List Mgmt. 2026 Trade/FA/Draft thread

His kicking isn't great but if Essendon don't start playing Elijah Tsatas I reckon he'll shop himself around at the end of the year and could be worth a look for a pick in the thirties. Apparently concerns over his defensive effort but it would have been difficult to be motivated by anything coming in to Essendon in 2023, most of their draft picks from 2015-2022 turned out to be pox. Clearly has huge ball winning capacity and we need someone who can do that. Good size too. At worst he'll help Casey to not get thrashed each weekend.

Of course Essendon will probably want two first rounders from him even though he's only played 19 games in 3.5 years

I agree but he won’t cost much at all. Maybe a token pick late.

He might be a good option at a club without a tough inside extractor.

Ant one know anything about this kid ?
"Jett Flower is the grandson of Melbourne Football Club legend Robbie Flower, currently making a name for himself as a promising young footballer. As of early 2026, he is a bottom-age player with the Eastern Ranges in the Coates Talent League, noted as a balanced winger with high-level potential."

His kicking isn't great but if Essendon don't start playing Elijah Tsatas I reckon he'll shop himself around at the end of the year and could be worth a look for a pick in the thirties. Apparently concerns over his defensive effort but it would have been difficult to be motivated by anything coming in to Essendon in 2023, most of their draft picks from 2015-2022 turned out to be pox. Clearly has huge ball winning capacity and we need someone who can do that. Good size too. At worst he'll help Casey to not get thrashed each weekend.

Of course Essendon will probably want two first rounders from him even though he's only played 19 games in 3.5 years
We were looking at Tsatas and Florent last year - Before King took over though.

Gettable saying Humphrey the top target of both us and Hawks. Will be interesting to see how it develops. On current form he's probably only worth one of our first rounders but GC will obviously want more. Being wasted in the forwardline and has massive upside though.

I agree but he won’t cost much at all. Maybe a token pick late.

He might be a good option at a club without a tough inside extractor.
I'd do a late second rounder just to hurry the deal through before other clubs get a look but yeah realistically even a third would be generous. Depends on who he picks.

Agree on looking at a KPD in this MSD. We are definitely needing to address that area.
Is there really going to be a KPD out there, already overlooked several times, who can perform better than Tmac? Or even Jed Adams? Keeping in mind they won’t have trained to AFL standards either through preseason.

I reckon target a guy already on a list at the end of the year. Butts has been mentioned a lot of course. Do teams stacked for tall defenders like Hawthorn, GWS and even Gold Coast have someone not getting a gig?

If you’re lucky enough to identify a genuine AFL level talent in the MSD they are unlikely to be in a position of immediate need.

Gettable saying Humphrey the top target of both us and Hawks. Will be interesting to see how it develops. On current form he's probably only worth one of our first rounders but GC will obviously want more. Being wasted in the forwardline and has massive upside though.

Would be really surprised if he picked us over Hawks.

Also Tsatas is shit, do not want.
Classic VFL star who doesn't cut it at AFL level.

Inside mid who doesn't tackle, isn't strong, and can't kick. Big pass.

Would be really surprised if he picked us over Hawks.
He's got a previous relationship with sKing and apparently Tom Matthews is his best mate? I think we look a lot more attractive than this time last year. Could also end up just coming down to cash.

Is there really going to be a KPD out there, already overlooked several times, who can perform better than Tmac? Or even Jed Adams? Keeping in mind they won’t have trained to AFL standards either through preseason.

I reckon target a guy already on a list at the end of the year. Butts has been mentioned a lot of course. Do teams stacked for tall defenders like Hawthorn, GWS and even Gold Coast have someone not getting a gig?

If you’re lucky enough to identify a genuine AFL level talent in the MSD they are unlikely to be in a position of immediate need.
That’s what you’d think but there’s always a couple of guys who come through the MSD each year at least.

He's got a previous relationship with sKing and apparently Tom Matthews is his best mate? I think we look a lot more attractive than this time last year. Could also end up just coming down to cash.

Plus he comes from down Casey way, so there’s a few small things in our favour.

Bet he goes the hawks tho.

Paying a late second for Tsatas would be lunacy. Guy is Toumpas level bust.

Watch him try and kick a footy on the run and ask yourself - is this who I want playing for my football club?
Toumpas was slow and fumbly and just didn’t win the ball at all. That’s not really the issue with Tsatas. Thought his game v GC showed serious promise though you’re right, a pick before 45 is too much for how low impact he is.

I'm not saying they're similar players I'm saying they're similar high first round busts that have shown barely anything at AFL level.

He might get a 2nd club like Toumpas did but I really hope we aren't it. Just a bizarre footballer.

It could end up a bit like Petracca in reverse where he wants out and is pragmatic about nominating the club that has the currency.

Ant one know anything about this kid ?
"Jett Flower is the grandson of Melbourne Football Club legend Robbie Flower, currently making a name for himself as a promising young footballer. As of early 2026, he is a bottom-age player with the Eastern Ranges in the Coates Talent League, noted as a balanced winger with high-level potential."
No.

I’ve decided he should definitely play for Melbourne anyway though

It could end up a bit like Petracca in reverse where he wants out and is pragmatic about nominating the club that has the currency.
He was also clearly pretty keen to come to us last year. Think we’re well and truly in it.