2026 Attendances

Wow that is very, very good for North. I note they opened up the full top deck too which must be a first for a non Coll / Carl / ESS game since Covid?

The Dees v Lions crowd looks every bit as big (if not bigger) than the Dees v Saints game.
YeI think it might be over 40k.

The Hobart game is just dumb.

I do like the idea of an SCG ‘home’ game against the Giants at the start of the year though (ie Easter). Great way to get 10,000 Richmond fans to Sydney over the long weekend and a great way to help the Giants over a difficult time of year. I would love Hawthorn to do something like that with the new Olympic Stadium in Brisbane too (just not at Easter, maybe Kings Birthday).

It works quite well for North in Perth…

Disagree.

Flights and accommodation booked for weekend in Tassie. Good seafood, great wine, a game of footy.

Never done away trip in Sydney.

So the Richmond membership preferred to make the match far less accessable to them by approving a home in Tasmania than having a home game a few kms from the MCG. Am I understanding that correctly?

Absolutely correct. Was hard to find any member against it.

Solid crowds during this Round.
  • Record Sydney-GWS H&A crowd.
  • Hawthorn's biggest Marvel crowd against a non-Victorian club.
  • Melbourne's 2nd biggest H&A crowd against the Brisbane Lions.
  • Geelong's 3rd biggest H&A crowd since Kardinia Park was re-developed.

After Round 6 (excluding Gather Round).

HOME CROWDS
Club (# of home games played) = Total (Average)
  • Carlton (3) = 220,134 (73,378)
  • St Kilda (2) = 114,382 (57,191)
  • Hawthorn (3) = 169,727 (56,576)
  • Essendon (2) = 111,538 (55,769)
  • Collingwood (2) = 104,089 (52,045)
  • West Coast (3) = 152,038 (50,679)
  • Adelaide (3) = 143,666 (47,889)
  • Sydney (3) = 122,486 (40,829)
  • Fremantle (2) = 79,981 (39,991)
  • Melbourne (3) = 110,493 (36,831)
  • North Melbourne (3) = 105,821 (35,274)
  • Port Adelaide (2) = 69,803 (34,902)
  • Western Bulldogs (2) = 67,104 (33,552)
  • Brisbane Lions (2) = 66,254 (33,127)
  • Richmond (2) = 64,939 (32,470)
  • Geelong (3) = 82,318 (27,439)
  • Gold Coast (3) = 52,207 (17,402)
  • GWS (2) = 25,306 (12,653)

HOME AND AWAY CROWDS
Club (# of games played) = Total (Average)
  • Carlton (5) = 306,425 (61,285)
  • Collingwood (5) = 299,323 (59,865)
  • Hawthorn (5) = 257,268 (51,454)
  • Adelaide (5) = 226,551 (45,310)
  • Melbourne (5) = 222,992 (44,598)
  • Sydney (5) = 221,154 (44,231)
  • St Kilda (5) = 213,962 (42,792)
  • Fremantle (5) = 211,555 (42,311)
  • Richmond (5) = 211,081 (42,216)
  • Essendon (5) = 205,412 (41,082)
  • West Coast (5) = 199,101 (39,820)
  • North Melbourne (5) = 193,058 (38,612)
  • Geelong (5) = 186,889 (37,378)
  • Western Bulldogs (5) = 181,095 (36,219)
  • Brisbane Lions (5) = 177,865 (35,573)
  • Port Adelaide (5) = 164,662 (32,932)
  • GWS (5) = 139,217 (27,843)
  • Gold Coast (5) = 106,962 (21,392)

After Round 6 (excluding Gather Round).

