Discussion 2026 General AFL Discussion

Great article about my old man on the Carlton website

Been a big year for him - led the Anzac Day procession at the MCG, 100th birthday in December, multiple parties, letters from the King and Albo and then getting a signed jumper from the Blues.

Damn, i hate it when i get a soft spot for carlton supporters, still have one for my mother in law, even though i've broken up with her daughter. Well done, 100 is massive. Had an Aunt turn 90 this year, and she was feeling bad because she outlived her 3 younger siblings. Was amazed at how many letters she got from people (more australian politicians though, no monarchy , reckon Albo would send a 21 year old a record if you hassled him. ). A signed jumper is probably better than any amount of letters.

Poor Josh Battle having to carry a child around. Obviously the V's don't have child care facilities on match day.

Lennox Hoffman had a decent game today in the Cats practice game... 18 kicks I think.. could end up being one we for wrong.
No knock on young Mr Said, but we should have taken Lenny. In truth it was Boyd that took the last list spot and history has shown that to be a waste.

Lennox Hoffman had a decent game today in the Cats practice game... 18 kicks I think.. could end up being one we got wrong.

Last preseason they were talking him up as a potential star too.

He looks like a defender that can rebound and set up attacks. Very valuable in today's footy. So is a gun small forward which we would have hoped Said becomes but he seems way off it at this stage. You can't get them all right though, we got Boxshall and Dodson in the same draft as later picks who look the goods. Barrat was a high pick that year interestingly.

Please St Kilda, never do this. I get that we need to survive but that is just such a horrible thing to ask members to do.

I almost feel sorry for North. They seem to be light years away from most of the comp. Just got dismantled by Melbourne. I actually think the Dees could be ok this year, but for North fans, this must be really disheartening. Just looking at their list, it frankly stinks aside from a few high picks. So poorly run for so long.

So grateful we seem to have a plan and good leadership in place. It can be very hard to make a move up the ladder (we haven't yet mind you). But it's obviously not all about getting a few high picks in.

I almost feel sorry for North. They seem to be light years away from most of the comp. Just got dismantled by Melbourne. I actually think the Dees could be ok this year, but for North fans, this must be really disheartening. Just looking at their list, it frankly stinks aside from a few high picks. So poorly run for so long.

So grateful we seem to have a plan and good leadership in place. It can be very hard to make a move up the ladder (we haven't yet mind you). But it's obviously not all about getting a few high picks in.
Won just 20 games in the last 5 year and Clarko has not modernised at all.

They need to be bold and try something because they are lost.

Won just 20 games in the last 5 year and Clarko has not modernised at all.

They need to be bold and try something because they are lost.

I think they’ll be alright but they are going super slow. I still expect them to improve a bit on 2025. Maybe not heaps more wins yet.