2024, injured all last year. Autopick unless he stinks it up in Round 0, in which case you could look to grab him in R3 post bye. Agree

Some roughies:

Ridley - Priced at 63.2, no early bye. Averaged 88 in 2024 and 81 in 2023. Averaged 77 in non-injury affected games in 2025. Likely to share kick-ins with Redman and Roberts. Can see him being an 85+ guy if he can remain fit, which is a big if considering he has already had a hamstring injury in preseason. Could benefit from Fantasy's new 50% TOG rule. Find it difficult to pick someone with an interrupted PS, particularly with his history

Finn O'Sullivan
- Priced at 53.7, no early bye. If McKercher goes into midfield, the talk in the Kangaroos forum is that Finn becomes the main distributor off half-back. The Kangaroos always have someone go to the moon in this role - Kerch, Daniel, Fisher, Sheez, Ziebell, Hall. If he gets the role he could be a gem Don't think he's suited to HB, his talent lies mid/fwd, if he has the role the might be worth a punt

Houston
- Priced at 66.8, R2 bye. If J Daicos goes into the middle, someone needs to scoop up those juicy halfback points. Think this is a wait and see what happens in R0/1 Doesn't look like the Pies gamestyle suits this type, from a Fantasy perspective.

I've added some comments to the one's you made above.

A few others to consider I reckon.

Judd McVee - Targeted by Freo to enhance a quicker transition game, might get a bit of a spike in scoring ala Noble last season.

Blakiston - Fair bit of talk around him being the No.1 ruck until Bryan is ready, could be 6 weeks which would give a nice price rise

Kiddy Coleman - Fagan is on record saying Kiddy is a best 23 player, if so, he would have to be a lock at his price.

I would think most would start Rozee as D1 given Ports early draw and no early bye. I'm contemplating Sinclair even with the round 4 bye, mainly off the back of the change in kick ins when NAS moved up the ground. In the last 6 games Sinclair had 38 v's NAS's 12, in the 6 games previous to that Sinclair had 34 v's NAS 37.

There's also a fair raft of rookies that could start the season and some would have pretty sweet roles. Uwland, Grlj, Lindsay and Farrow seem to be the one's with the best scoring roles. Gibcus, Dean, Serong look to have good JS whilst someone like Matt Whitlock could get games and would be a handy pairing with Todd Marshall who should end up with Def/Fwd status after round 6.

The obvious picks:

Some roughies:

Great picks. The one I have questions on is Houston. He still had plenty of opportunity down back to get points and market share last year and didn't do much. Growing pains, finding his feet or what....

Comments so far on the above from trying to keep up with the footy pre-season (I am an avid scroller of preseason notes on BF haha):

Berg - yep lock and load, I am also a true berg truther who jumped on immediately last year after his first cba game haha
Kerch - similar as long as we see HB distribution in the preseason games
Newman - I personally want to see it in OR as I know Florent is also going to be playing as a distributor HB, but obviously a layup if he pops and has the role
Ridley - already done a hammy this preseason, don't think the risk is worth it (particularly if going other injury-prone players in other lines)
FOS - interesting if kerch moves out but think he is more of a quality over quantity player, I am intrigued tho and sounds like he's been one of the absolute stands outs in preseason
Houston - already had injury concerns and not in full training to my understanding. Thankfully OR will be the ultimate tell of where he is at
Rozee - IMO, the biggest talking point for defence. Do you start him or not? Either D1 Roz or D1 Kerch for me. Leaning towards no but the fomo of that opening fixture is getting very very real... I've started him 3 years in a row so maybe I need to make it a 4th lol
McVee - haven't heard heaps but definitely on my watchlist if he has more of a license
Blakiston - IMO an absolute lock if Bryan isn't available. Sounds like he is currently the preferred ruck and he will smash his salary if he rucks the first 5wks+
Coleman: interestingly, it sounds like he may actually be playing forward to not interrupt the mix. Yes fages has said he's a lock in 23 but not necessarily a lock in the def. Thankfully OR will give us a straight answer

Who is McVee taking points from with Ryan and Clark down there? Wagner was Freo's third-highest scoring defender with 64.

I think it was identified that Freo were one of the slowest teams in transitioning the ball from defence. They've gone out and targeted McVee and the assumption would be that they want the ball in his hands to get more speed on it. I don't think it's a matter of who he takes points from, more of a matter of how many times he gets it and how many times they give it to him.

The obvious picks:

Some roughies:

Agree with the obvious ones. I’m my team unless something forces a rethink

Don’t like the other 3 personally

Coleman I think is another of the more intriguing picks. If named rd 1 have to pick him IMO but I’m not convinced he will end up a smash pick

Add to it that there seems to be a lot of likely Def eligible rookies and we could be forced to consider passing on one of these seemingly obvious picks to prioritize fitting in the best rookies

I think it was identified that Freo were one of the slowest teams in transitioning the ball from defence. They've gone out and targeted McVee and the assumption would be that they want the ball in his hands to get more speed on it. I don't think it's a matter of who he takes points from, more of a matter of how many times he gets it and how many times they give it to him.
McVee's a reasonable lockdown defender isn't he? I doubt his primary role will be transitioning the ball given Clark and Chapman are below median 1v1 defenders (imo). Combine this with the fact Luke Ryan already hates quickly offloading to Clark. There's also next to no chance he realises a decade into his career that no one wants him flourbagging the ball 55m up the boundary line ad infinitum.