HOME CROWDS
Club (# of home games played) = Total (Average)
  • Carlton (3) = 220,134 (73,378)
  • St Kilda (2) = 114,382 (57,191)
  • Hawthorn (3) = 169,727 (56,576)
  • Essendon (2) = 111,538 (55,769)
  • Collingwood (2) = 104,089 (52,045)
  • West Coast (3) = 152,038 (50,679)
  • Adelaide (3) = 143,666 (47,889)
  • Sydney (3) = 122,486 (40,829)
  • Fremantle (2) = 79,981 (39,991)
  • Melbourne (3) = 110,493 (36,831)
  • North Melbourne (3) = 105,821 (35,274)
  • Port Adelaide (2) = 69,803 (34,902)
  • Western Bulldogs (2) = 67,104 (33,552)
  • Brisbane Lions (2) = 66,254 (33,127)
  • Richmond (2) = 64,939 (32,470)
  • Geelong (3) = 82,318 (27,439)
  • Gold Coast (3) = 52,207 (17,402)
  • GWS (2) = 25,306 (12,653)

HOME AND AWAY CROWDS
Club (# of games played) = Total (Average)
  • Carlton (5) = 306,425 (61,285)
  • Collingwood (5) = 299,323 (59,865)
  • Hawthorn (5) = 257,268 (51,454)
  • Adelaide (5) = 226,551 (45,310)
  • Melbourne (5) = 222,992 (44,598)
  • Sydney (5) = 221,154 (44,231)
  • St Kilda (5) = 213,962 (42,792)
  • Fremantle (5) = 211,555 (42,311)
  • Richmond (5) = 211,081 (42,216)
  • Essendon (5) = 205,412 (41,082)
  • West Coast (5) = 199,101 (39,820)
  • North Melbourne (5) = 193,058 (38,612)
  • Geelong (5) = 186,889 (37,378)
  • Western Bulldogs (5) = 181,095 (36,219)
  • Brisbane Lions (5) = 177,865 (35,573)
  • Port Adelaide (5) = 164,662 (32,932)
  • GWS (5) = 139,217 (27,843)
  • Gold Coast (5) = 106,962 (21,392)

Thank god Richmond has home Anzac eve and Dreamtime to pull maybe 70K and lift make it respectable.

70k on Friday is looking a massive stretch at this point. All AFL/MCC/Public sales are miles behind where they have been in the last 5 years.

AFL reserve only up to M24 on level 1 (M25-M26 not yet on sale) and Q20 Front on level 4.
Public sales have sold out level 1 but level 4 only sold rows A-S in Q49-Q55 and all of Q56-Q57. No other sales on level 4 yet.
MCC is selling up to row X all the way around level 4.
Reckon we are looking at high sixties if there is a big GA rollup.

So the Richmond membership preferred to make the match far less accessable to them by approving a home game in Tasmania than having a home game a few kms from the MCG. Am I understanding that correctly?

Just to clarify. 2.6 million for 2 games over 2026/2027 was the clincher. You ain't getting that type of money at Marvel.
Also, home game members receive a replacement game at the G.

Similarly, we’re pretty low on the list as we’ve only had one MCG game, no games against our traditional ‘Big 4’ rivals and three interstate games already.

I’d expect both our teams to climb back up the attendance ladder over the next quarter of the season, in spite of form (though the Dons have had a promising fortnight!)

Also, home game members receive a replacement game at the G.
To be clear, whenever a club puts on a "replacement" game for the away team, they subsidise it by paying the home team that hosts. So Tigers take the couple of million from Hobart, but in order to placate the members, immediately turn around a give around a couple of thousand dollars to another team to access their home game for Tigers members.

I know how it works, but we'll still be a million bucks in front on each game. It's only 1 game this year and next.
Also, as someone who has worked in membership, we would be looking at converting Tassie supporters into members.
That would just be the icing on the cake to an already good deal.

I know how it works, but we'll still be a million bucks in front on each game. It's only 1 game this year and next.
Also, as someone who has worked in membership, we would be looking at converting Tassie supporters into members.
That would just be the icing on the cake to an already good deal.
Sure, but if the argument is that it's of financial benefit without a cost to fans for going to Hobart, that's not entirely true - the point being is that it is of slightly lessor financial benefit, in an attempt to partially offset the loss of benefit to fans (they only have GA access in replacement games, not reserved seat ones).

