2026 Attendances

Reckon it’s around 23k today, the loyalists make a good noise here.

This has been prime time. If this won’t drag em back from snow season, nothin will.

Agree! - Dee’s can get v loud. Each club has a distinct noise, end, sound and when they are coming Dee’s can rival most.

In a fortnight’s time, the Dees play Brisbane at 3:15pm Sunday. With their brand of footy, that should push 40k.
Easily. Brisbane draw like a smaller Vic club to MCG games. If Melbourne can draw 45,000 vs the Saints in that slot with good weather 40,000 plus is very achievable.

Sunday arvo sneakily good to neutral appeal attendees too. A nice day could push 50K.
Sunday 1pm is but the Brisbane game is another 3:15pm which typically isn’t great for crowds but we have had excellent weather for the three Sunday 3:15s this year which has helped.

There must still be alot of old Fitzroy supporters around if there is a prospect of double the crowd of today two weeks later in the same timeslot against a team based even further North than Gold Coast.

Easter Sunday was never going to draw that well today. The difference with Melbourne is that today is mid twenties rather than high teens like it would have been 10 years ago.

We will bring far more in two weeks and Brisbane bring at least 7k to the g.

Decent crowd and good showing from Dogs fans. Not sure if the clubs are trying to start something with the Easter game, but could be decent if the Bombers get their act together.

Decent crowd and good showing from Dogs fans. Not sure if the clubs are trying to start something but could be decent if the Bombers get their act together.

Might be too short of a gap for most years to ANZAC day. Not sure it will have a stable opponent other than a Dogs home game

Definitely are. On the Mernda trainline we outnumber Hawthorn supporters, the last game in Vic I used the Upfield line to get to the game because I was in Coburg that morning and we outnumbered Saints supporters on the train about 90-10. Once the train got to North Melbourne I swapped trains to avoid the loop and the train that went direct to Southern Cross (not sure if that train originated from Williamstown or Werribee) was 50-50.

According to the MCG website, General Admission is open to club members only. Is this a first?

General Admission​

The following areas will be available for GA Club member scans (subject to change):

SHANE WARNE STAND - LEVEL 4​

• Q1-Q6 all rows

OLYMPIC STAND - LEVEL 4​

• Q49-Q55 rows AA-MM
If so, this is a great way to approach blockbuster games without screwing over general admission members.
All public tickets including standing room sold out. That leaves around 8k -9k for club members to scan in today. Will be interesting to see if that is filled. Unlikely without public I reckon.

Definitely are. On the Mernda trainline we outnumber Hawthorn supporters, the last game in Vic I used the Upfield line to get to the game because I was in Coburg that morning and we outnumbered Saints supporters on the train about 90-10. Once the train got to North Melbourne I swapped trains to avoid the loop and the train that went direct to Southern Cross (not sure if that train originated from Williamstown or Werribee) was 50-50.
Reckon Hawthorn’s fan base is very location based. We outnumber all clubs on the Belgrave/Lillidale lines. Maybe behind Richmond and Collingwood in the Glen Waverley line. Very thin in the Northern suburbs.

All public tickets including standing room sold out. That leaves around 8k -9k for club members to scan in today. Will be interesting to see if that is filled. Unlikely without public I reckon.

Could be anywhere from early 80,000’s to 90,000. I gather this is the new way that the AFL will try and satisfy high demand games. Could be an elegant solution for Carlton v Collingwood, Dreamtime at the G and King’s Birthday. I assume that ANZAC Day and Pendlebury’s record breaking game will be fully ticketed given the enormous appeal of both games.

Pretty sure Anzac and Pies v Blues are already sold out.

I know crowds won't be as big, nor ratings, but I wonder if the dogs could play Sydney or whoever is a top SA or WA team from previous season on the easter Sunday... Got 40 plus vs crows and freo last year.