I envisage McVee averages around 65-70ppg max.

McVee's a reasonable lockdown defender isn't he? I doubt his primary role will be transitioning the ball given Clark and Chapman are below median 1v1 defenders (imo). Combine this with the fact Luke Ryan already hates quickly offloading to Clark. There's also next to no chance he realises a decade into his career that no one wants him flourbagging the ball 55m up the boundary line ad infinitum.

I envisage McVee averages around 65-70ppg max.
All fair points. There was a definite change in game plan post bye 2024 where Ryan was told in no uncertain terms to stop stat padding and get the ball moving. I think they identified a shortcoming in transitioning the ball last season and went out and targeted McVee to assist as he has the skillset, probably underutilized at Melb. as more of a lockdown defender.

I still reckon I'll take a punt, priced at 54 so there's still some upside even at 70ppg (hoping for 80+)

All fair points. There was a definite change in game plan post bye 2024 where Ryan was told in no uncertain terms to stop stat padding and get the ball moving. I think they identified a shortcoming in transitioning the ball last season and went out and targeted McVee to assist as he has the skillset, probably underutilized at Melb. as more of a lockdown defender.

I still reckon I'll take a punt, priced at 54 so there's still some upside even at 70ppg (hoping for 80+)
I really rate McVee as a good footballer, and think he'll make Freo a better team, whether that's by providing carry and distribution I'm not sold. But you're right, you're unlikely to be burned with a 54 starting price. Might be one where I wait for Chapman to do his annual muscle injury then jump on.

I'm surprised that more people aren't going with NAS. sure he has a bye, but it's the best bye to have and people have no issue paying up for Sheezel and NAS is a much better player. Sure, he may not be value but he won't avg much less than last season and he's a great captain option.

Aside from sheez having no bye, he is in a line with not confidence in other premos, midpricers OR rookies

Makes sense to just pa up for him

Defence has more alternatives, especially with players you can reasonably expect to be good mid pricers and rookies so there’s less need to take the obvious keeper

Or in another sense, if sheezel holds value he’s probably done his job comparative to his line, NWM holds value it’s still a readable pick but there’s a good chance there was a good moneymaker / value pick you overlooked to get him (one you had considered not a random flyer no one saw coming)

Aside from sheez having no bye, he is in a line with not confidence in other premos, midpricers OR rookies

Makes sense to just pa up for him

Defence has more alternatives, especially with players you can reasonably expect to be good mid pricers and rookies so there’s less need to take the obvious keeper

Or in another sense, if sheezel holds value he’s probably done his job comparative to his line, NWM holds value it’s still a readable pick but there’s a good chance there was a good moneymaker / value pick you overlooked to get him (one you had considered not a random flyer no one saw coming)
I agree that the fwds suck but defence doesn't have many other premiums that we're confident in? Rozee/Whitifield and that's about it. Plus Sheezel isn't a captain option. NWM is. Plus you get 2 of him.

The fact that people are talking about guys like Salem being a top 6 defender shows just how thin the backline is.

I agree that the fwds suck but defence doesn't have many other premiums that we're confident in? Rozee/Whitifield and that's about it. Plus Sheezel isn't a captain option. NWM is. Plus you get 2 of him.

The fact that people are talking about guys like Salem being a top 6 defender shows just how thin the backline is.
What's your logic behind NWM being a captain option and Sheezel not being one? They both averaged essentially the same last year.

Can see teams really trying to clamp down on NWM this year now that he's a full-time mid and being so influential in the back half of last year.

Early bye, not value and plenty of other options. He's the easiest no for me.

What's your logic behind NWM being a captain option and Sheezel not being one? They both averaged essentially the same last year.

Can see teams really trying to clamp down on NWM this year now that he's a full-time mid and being so influential in the back half of last year.
so teams didn't tag NAS despite him blowing the competition away for like 12 weeks and teams still didn't. What's your logic there?

Sheezel can't score in the midfield. All of his good scoring was at half back. Whenever he was in the midfield, he'd go missing for 20 mins at a time and save his score in the last 5-10 mins of every quarter once moved to half back. Clarkson is just a terrible coach and didn't realise that he's useless in the middle.

so teams didn't tag NAS despite him blowing the competition away for like 12 weeks and teams still didn't. What's your logic there?

Sheezel can't score in the midfield. All of his good scoring was at half back. Whenever he was in the midfield, he'd go missing for 20 mins at a time and save his score in the last 5-10 mins of every quarter once moved to half back. Clarkson is just a terrible coach and didn't realise that he's useless in the middle.
Nas was only playing as a full-time midfielder for the last 6 rounds. I just feel like he's widely acknowledged as one of the best players in the league this year and teams will try to shut him down

Sheezel had 8 games with more than 50% CBAs last year and averaged 118