70k on Friday is looking a massive stretch at this point. All AFL/MCC/Public sales are miles behind where they have been in the last 5 years.

AFL reserve only up to M24 on level 1 (M25-M26 not yet on sale) and Q20 Front on level 4.
Public sales have sold out level 1 but level 4 only sold rows A-S in Q49-Q55 and all of Q56-Q57. No other sales on level 4 yet.
MCC is selling up to row X all the way around level 4.
Reckon we are looking at high sixties if there is a big GA rollup.

I think with plenty of GA there will be a good roll up. Plenty of Reason for Melbourne supporters to rock up and it’s grown into a really special ceremony before the game. Weather provided a 7 should be the floor in a pretty bad form year.

I think one thing that hasn’t been mentioned in the Hawks-Tassie deal is the competitive advantage the ground gives the team. You can almost always bank 3 wins a year there, often the full 4, which makes it worth continuing, even at just 1-2 games, in my opinion.
Assuming we don’t give up home ground advantage by hosting the Devils.

The Hobart game is just dumb.

I do like the idea of an SCG ‘home’ game against the Giants at the start of the year though (ie Easter). Great way to get 10,000 Richmond fans to Sydney over the long weekend and a great way to help the Giants over a difficult time of year. I would love Hawthorn to do something like that with the new Olympic Stadium in Brisbane too (just not at Easter, maybe Kings Birthday).

It works quite well for North in Perth…
Why would you want to give up home ground advantage? Makes zero sense. Wins = $$$$

I think with plenty of GA there will be a good roll up. Plenty of Reason for Melbourne supporters to rock up and it’s grown into a really special ceremony before the game. Weather provided a 7 should be the floor in a pretty bad form year.
I’ll always push for a crowd involving Melbourne to be as high as possible and I think every crowd at the MCG we have had this year has been well above what was expected.

However, I bought my tickets today (reserving level 2A in the AFL as part of their last minute unused medallion club release) and the pax number is only 51.8k. That includes every Richmond reserved seat member which will probably only be 70% full on the night. We would then need 8k walk up MCC, 10k GA and 2k walk up in the AFL to get to 70k. It just feels a stretch this year.

For Anzac eve to maximise crowds when neither side are challenging or a flag we actually need a Melbourne home game where a strong Richmond away attendance fills the Public and AFL reserves to Be full whilst we fill the mcc.

Just to be clear, I say this because I have far more faith in Richmond fans paying to attend an away game rather than Melbourne fans who hate paying to attend games above membership costs.

I think we are looking at 65-70k on Friday night unless GA is as full as you hope. Hopefully it is more than the 67k Carlton Melbourne crowd was when we had a replacement home game.

I’ll always push for a crowd involving Melbourne to be as high as possible and I think every crowd at the MCG we have had this year has been well above what was expected.

However, I bought my tickets today (reserving level 2A in the AFL as part of their last minute unused medallion club release) and the pax number is only 51.8k. That includes every Richmond reserved seat member which will probably only be 70% full on the night. We would then need 8k walk up MCC, 10k GA and 2k walk up in the AFL to get to 70k. It just feels a stretch this year.

For Anzac eve to maximise crowds when neither side are challenging or a flag we actually need a Melbourne home game where a strong Richmond away attendance fills the Public and AFL reserves to Be full whilst we fill the mcc.

Just to be clear, I say this because I have far more faith in Richmond fans paying to attend an away game rather than Melbourne fans who hate paying to attend games above membership costs.

I think we are looking at 65-70k on Friday night unless GA is as full as you hope. Hopefully it is more than the 67k Carlton Melbourne crowd was when we had a replacement home game.

It’s hard when Richmond is literally at its worst in probably 2 decades. Hard to believe I’m saying that, there have been some rough years.

Someone smarter than me would be able to work out the long term average between the two sides which I would think would sit around the 40-45K mark, so by that 60+ is still a big win.

I’d be hell mad if they take it off either side like we have no lost the season opener.